We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time will go back definitely!”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time will go back definitely!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the first time for us here. We stayed in a two bedroom and had an ocean view. I liked that it wasn't ON the beach but you got the 180 degree view because it is quiet here which was great. This is an older resort and there is no restaurant but we didn't care BECAUSE they have this amazing beach cabana where you can shower, get towels and beach chairs, have a large kitchen where you can store your lunch so you can stay there all day. It is the sweetest peaceful beach on Ka'anapali. A golf cart takes you to the beach so its easy to get there and it is private.There is no coral there and the sand is soft so its easy to swim and snorkel. Also, you can gather beach glass and small sea shells here that locals use to make jewelry, which as fun and a nice way to meet some locals. Will go back definitely. Went for my husbands birthday,he loved it.

Room Tip: If you want to rest and relax this is a good place to stay. There is a deli around the corner. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Aloha Johanna C:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. Glad to read that you and your husband enjoyed his birthday on Maui.

Since we are a bit up the hill from the beach, we do have broad ocean views. And, as you mention, our beachfront cabana and North Kaanapali Beach are just a short distance away - even shorter by our golf cart shuttle service. The cabana makes it easy to spend the whole day at the beach swimming, snorkeling and beachcombing.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We look foward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    310
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
262
346
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Yes it's true, there is a short stroll to the beach, but if walking less than 10 minutes through an amazing golf course is too much for you, maybe you should be booking into a health spa instead, you probably need some exercising.

The walk to the beach was amazing, the location is terrific, the condos are not services but you can get free amenities anytime you want.

The beach cabana was unreal, fridge to put your beer, food, etc and in our opinion, the best spot we saw in Maui.

5 minutes walk to the groceries store, 15 walk to the whalers village shopping centre with amazing restaurants at your doorstep.

Best value for your money, amazing location, idyllic views and great size apartments.

Can't wait to go back.

Mahalo for your hospitality and see you again next year

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank diegoaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Aloha diegoaustralia:

Thank you for posting such a kind review of your stay with us. We're happy that you liked the cabana; it truely is a one-of-a-kind facility. You get the benefits of being oceanfront while paying off-beach hotel rates! And you are right that when you consider the value of your price versus amenities, it really is a short walk from your condo to the cabana.

Thank you for your visit. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I love staying here. The location is perfect, the rooms are really nice, full kitchens and all. Great snorkeling at Black Rock, and you can't beat Kaanapali Beach!! Pools are nothing fancy, but I just like to hang at beach, in ocean, and just dip in pool to occasionally cool off. Safeway and Lahaina shops are just down the road. I've stayed here 3 times, loved it every time!!!

Room Tip: I always get partial ocean view and ask for upstairs. Makes for a super relaxing spot, out on the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Aloha hisons:

Thank you for staying with us again! We are pleased to be your favorite place to stay. The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is a great place to be if you're looking for clean, comfortable and quiet accommodations.

Mahalo for posting a review of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is our forth time staying at the Eldorado over the last 28 years,its like putting on your favourite pair of slippers,hasn't changed a great deal over those years.
Our first room wasn't up to mothers expectations location wise so we asked to be shifted to another location,not a problem,perfect,water views close to the pool and BBQ.
Firstly you must realise these are privately owned condominiums and are decorated by the owners,no two are alike,so if you don't like what you see just ask for another,I'm sure they will do their best.
As for our room A217 it was lovely,freshly decorated in a tatsefull way,granite benchtops,tiled bathroom ,washer ,dryer,wifi etc,100 channel cable tv.
The pools are fabulous,as a pool owner I know how difficult it is too keep them looking right,and these were pristine,the all stainless BBq was immaculate,cleaned top to bottom every day.
If you want a great location then this is it,right in the middle of 6 golf courses that are pristine.
The beach is only a couple of hundred metres away and boasts Kaanapalis only beach Cabana,which has all the facilities,its actually canterlevered over the beach.If you don't want to walk the staff will pick you up and drop you off in their golf cart.
Whalers village is abot1/8 of a mile down the hill which is a very pleasant walk,it has many shops and eateries of all kinds.
There are shops in front of the hotel that have a couple of reasonable restaurants, a Pizzeria and a convenience store.
The bus and shuttle are a bit of a horror story in Maui so I would advise getting a rental cars as you are 40 miles from the airport at Kahului or 1 mile from Kapalua airport that has very small prop planes.
If travelling from NZ book your car through airportrentalcars.com for the best deal and coverage of insurance and CDW cover.
It can cost us $25 a day for insurance and $30 for collision damage waiver if you buy it when you arrive,do not get the prepaid fuel,they upgraded us to a full size car with a 20 galoon tank ,cost $100 to fill and no refund if you don't use it.
We did a few day trips to Hookipa and the Wailea mall which was a bit rich and famous for us but none the less a great experience.
There is much to do on Maui,but quite often just lazing around is as much fun,for us the Eldorado is like home,nice location,nice people.
We find September is great as the season has ended and its not so busy and the prices come down.
We have travelled to many great places,if there is a better place than this we haven't found it,Yet!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Average at best. Room was clean and well furnished, but basic. (No granite, stainless steel, nice wood... Just basic)

I wouldnt return though and share my opinion why:

1. Location looks reasonable but it is 1/3 mile to the beach. Look at an areal map and youll see this is the longest walk of all the hotels in the area. It doesnt sound far, but remember it is that far just to get to the beach. If you want to walk to a restsurant it is much further. Not so bad once or twice but really not good after a few days. (You can drive to dinner but then have to pay $10 parking. Towards the end i found myself dreading it

2. No housekeeping. I dont ever recall seeing that there was no housekeeping during booking. Never heard of a place not bringing clean towels and bedding each day.

3. Service was ok. Everywhere else we stayed it was great- here just ok. Really no passion to ensure you have a good stay. One day we asked for something they could have done and were just told no flat out.

Thus... While the price was less than other hotels, the value is poor. You end up with so many negatives it wasnt worth the savings.
Id recommend trying somewhere else - especially if u stay more than two days

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Aloha Plexiaw:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review.

All of our units here are at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado are individually owned and, as such, each unit is different. Had we known that you were not happy with your condo, we would have been happy to find a different unit for you.

We are not beachfront and the rate you pay reflects that. The distance to the beach varies depending upon where on the property you are staying. We have rides between the lobby and our beach cabana available at your request from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm. There are a number of restaurants in the Fairway Shops, which is just across Kekaa Dr and it is a very short walk. Kaanapali also has a complimentary shuttle from which you may access the entire Kaanapali Resort; the shuttle stops at our driveway. If you want to go to Whaler's Village, the shops and restaurants there do validate your parking.

Since we are a condominium property, we have found that many guests prefer their privacy and, as such, we have reduced our housekeeping frequency. Clean linens are available between 8:30 am and 4 pm and additional housekeeping is available for a small fee during those hours.

I apologize that our service did not meet your standards.

Condominiums are best for travelers who are self directed and who don't need all of the additional amenities that a hotel can provide. I apologize that we were not a good fit for your stay with us.

Thank you again for your visit.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and enjoyed almost everything.The units are condos, with full amenities. You can cook your own meals or take a short walk to cj's for some home cooking. The hotel sits between a golf course and Ka'anapali hotels on the beach. The best part iof this place besides location, is the private beach that you have access to.The beach is accompanied by a beach house with a towel service, a full kitchen, sitting areas and nice sundeck area with lounges. This is where we spent most if our time as our toddler had shaded areas and we could access a fridge for refreshments/snacks. The rooms are typical with a variety of sizes and layouts. parking is safe and underground (theres also a place to rinse your car). Ka'anapli shopping is very close, as is the sheraton on Black Rock. Definitely take a night stroll to watch the cliff divers and fire show. I had to write review as Im itching to return....hopefully i will have a new review in january!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captaincasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Aloha captaincasual:

Thank you for coming back to see us again. We're pleased to read that you find the large condos, full kitchens and our beachfront cabana at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be a good value for your family.

We like CJ's, too - have you tried their Mochiko Chicken? It's one of the best local-style fried chicken that I've had here.

Thank you for posting a review. We look forward to seeing you again in January.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last part of our vacation. Overall, we had a good time.
Positives: Grounds were nice with a lot of flowers and trees, multiple pools made them less crowded and convieniently located, great beach cabana, great beach, lovely staff, nice guests and several grills on the grounds to grill food.

Negatives: Pools were closed for half the time we were there due to chemical treatment (why they closed all three at the same time is beyond me), there is a walk to the beach because of the golf course,(normally I do not mind walking but I recently injured my hip so walking was more difficult. To get a golf cart ride it took a while for them to pick us up, we had an easier time with the ride back.) our condo needed some upkeep renovating but it was functional, no housekeeping, and they charged for parking each day.

All in all, we were fine at this hotel, but if we were to go back to Maui, we may explore another hotel option if the price is fair. We would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericapeace2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing