We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diappointed”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We were disappointed in our stay at the KBH. It was not awful, but would not go back again. The room was clean, but small things like no exhaust fan in the bathroom or only one mirror in the room were inconvenient. The common areas and the elevators were bland and shabby. The staff was inconsistent- some very helpful, others not. We ate dinner on our first night at the restaurant and it was horrible. Location was very good and access to the beach was great. The Sheraton next door was not that much more expensive and much, much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,951
    1,333
    437
    193
    122
See reviews for
1,026
2,044
94
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the KBH. We stayed there for 11 nights and wished we had booked for longer. Our room was lovely and very clean it had Hawaiian decor with new carpets and tiles in the bathroom. The grounds were so beautiful and well kept and the flowers WOW!!!!! We came with our 3 children who were delighted with all the activities the hotel had to offer....hula lessons, ukelele lessons, lei making, garden tours, pinapple cutting...etc. The director of Guest Services Rance Villarimo was always available to answer questions and would chat with us and the children.......everyone in Guest Services was amazing! We felt like family. Our older son loved chatting with Nani at the tour desk and would visit her every day! We learned a lot about the Hawaiian culture and were very sad to leave. The food at the Tiki Terrace was amazing! We will definitely return!!!! Thanks KBH for making Maui feel like home!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mauihawaii09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon as we didn't want to stay in huge faceless chain hotel or complex and we were absolutely blown away by the beauty and amazingly friendly staff at this hotel, we were a bit concerned before our arrival (after we had booked and paid) as we had read some disappointing reveiws but I honestly don't know where they came from- the grounds are fantastic, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room (we stayed in the Kaui wing) was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated and had a wonderful view of the grounds and the beach. There was champagne waiting for us in our room on arrival and free buffet breakfast at the Mixed Plate Restaurant as a Honeymoon gift from the hotel which we thought was a lovely touch. The buffet breakfast was great quality and very tasty with a huge selection - we would have paid for it if we hadn't been given vouchers. We enjoyed our honeymoon here so much we are planning a secong stay in two years time, in fact after our week at the Kaanapali Beach we went to the MGM Grand in Vegas for a week and were no where near as satisfied as we were with the Kaanapali Beach Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaysteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This is our third visit with Ka'anapali Beach Hotel and everytime it gets harder to say goodbye to our extended family at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel.

If you are looking for a Hotel with great family values, and great Hawaiian atmosphere this is your hotel. We have three children 15, 4, & 2 and there is never a dull moment for them. There are all kinds of activities going on during the day from story telling, lei making, to card making....etc. The children love it no matter what age they are there is always something for them to do.

Even though we are booking for December 2010 I tell you it can't come soon enough for all of us. It gets harder and harder to leave this beautiful hotel, but most of all it gets harder to say goodbye to your new extended family at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel.

As soon as you arrive you are considered their extended Ohana (family) and when they say that, they mean it. You will truly fill like you are apart of them and their lives before leaving, and I promise you will be back within a year just like we have over the last 3 years.

Thank you for letting me share our thoughts and feelings about this wonderful place.

Sincerely,
Rene & Sandy Harboe

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovinMauifromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We visited Maui and stayed with family at a timeshare but planned to spend one night away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary. After reading reviews here, I booked the one night at this hotel and we had a great time. We didn't have a big budget so I booked a garden view, which looked pretty and when we checked in, we learned we were upgraded to an ocean front room. We were on the 2nd floor of the Molokai building with such a beautiful view. And a room that was huge. We spent almost 4 hours just laying on lounge chairs on the lawn area outside our room...all the sounds of the beach but with shade and no sand. The best part was sleeping with the window open and hearing the sound of the ocean all night. We really wished we could have asked to extend our stay, but we needed to return to the rest of our family. One thing the room needed- for a room that had a king bed, plus a sofa that converted to a bed, plus another room with a full size bed, it should have had a mini fridge. Since the room could fit a family, a fridge would be a must. Very friendly staff and a good central location- family joined us the next day for fun on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elh015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We found out about this hotel on Maui while having lunch in Austin, Texas at a local restaurant. A couple overheard us planning our Hawaii trip and moseyed over to our table to ask if we would like to know of a great place to stay on Maui. Well, they could not say enough good about the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, its location, its staff and its style of hospitality. Not to mention, it was more cost competitive than many hotels in the Lahaina area. This couple returns annually and stays for a few weeks, they told us.

Wonderful hospitality and sharing of Hawaiian culture and history. We stayed for five nights at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel - Feb 15 to Feb 19 - and this was a major enjoyment during our total three week stay in Hawaii.

Everything about the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel made us happy to be there. Things that impressed us included: welcome buffet breakfast and songs by staff; daily buffet breakfasts; really good advice on how to get around on Maui; the convenient parking garage; our room and its lanai; the Tiki Bar and the nightly musicians; whale tails visible from the beach; the beach itself and the beach walking path; how we were treated by phone when making reservations; our greeting upon arrival and our special departure with kokui nut leis. The leis hang in our library to remind us of this very special place on Planet Earth and in our hearts. We hope to stay at this hotel again- sooner than later.

The hotel lacks the very things that we do not enjoy such as - hundreds of deck chairs and loungers all lined up for the tourist; giant, exotic swimming pool with attractions for kids; overly fancy retaurant with fancy prices; fru fru decor. If you seek that style hotel, then Ka'anapali Beach is not the place for you.

On the other hand, we loved the large, park-like courtyard with its many trees and small swimming pool. This hotel does not need a fancy pool and play area because it is right on a superb, wide, sandy beach with a great view and ease of access from your room.
Some of those fancy, modernistic hotels do not have much beach at all. The long, beachwalk passes close to the hotel and you can stroll along the beach all the way to the shops and the other hotels.

The best thing about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel is the Staff. We cannot extoll them enough.
The staff has deep roots in Hawaii and each person could share many things with us involving places to see, meaning of Hawaiian words, history of Hawaii, art of Hawaii and much more. For example, we debated whether or not to make a drive to a village where the map indicated the road might be very hard to travel. Well, one of the staff lives in that very village and we were given helpful information and enjoyed our drive and the peope we met while there. Each night, we enjoyed the three piece Hawaiian band on the outdoor stage, the drinks, the conviviality. Morning breakfast buffets were a great value and we would be full enough so that our next meal might be late afternoon.

We stayed in the older Moloka'i Wing, first floor with doors to our lanai and a small view of the beach which was just a few steps away. There was a small guest laundry on the floor which we used. Anything we needed was easy to get from the staff. And, the staff m ade us feel at home. It felt like we were staying with people and not with a corporation.

Highly recommended.

Steve and Marcia

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Two-For-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. We found the staff charming, helpful and sincere. It is an older hotel, but I prefer quiet, peaceful and friendly. We found most hotels nearby overcrowded, loud and exposed to passerbys.
This hotel has large private courtyard with sun or shade. There is a swimming pool, a snack bar and outdoor Tiki Bar. Hawaian music and dance is performed nightly. The night air is filled with the fragrance of plumeria and tuberose. Ahhh...

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TresJolieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing