We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaleialoha #304 - Excellent, relaxing with a superb view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaleialoha Condominiums
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We decided to try and stay part of our vacation in this area as we like to explore this end of the island. We are so glad that we did!
We arrived late at night - the lights and fans were on with the patio door open to the sound of the crashing waves - talk about a perfect welcome!
To top that off, there was a box of chocolates and a fresh pineapple waiting for us.

We found this location so relaxing and quiet that we didn't leave the complex for 3 of the 6 days we were there. Just soaked in the views - turtles eating algae off of the rocks, whales breaching, sunsets - couldn't get any better.
Everyone who we spoke with, both owners and other vacationers were all great.
The property is well cared for and very clean and manicured, BBQ’s were spotless.
There is no beach, but there is access to a small one next door, not one to sun bathe on, but to make easy entry in to the water.

The unit was a bit dated furniture wise, but very clean and well cared for, this did not bother us at all. We were very comfortable - the bed is very comfy.
The kitchen is well stocked with everything one would need while on vacation to prepare meals, loved having the ice maker in the fridge.
A couple of things that needed to be attended to; there was no kettle to boil water - we just used a pot - the toaster did not work all the time and needed to be replaced. ( we did tell the office about these things )
The lanai table and chairs were perfect to sit and eat every meal at while watching the horizon for breaching whales. There was a blind to block the sun on the lanai that was deteriorating and falling down - my husband just secured it - this should be replaced so it doesn't fall on anyone.
There is no air conditioning, but we did not miss it as the breeze came through all the screened windows nicely, a benefit of being in a corner unit.
You could see the ocean from most areas of the unit - would we return - in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Loved this corner unit on this floor - the higher ones allow you to see out to the ocean better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janisinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 14 days in 115 and enjoyed our time thoroughly. Whale & turtle watching was fantastic, sunsets were always enjoyed from the lanai and the unit was clean and comfortable. Everything you could need was in the unit and although we did have ac, because it was a corner unit, we had great airflow and it cooled off at nights.
The condo is close to some fantastic restaurants, take out and grocery stores. Great coffee and the farmers market are only a short walk away. We used the convenience of the beach chairs, snorkels, fins, binoculars and boogie board to head out to the great beaches close by and the ocean right outside our door. The in condo washer and dryer were also convenient.
The only things that would have been nicer to have was an ocean side pool and a safe that was in working order (they recommended we not use the safe).
We would come back again for the condo...but really we will be back for the view.

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor to be able to walk right from the lanai and the corner unit had better air fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've stayed here three times in the past three years. The units are always as advertised, with marble counters, travertine tile, new appliances and most have stackable washer/dryers! The from office staff (Lonnie) are always helpful, and being thirteen steps from the ocean is about the best you can do. There are lots of reef right off the shore, so do not pay to go on a snorkel trip. You can see many species of fish and lots of turtles right here! There are three grills for cooking, and the condos are all stocked with the cookware you'll need. Don't spend huge money on a hotel! Stay here and use your savings for other things to do on Maui!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Abstractdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This condo is fantastic. Between watching the whales & seaturtles from the lanai, to the layout of the condo, everything was great. We loved having the end unit so we could have extra breezes and views. The pool was quiet and uncrowded, the bbq area was clean and well-functioning, and the kitchen appliances were top-notch. The only beach was next door, but it is very close and convenient. The surf can be very loud at night, but closing the louvered windows took care of it. It was an easy walk to shops & the farmer's market (M-W-F, I highly recommend it.) We would definietly come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's all about the Balcony for us!
We stayed at this condo late last summer for two weeks (a bit too long away from home for me) as our first off continent vacation.
The amenities were quite adequate, and the ocean front view was spectacular. We quite enjoyed our stay in Apt 210. There were only two problems during our stay both relatively minor. One was the mini ants that invade the apartment building. They congregate in the kitchen so do not leave any food out at all. They're not pervasive, just in the kitchen if you leave food around. Speaking with permanent residents, this is a building wide issue. More of an annoyance than an problem for a visitor. We saw them nowhere else in the apartment.
Second problem was an encounter with a very testy front office manager (Lani) that we felt could be handled far more professionally than she did. That was one occasion out of five that we encountered her, so the odds are in your favour, but I would be aware that she has a nasty side and that can be very unpleasant.
One fact you should be aware of is the Air conditioner and the microwave are one the same circuit as the TV and almost everything on that wall. So arriving there we wanted to heat up something for supper we bought from Safeway on the way in (near Lahaina) from the airport, and turned the AC on and boom! the circuit tripped. The breaker panel is on the end kitchen wall behind a picture. We adjusted our behavior and it didn't happen again although we just didn't turn on the AC after that. Power costs are unbelievably expensive there at around 30 cents per KW/h. We tried to be prudential in our usage.
Other than that it was a very pleasant stay. The apartment was comfortable, spacious for two, well decorated. The bathroom could use some maintenance (re-caulking) and if it were mine I would spend my next upgrade dollars there, although it actually was perfectly serviceable.
The kitchen was very nice, modern and had all the tools you would likely require.
Has an en-suite laundry, but we were given instructions not to use them, but to use the coin operated building ones at the front entrance. They offered coins for doing the laundry which we took up once, but after our encounter we decided to limit our exposure to Lani so we used our own to avoid her.
The floor is all tiled which helps cool the feet (which you should be taking your shoes off at the door).
We slept with the windows open/doors locked.
It had a good package of Cable and had (relatively speaking) High speed DSL (Cable is better). Good selection of handed down books to read for those inclement weather days.
We often took advantage of a very nice and well maintained swimming pool. If you're going to go into the ocean I would recommend buying a pair of swimming shoes (there is a store in a plaza beside McDonalds). The rocks are volcanic, rough and the waves can knock you onto ones sticking out of the sand bottom.
We spent a fair amount of time in Lahaina, which has a ton of amenities, shops to while away the hours, great food. Check out the Banyon Tree. It amazes that the whole block is one gigantic tree.
Tips: Try Slappy Cakes in the plaza by the main highway- awesome pancakes you make yourself. Use Safeway on the Cannery Mall about half way from Lahaina to the condo hwy turn off (Slappy Cakes is there too).
Pass on the Royal Lahaina Luau, mediocre meals, gravel parking lot is where you sit.
Take up the Pacific Islands Luau at the Sheraton, more money but well worth the upgrade, better food, atmosphere etc.
About a 7 minute walk up the road (Southbound) there is a farmers market. Good food there. and beside that another minute walk there is a strip mall that has Ozyukos Deli slightly offset across the street from Kanaapoli Beach- a main open access public beach. Excellent freshly prepared food there for quite reasonable prices. We ate there numerous times.
Northbound on the Condo drag quite a ways up walking maybe half an hour- 3 minutes or so by vehicle, there is a plaza with a McDonald's. In this plaza are two gems: The Black Angus Restaurant and the Maui Brewing Company. Give both a try. The only complaint was the red wine served at the Angus was room temps (80 degrees), and needed to be chilled to 55. Meals were very good for the price.
If you have the budget, try the Lahaina Grill in downtown Lahaina. Spectacular food and superb friendly service. Quite reasonable. We had the main entre, drinks and tip for two all in $130. And we didn't have to get dressed up but you could if you wanted. nobody made you feel out of place if not.
Secondly, if you have the opportunity to try a personal massage at the Grand Wailea. It's a fantastic day- just remember to bring your bathing attire- unless you like walking around nude. I can't say enough about the experience but after all it is a Waldorf Astoria establishment.
Kahului (airport) has all the big box stores that you would ever need and some you don't (Home Depot/Lowes). If you are a Costco member, make the first left hand turn at a stoplight coming out of the airport, and the Costco is on the right side. It includes a gas station so you can fill up on your way back to the rental stop.
DO NOT miss the road to Hana. We took a bus tour and was worth the price because of the stress of driving. The driver would be totally stressed out and exhausted by the time you arrived, never mind getting home. This way you can sit back and enjoy the trip. They stop at State and national parks that you would miss if you were driving on your own. Don't miss Black rock Beach.

Overall we would stay here in this condo again in a heartbeat (but I would limit my interactions with Lani to signing in/check out).

If you have the time and the bandwidth available (and lots of time) I have uploaded some High Definition videos of both off the balcony viewing the ocean and some other areas of the island.
Videos 315-319, 326-331 and 333 are specifically of the dreamy balcony off unit 210.

http://www.serve-my-stuff.com/Videos/Hawaii/

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place this the best for making your trip your own. There is no hustle and bustle to try and find a spot by the pool and it is not overcrowded. Each condo is designed differently and some people live there. We loved that you can snorkel right there, and the turtles!! So many turtles! This made the trip. There are great places to snorkel close by too

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the second year we have stayed in unit 207. I love this one bedroom condo. It is very well maintained, the bed is extremely comfortable, and the ocean is right out your deck. The price is very affordable for such a wonderful condo.

Room Tip: I would only choose the units that face the ocean. I would want to be on at least the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.7 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleialoha Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleialoha Condominiums

Address: 3785 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Kaanapali, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9341
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £161 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaleialoha Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful direct oceanfront, one bedroom, fully equipped condos near the famed Kaanapali Resort area in desirable West Maui. Sandy beach, sunset BBQ area, in-ground pool, free parking, internet and cable. Weekly Farmers Market, health food store and beach park 3 blks away. Shopping, restaurants and all beach activities within minutes. 4 miles to Lahaina Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kaleialoha Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaleialoha Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Kaleialoha Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing