We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best, most authentic Hawaiian place to visit and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best, most authentic Hawaiian place to visit and stay!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel has it all. You never have to use your car to go anywhere. If you can walk 1,000 feet, you can snorkel, shop, eat at fine places, and meet very nice people. You can watch people leap from a small lava cliff and swim in crystal clear water...even 3 days after a hurricane! Ocean views sea breezes, great activities that can pick you up in lobby. Fun activities at the hotel. Tons of friendly fish! It was my daughter's first visit and she loved it. She liked it better than the fancy, high $$ resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room so that you can see the gorgeous gardens and hear the tropical birds when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SHESAKICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,915
    1,295
    422
    188
    119
See reviews for
990
1,994
92
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights as part of a larger Hawaii honeymoon. It is one of many hotels located along Ka’anapali Beach, which are all connected by a path behind the beach. The hotel prides itself on being “the most Hawaiian” hotel, and the staff are certainly welcoming and friendly, even giving you a unique welcome and leaving ceremony.

The room was large, comfortable and reasonably well appointed with two comfy beds and large flatscreen TV. We also had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach. The room was clean and serviced daily. There is no WiFi available in the hotel, paid nor free, and this certainly needs to be rectified ASAP. We travelled from the UK and found it difficult to keep in touch with home during our stay. Our room also had an adjoining door (I think all rooms may be so connected) which was very thin – we took a light hearted view of this and enjoyed listening to our neighbours’ conversations, but it could upset some people. There is plenty of parking available in the car park, and quite reasonably priced for the USA.

There is a large grassed area with plenty of loungers and trees offering ample shade – we found this very pleasant and a nice change to the pool or beach. The wonderful golden beach is literally a stone throw away. It never seems to get too busy and offers one of the finest sunsets to be found anywhere. The small tiki bar is great fun and reasonably priced – big shout out to Dale who has manned the bar since 1969, and boy does he know how to make a mai tai!

We had a great stay and if we are ever to travel the 7,200 miles to Maui again, then we will consider staying here. Mahalo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel on the wonderful Kaanapali beach although of declared inferior "star" class of the more prestigious international chains is absolutely excellent. It was the very first hotel built on this world famous beach and because of that it enjoyes the use of a fantastic garden populated by mature trees. It is great to sunbath on the garden and go on the sea front just accross the fence. We stayed next door some years earlier in 5 stars hotel but Kaanapali Beach Hotel was superior although declared 3 stars. May be less marble, or smaller corridors, but more life quality.

Room Tip: The rooms have the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights whilst we visited Maui. It's a lovely hotel and resort - they're very proud that they're the "most Hawaiian hotel", and they included a welcome breakfast and farewell presentation.
The hotel overlooks the beach, with some stunning sunset views on offer. There's a restaurant onsite, but it's only a few minutes walk towards the "Whalers" centre, where there are lots of shops and other restaurants to choose from.
The only criticism of the resort, was the price they charged for excursions. We wanted to do a Lu'au, and snorking/dolphin watching - by taking a 10minute drive into the local town of Lahaiana and booking with a tour company instead, it was almost half the price (no exaggeration!!)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package and were not disappointed. The overall feel of the hotel is classic, mid-century Hawaiian tourism, the facilities are not sparkling new but are well maintained and clean. The staff was SO friendly but beyond that they were inviting and made us feel valued as customers and visitors to Maui. The hotel has cultural activities for those interested. It loses a star because at times we could here water running late night from a nearby room. Our room was spacious, clean and we really enjoyed the balcony. Right off the beach, the hotel also offers beach cabanas, umbrellas, surf lessons and much more. The evening entertainment in the courtyard was a nice wind down after our daily sightseeing and the onsite hotel - the Tiki Terrace Restaurant is fair/good. The location is convenient to drive to other areas of Maui. We would definitely go back and stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Molokai building, I would recommend a requesting a room facing away from the main c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostnChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach for a little over a week in July 2014. Firstly, keep in mind the hotel prides itself on providing you with an 'authentic hawaiian experience!'. Thing's aren't new and the property maintains that traditional cultural connection to Hawaii. Our second morning we went to the free buffet breakfast - which was a cafeteria style breakfast. The food was reasonable - however for very exhausted travellers we were expecting something more! (But it will do you if you aren't picky about your dining experience). During the breakfast a very overly excited MC chatted about the various activities the island had to offer. Especially the magic show which occurs on the premises in one of the function rooms. We ended up booking to see the Elvis Burning Love Show run at the local theatre and it was FANTASTIC. The impersonator is just like someone you'd expect to see in Vegas and very friendly. We even got to meet him after the show! I wasn't an Elvis fan, but I was completely sold after seeing the show. We had a garden view room (right on the ground floor) and it was perfect - would 100% recommend. Of an afternoon we would open the folding doors to our terrace and sit on the balcony and rest on the deck chairs. For a family of four we hired two rooms next to one another which had an interconnecting door - which we were able to open and shut at our need. It was just enough (if not more space than we had at our hotel in Waikiki!!). The price for what you get at this hotel is incredible. Each day housekeeping would come to our rooms and would completely clean - vacuum, wash, change sheets and make beds, clean bathrooms and provide us with fresh towels. Very polite and sweet housekeeping staff - Who we happily tipped every-day!!. The bathrooms were decent - however the shower was quite out-dated and it wouldn't hurt to renovate. Every morning there are stalls set up in the foyer where local people of the Island sell their trades and gifts. When compared to the price and quality of similar products on the other islands (Waikiki in particular) the produce we saw at Kaanapali we're so beautiful made and much better quality than those in Waikiki. The stalls only run in the morning so make sure you check these out early! Kaanapali is also walking distance from its neighbouring hotels (Sheraton and Aston) which we went for lunch - and a sneaky swim in their pools! Absolutely beautiful hotels and definitely worth walking along the beach to find them. Lunch @ the Sheraton was particularly beautiful - try the coconut smoothie it's to die for, and will definitely cool you down after a long day in the Hawaiian sun. However, food at the Kaanapali isn't all that great. It's reasonable if you're in a hurry and need a quick bite. But I would recommend walking up to it's neighbouring hotels or booking a table at one of the many restaurants at Whalers Village shops ~ Which are just perfect if you are overwhelmed by the typical big American shopping scene. Whalers Village has it all but it a MUCH smaller setting - Sephora, Pandora, Pac Sun Crocs, Subway! (You name it, it's all there!!). However, make sure you have a driver OR hire a car - there's so much to see at beautiful Maui and if we didn't have a car to see it all and only remained at the hotel I would've been very disappointed on what I missed out on. Kaanapali has on-site valet and parking so you're able to secure your hirecar for your stay. I would happily return to Kaanapali and Maui, again. Beautiful!!

Room Tip: Lower Floors w/Garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S008_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had positive interactions with this hotel before we even got to Maui, while setting up rooms for family. Arrived tired, late in the evening, and noticed we had just 15 minutes before the restaurant closed to order food. We were seated quickly and waited on as if we were the first diners for the evening. Aloha! The meal was fabulous and just what we needed. We sat out in the garden with my daughter for a long while after that, enjoying the lovely evening. We witnessed hurricane preparedness, quite an impressive procedure. The hotel made sure food and drink were available for guests remaining at the hotel as well as a safe place to evacuate too if need be. Other places simply shut down everything! Many free lessons available to learn about Hawaiian culture, hubby practiced on ukulele while I browsed wares from local craftsman. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Molokai wing, ocean front. Lovely 3 floor building, no elevator, quieter beach front than Lanai wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing