We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms, Beautiful grounds and Beautiful views”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms, Beautiful grounds and Beautiful views”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our extended family stayed for eight great days at the Eldorado resort and it was amazing. After checking in we had to change rooms as the two rooms we originally had were too far away from each other, we had booked a studio and a one bedroom unit, after requesting to move rooms we were placed in two one bedroom units, with no extra charge!

Rooms:
As the rooms at the Eldorado are privately owned, each room is different and unique. My grandparents had a studio, my uncle and two cousins had a one bedroom unit, and my family of five had two one bedroom units. I stayed in unit J 204, it is a very spacious room which has its own full kitchen, washing machine and dryer, much better value for money than other resorts with smaller rooms. The room has two large, very comfortable double beds, a large living area and a beautiful view of the golf course and sea. Having such a spacious unit was great because all of the extended family could come and have dinner. There is free wired internet access in each room which is a great bonus if you are bringing a laptop.

Services and Facilities:
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they are always smiling and willing to help. There are three swimming pools which are great for cooling off or getting the salt off after swimming in the sea. The beach cabana is a nice place to relax, sunbathe or play cards or read inside. The green setting is simply beautiful and relaxing, our room did have a partial ocean view that was nice too. Walking to the beach takes a few minutes, which is fine for us, getting a golf-cart to take you is not worth the hassle, plus its a nice walk anyway.

Summary:
The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is a great resort, it's wide range of rooms appeal to every group. It is very family friendly. My grandparents decided to take us here because it is their favourite place, I can see why, it's beautiful views and pools made it very relaxing, the perfect place for a holiday. Another aspect about the resort is that it not crowded like the neighbouring Sheraton and Westin properties which makes the holiday a lot less stressful. I would recommend this resort for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, with or without family. When in Maui, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keen2travelasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Aloha keen2travelasia:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comprehensive review of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado! Thank you also for adding your photos. It sounds as though you and your family really found our property to be a good fit for your vacation. I appreciate your remarks about our staff - I have let them know of your kind words. Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    311
    100
    32
    24
See reviews for
267
349
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our reservation was made several months early, but when we tried to check in we were informed that we would have 3 days in one room then have move to another for the final 4 days. The reason given was that the owner wanted it and they had priority. The whole reason to stay in a condo is to unpack and buy groceries. So on day 3 we had to pack up and check out in the morning and check back in, in the afternoon. We paid for the day but didn't even have access to a room for hours. To make things worse it took them about 45 minutes to check us in upon arrival because their computers didn't like the way they had to split the room and they were unable to override the system. Great place, might not be worth the trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmstoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Aloha Dmstoli:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. I apologize for the break in your visit - this was a very unusual circumstance. Please consider staying with us again next time. I can assure you that your next stay with us will be uninterrupted.

Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here for half of our honeymoon because we wanted to see different parts of Maui. We loved it! Our unit was perfect, and reminded me of my old studio apartment in Southern California. It had a washer/dryer, a spacious bathroom with a large closet area, 2 TVs, a nice patio, a big living room/dining room and a nice kitchen. It was good to have the microwave and refrigerator because we didn't want to eat out for every meal. This hotel was awesome because it was very comfortable and reasonably priced. To get to the beach, all you had to do was ask for a ride from the front desk and a golf cart would pick you up, drive you past the golf course, and drop you off! They provided beach towels there. The whole situation was comfortable and cozy. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in H105 and it had a view of the golf course and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonandJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Aloha NelsonandJeannie:

Thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon! While you were staying with us, wasn't it nice to come back every night to the comfort of your own home on Maui? Thank you also for taking the time to post your review. Your first anniversary is coming up - now would be a great time to start planning a return trip! We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My family and I stayed there July 8th - July 18th 2011. We stayed here a few times before and will definatley come back. The staff is friendly, helpful and always smiling. The grounds are beautiful and well keep. The location is great for all the activities the island has to offer especially diving and snorkeling. I can't say enough on how wonderfuly Ruby treated us. The only suggestion I could make is a Jaccuzzi would be nice after a long day of diving.

John Barkocy & Family
Southern California

Room Tip: They will always try to accomodate your requests or needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Aloha Johnsb01:

Thank you for continuing to return to the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. I appreciate your kind words about the staff (especially Ruby!) and am pleased that we could help make your visit a success. I have passed along your comment regarding a hot tub to the homeowner's association.

We'll look forward to seeing you next time! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were in Maui for a vow renewal of a family member. The rest of the family were at the Westin Villas, but that was a little expensive for out tastes. The Eldorado is close to the villas and reasonabley priced. The bed was nice and comfy, we had a full kitchen, dining table. The bathroom was nothing special, but it was clean. We had a great balcony with a veiw of the pool. This property is on a golf course so the water views are limited, but it is still beautiful. There are nice cabana's on the beach to use. Our only complaint is that the hours on the cabanas are only til 5:30. You can easily walk to the beach or whalers village, but if you don't feel like it, there are shuttles available to each. For the price, this was a great stay and everyone was very nice at the hotel. We would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Aloha Hsmart:

Thank you taking the time to post your review with pictures. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be such a good value. There has been some discussion about maintaining longer hours at the cabana; meanwhile, you are always welcome to hang out on lounge chairs after the official closing time.

Thank you for staying with us and also for your kind words about our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maui. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henderson, Nv
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in the Studio with a Garden View on 2nd floor. The view was great and even had good view of golf course. The Lanai was great. Very quiet ! The small pools were nice and the large one ok. The beach at the Cabana was great but the deck chairs were always full at the Cabana in the day time. The bed and bedding was excellent and great for sleeping. The A/C was quiet and the ceiling fan was nice. Staff were very nice also. Location great. ONLY negative was that the shower was dated and should be updated.

This is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Aloha jephm:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments here about how much you enjoyed your condo, the lanai and the quiet of our property. Thank you also for mentioning the shower; we'll share your comments with the unit's owner. We hope to see you again soon! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

it gets a little more difficult, each time, we pack up to leave the beauty that is Maui. this is our 4th time on the island, and it definitely won't be our last. last year (january 2010) we stayed at the outrigger eldorado, and found it to be the perfect fit both location wise, and amenity wise for our travel needs. so, when the opportunity to stay there again this year (june 2011) arose, we took it. we stayed in e-208. it's a great room, conveniently located just above the honu pool. it's been nicely upgraded, and had all the comforts of home.

having stopped in at safeway, the day we arrived, we stocked up on the basic essentials for breakfast and beach lunches. it was nice to get up in the morning, have breakfast on the lanai, and enjoy the company of island birds. we grilled a couple of nights, and others were spent at aloha mixed plate, and kimo's (VERY ONO!!!). we packed our lunch daily, and headed out to various spots. my husband is an avid diver, so each day, we picked a different shore or two. we'd head back, to still catch some sun down and wind down at the beach cabana. we didn't even think to visit down there our last trip, and we should have. the beach cabana is awesome! it has all the conveniences of the condo (towel service, appliances, dishes, etc.). the best part was, that if you didn't feel like making the trek up or down the trail, they had a cart service. SO GREAT!!!

we couldn't have asked for better weather! this was our first trip during june. we usually make it out during december/january. we were a little sad we missed out on the whales, but the abundance of honu made up for it. the amount of tourists was perfect. it was nice to see, and know there were people there, but it was even better to know that beaches weren't packed, and you could enjoy your own little piece of paradise. of all the times we've visited our little island in the sun, this one was by far one of my favorite. we travel to different places, in between, but the island has a sort of magic and beauty unparalleled that keeps pulling us back time and time again. who knows, maybe one day, i'll stay for good. MAUI NO KA OI!!!

Room Tip: We were able to communicate our room preferences through facebook. It totally worked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcosta511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Aloha mcosta511:

Thank you for staying with us again! It is always a pleasure to see you. I am happy that we could fulfill your requests - Facebook is most certainly a great way to communicate with us.

We're happy to read that you made good use of our beach cabana this trip. Thank you for posting the details of your stay with us and for sharing a trip report of your Maui experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing