We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

It may not be the most posh hotel, but for the money you cannot beat this hotel! This is my fifth time in Maui and this was by far my favorite place. I stayed here for 10 days and the only thing it was lacking was a gym, but there is one right up the street. Was upgraded to a nice pool/ocean view room with a large Lanai'. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydoh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,129)
There are newer reviews for Kaanapali Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,889 - 2,895 of 4,129 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. You get all the perks of a fancy expensive hotel, with the casualness and price of a local low-key establishment. Not many other places you can walk out of your room and be RIGHT at the beach. Tiki bar is great. Staff is beyond great. We will be staying there again next year, maybe we'll see you there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldcitydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is our second stay at KBH in two years. Best location, best amenities, best value. It fits our needs perfectly. We don't look elsewhere. BTW, this year, we got a partial ocean view which is well worthwhile. We also rented a cabana on the beach which gave us the shade we needed. The only thing we'd like to see is more healthy options at the Tiki grill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augerAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I booked this hotel because the website said - 'Most Hawaiian hotel in Hawaii'. When we reached there, my first impression was that i should have booked sheraton (next building) instead. If you are expecting a posh building with luxury rooms with a modern look; this may not be the right place. You get a regular looking comfortable room, with a hawaiian imprint wall paper, and some hawaiian paintings. There is no room service offered.The restaurant,bar and food are ok (had very limited vegetarian options; but they worked out something for us!) There is only 1 pool for the whole resort, which is smallish.
However, over the next few days, the place really grew on us. The room and bed were actually very comfortable, the location at the beach was perfect. Every evening was filled with lovely hawaiian songs and hula dance, and it really removed any tiredness we had during the day and was very relaxing. They have lot of hawaiian activities going on everyday, and i learned lei making from a very patient and sweet teacher. The songs and the activities really made it a different experience from a regular resort. The welcome breakfast is not as big a deal as it sounds. On the last day, we were bid farewell from the hotel staff and presented with a handmade lei. It was a touching moment, and really made our last day very fulfilling and pleasant.

Pros:
- Very homely and comfortable feel
- Lovely live hawaiian music and dance every day
- Hawaiian activities for both adults and children
- Shoreline is beautiful
- Very helpful staff
Cons:
- Doesn't look modern (as people may expect from resorts).
- Looks like a very old building, can do with repainting.
- Food and restaurant is ok (Based on vegetarian meals only).
- Small swimming pool
- Spa not very good
- Parking was 9$ per day
- Had to rent cabana at 21$ for half a day

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiiansuperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I returned as a guide for a tour group for the 5th year. I am always so excited to tell the people about this hotel and all attention and love we receive while staying there. They are friendly, provide information for daily activities, a welcome breakfast to familiarize us with the island, the music each evening out in the courtyard, the lei send off our last day!! It is like coming home to be greeted and recognized each year. What a wonderful staff and place to call home for our stay in Maui!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel from May 31-June 3. Accommodations were excellent, ranging from the room to the location to the grounds and amenities itself. Each detail deserves examination (with the realization all things cost money in Hawaii): The hotel staff was beyond efficient, they were gracious. The facility itself was well-kept, beautiful and comfortable. The location was supreme, as we snorkeled near the coral reefs, played in the ocean, and spent leisure time walking to the nearby Whaler's village. The magic show and meal was a hoot, a bargain for the money indeed. The art vendors were not necessarily affiliated with the hotel, but came by invitation. They told the story of the locals. Above all, the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel strives to preserve the Hawaiian dance, language and culture that unfortunately is being stolen over these years. Yes, we were guests, but we felt at home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This was our 4th trip to Maui, but only our 2nd stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. From now on, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is perfect for almost any activity. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and is kept very tidy. Everyone on staff makes you feel very welcome and treats you like family. Every evening from 6-9 is live music and hula show in the outdoor dining area. The hotel is right on the beach and lots of shade when you need a break from the sun. The onsite resturant are convenient and competively priced with good food. It's a short walk to snorkel Black Rock as well as shopping in Whalers Village. Their online reservations are easy and their packages are a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2color
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £154 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing