We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for money”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for money”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We booked flights and accommodation independantly and found this to be excellent value for money on our 2nd visit to Maui. We visited in April 2010

We travelled with family and had a 2 bed apartment with a 1 bed apartment above which suited us down to the ground.

Very helpful staff, adequately equipped shop for 'essentials' and lovely pool areas with barbecues.

We also thought the extra touches of being able to call reception and ask for a cart to take us to the beach a huge advantage, especially as one of our party had mobility problems, this maximised the time we could spend at the beach and in the beach cabana.

Within very easy walking distance of the Whalers Village with plenty of shops and restaurants to pass the time.

Cannot fault the Eldorado at all and would definitely recommend this to other and would love to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the main road in our opinion are better, closer to car parking and easier for walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Aloha Nicola K:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We're pleased to read that the resort and our location suited you and your family.

Thank you also for your nice words about my staff and our service. Our bellmen are always happy to help with transportation to and from the beach cabana.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    312
    101
    32
    24
See reviews for
271
350
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from an amazing three weeks exploring 3 of the Hawaiian Islands.
Week one was spent in unit H206 @ Maui Eldorado (1 bed/1bath condo). I was a bit worried about what condition our allocated condo would be in after reading a few negative reviews on here, but thankfully we needn’t have been.
We booked direct through the Outrigger site online and got what we considered a good price per night.
The furnishings in the rooms were complementary to the surrounds. Lots of white rattan, blue floral fabrics, glass topped tables and natural wood floors. A real Island feel to it. The kitchen was well equipped. The only thing missing in our opinion would have been a kettle to boil water in (something lacking in most places we stayed, but maybe it's only an Australian touch we are used to?). We only ate breakfast there so didn't actually use the kitchen to cook.
The bathroom area was split in 2. One part housed the shower/bath and toilet, which was closed off from the other area which had the sinks/vanity and dressing area. There was also plenty of closet space in there, plus behind doors was the washer & dryer. (towels were refreshed twice during our stay as maid service comes every 3 days)
The bedroom area was massive. It had 2 comfortable queen beds, plenty of drawers, a ceiling fan plus air-conditioner, and T.V. The glass windows/doors opened out onto the lanai which on this end had 2 comfortable deck chairs.
The living area was large and well furnished, c/w ceiling fan and air conditioning. It had a dinning table & chairs with seating for 4 and a lounge area with seating for 7, plus a TV with DVD player and internet access. (plug in only – not wireless.) This area also has large glass windows/doors that lead to the lanai, which at this end has table & chairs for 4 people.
The view from the lanai was great. Straight out over the golf coarse to the sea.
We didn’t get around to using the beach cabana, as on the occasions we were at the beach, we enjoyed being on the sand. (the walk to the beach only took a few minutes from our room so we never used the cart)
There was really only one small complaint we had, and that was to do with loosing our internet connection for a few days. After speaking to someone at reception, they sent down a guy who tried to fix it for us. He didn’t have any luck, so he spoke to someone again in reception who told him to tell us to ring the internet people ourselves .... Need I add, we didn't bother as we weren’t going to waste our holiday time sitting in our room waiting on a phone trying to sort things out!
Getting to Whalers Village was easy. You could either use the beach-walk, or the path by the road. Either way it was only a short distance. And the Fairway Shops were even closer and a great convenience for a snack at C.J’s.
All in all we loved our stay at the Maui Eldorado. Being just that little bit away from the main beach area was lovely as we didn't feel closed in by all the other resorts. We will highly recommend this resort to family or friends coming to Maui. We hope to return next year ourselves, and if so we would love to stay in H206 again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Aloha JJWA:

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review and photos of your stay. We're happy to read how much you enjoyed your holiday here in H206.

Almost all of our bathrooms are divided, so two people can get ready at the same time. All of our condos are very spacious - some one bedroom condos have two queen beds and some have one king bed.

The internet connection has since been sorted out and is working fine now.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in J107 at the Outrigger Eldorado this past week and had a great time. We had 2 teenage sons with us. Our unit was close to the beach which I believe was a plus.. I wouldn't want to be close to the street. The Condos are in a great location on Kaanapoli Beach and surrounded by a beautiful golf course. The staff was very friendly.
You can easily walk to the beach... we never rode the golf cart to the beach at all. You are in walking distance to Whalers village which has shops and restaurants and just a short drive from Lahiana.
We rented boogie boards at the store in the lobby for only $2/day and the concierge was available to arrange outings but we did most of our outings on our own. We drove to and boogie boarded at Flemings Beach and snorkeled there as well... I had the wonderful experience of snorkeling in a pod of 25 bottlenose dolphins... what a thrill! We also snorkeled at Black Rock in front of the Sheraton.. a very short walk from our unit... we saw many fish and a few big sea turtles. We really didn't use the beach in front of the Eldorado because we wanted to snorkel and boogie board and I dont think it was great for either but it's a nice stretch of sand and good for sun bathing or playing frisbee etc. The cabana offers a nice kitchen so you can make your lunch there during the day.

Parking cost $7.00/day and I don't think you should have to pay to park when you rent a unit but that's the way it is...

Overall.. we would highly reccomend this property and would go back again on our next trip to Maui.

PS... the road to Hana is something to see.... we went later in the day so there was less traffic... it is a bit tight around some of those turns! The Twin Falls was not much .... I would not stop there again.

Hula Grill had great local music.. food was pretty good but portions were kind of small for what we paid.

We loved Maui and hope to return some day! Aloha

Room Tip: Ask to be as close to the ocean as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Aloha letsgo04:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit with us. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in J107. Thank you also for adding your tips about some things to do and see on Maui.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had 3 nights, 4 days at the Eldorado, We came across to Maui as a break from our 2 week vacation in Waikiki.
Unit was great, son had his own room so he could gat away from us and watch TV.
Very spacious, 20 second walk to the pool, great baech to swim and snorkel.
Everything close by.
Will be back next April.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Aloha TonyRSC:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review of your stay.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. D100, a two bedroom garden view condo, is very centrally located and is convenient to a pool and to the lobby.

We look forward to seeing you and your family next year and we hope you are able to spend more time with us on Maui.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We we're thrilled to be returning for our fouth stay at the El Dorado, as we feel this resort offers great value for your dollar. Our Mar.21st check in went well, until we opened the door to our assigned room K108!!!. What a dump! From the first view of the laundry doors ripped of the wall with exposed and peeled drywall, this room was a disapointment and got worse. Definitely not the standards that we had experienced on our previous stays. The kitchen had been "reno'd" ?? by replacing only the cabinet doors with the cheapest white vinyl doors which was separating from the particle board and another laminate countertop appears to have been installed. The tiles in the tub/shower have been poorly painted and the tub spout has a gapeing space allowing the rust from underneath the tub to stain the tub. The living area is outdated with 1980's decor and the walls and ceiling are extremely dirty, and the drapes are shredded. There were many more problems . I belive this room has already been reviewed negatively on this site. After seeing our room we immediatly returned to the front desk to voice our displeasure and request another room. The front desk staff were very polite and moved us the next morning to another room. They seemed to know that K108 was a substandard unit. Although the El Dorado staff rectified the situation, I belive that the hotel should never rent room K108 until the private owner renovates this suite to the standards fitting the Eldorado.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Aloha travelmum222:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I apologize that you were not happy with K108; I have shared your comments with the unit's owner. I'm happy to read that we were able to find a unit that better met your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I personally love staying at the Maui Eldorado. We know one of the owners and have stayed in his unit several times. Every time we come here it is always very relaxing and enjoyable. All of the staff has been very pleasant and accommodating to us. We had an issue with the refrigerator that was promptly attended to by Bill (property manager). He was a very pleasant gentleman who got the frig goIng quickly. I can't speak for others experience... but as for ours we will be comming to the Eldorado for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annointedchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Aloha Annointedchef:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay and for your kind words about my staff.

We are pleased that you continue to return and that you find the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be a relaxing vacation destination.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Overall, our stay at the Outrigger was good. We arrived on a pretty late flight, and spent about 40 minutes (with 2 other groups) trying to get checked in as the front office closes early.

We were supposed to have a 1 bedroom with a living room and kitchen, but were given a studio style room. I was too tired to deal with it at the time-

Got up the next morning and the situtaion was remedied, we were resituated in a 1 bedroom where we spent the rest of a week.

The location is idea, although it's a bit of a walk down to the beach.

I don't golf, but the course looked lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Aloha Jaimez123:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to post your review.

Thank you also for your patience with your room assignment at check-in. I'm happy that you were pleased with your one bedroom condo.

We do also have transportation at your request from the lobby to the cabana (and back) if you'd rather not walk the short distance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,077 reviews
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing