We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation at Resort Condo”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Vacation at Resort Condo”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at Eldorado last week of October, had a great time. These are privately owned condos , all different in terms of condition, furnishing, desirability of location, etc. Most are managed by Outrigger Resorts, although some owners rent direct thru VRBO. We opted for an Outrigger-managed unit in case we had any issues needing assistance (we didn’t).

We were upgraded to a 2-bed unit in Building E, which décor-wise was pretty much mid-level rental pool condition; not luxury, but huge with everything we needed – full kitchen and implements, 3 TV’s, outdoor patio with tables and lounge chairs. We had a great corner location directly on Kaanapali golf course, across from Sheraton and Kaanapali Beach, great views. You could walk to either side of Black Rock – either thru Sheraton Beach Walk to the beach in front of that hotel, or via a pathway around golf course to the Outrigger private cabana on other side of Black Rock (less crowded).

The main thing to realize about staying at this resort is: If this is your first time in Maui, and you are looking for the full travel brochure “Hawaii Experience” with fancy pool, tiki torches, beach cabanas, $12 Mai Tai’s with umbrellas, luau and $20 beach-side hamburgers – this is NOT the place. However, if you have already done all that, and want a great base of operations in Maui, close to (not on) the beach in a great area, with twice+ the space at half the price, flexibility of a kitchen, ability to take your own libations to the pool, and without a thousand other people and kids all around you, then this IS the place! (it was also off-season, so I don’t know what the crowd factor s in summer). There are no restaurants or bars at the resort, and no rooom season (this is not a "hotel") , although there are plenty of options within walking distance (Kaanapali hotels, Whaler’s Village, Fairway strip center across street, your own kitchen). All the Outrigger staff encountered were very friendly and helpful.

As noted in other reviews, It can be a bit of a walk to beach, (10+ minutes depending where your room is), especially if it’s hot & you are carrying a bunch of stuff, but Outrigger provided a golf cart ride service to and from, which was convenient. Also a nice walk down to Whaler’s Village, but you could also catch the local free Trolley there and back from front of hotel. (All walks are “down” going, and “up” on way back – plan accordingly). We also used the main pool area at end of day to dunk in, as well as the BBQ’s there for a few in-room dinners. Parking was in a garage structure located in center of complex (+ $8/day), so you had to schlep stuff back & forth – but again, the Outrigger had staff avail. with a cart. All-in-all, a great experience in a relaxed, uncrowded atmosphere, very good value, I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ (you are going to be savinf way more than a hotel to begin with) and get a partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Gardog52:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review and pictures. We're glad you liked E100's corner location and all of that space!

You are so right; the Outrigger Maui Eldorado is not the place for a Hawaiian fantasy vacation. We are instead a just a simple, great place to call home while you're visiting Maui. We were a bit busy while you were here, so it's great to read that you found the resort to be quiet and uncrowded, which is pretty typical most days. Thank you for your kind words about my staff; they are always happy to share their aloha with you.

Thank you again for your visit. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    311
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
264
349
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

For us, the Maui Eldorado was a perfect fit. We stayed in unit F-202 which was very well maintained and comfortable - with a partial ocean view and just a short walk to the parking garage. The complex was originally constructed in the 1960’s - which resulted in very spacious living areas. As a condo, with all the amenities, it provided a convenient base to explore the island, but felt like “home” at the end of the day. The complex is unpretentious but refined with beautifully landscaped grounds. We liked the fact that the property just seemed more relaxed and less congested than the more “high-density” resorts immediately to the south, yet provided easy access to all the Lahaina/Kaanapali attractions.

The Whalers Village Shopping Center is within easy walking distance along Keeka Drive to Kaanapali Parkway. Try CJ’s Deli at the Fairway Shops directly across Keeka Drive from the condos, as well as the Gazebo Restaurant in Napali - particularly breakfast (excellent food with an ocean view). We found the Safeway Supermarket at the Cannery Mall in Lahaina to be convenient and reasonably priced.

The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Ruby (Office Manager) was particularly gracious and made us feel quite welcome. Based on our experience, we’d highly recommend Maui Eldorado to anyone considering a stay on the island.

Bill
Mechanicsburg, PA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fullmoon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha fullmoon88:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I appreciate your kind words about my staff and especially about the Aloha shown to you by Ruby.

It sounds like the Outrigger Maui Eldorado and F202 were the perfect fit for you and your vacation. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our large condos and low-key atmosphere. We are especially pleased that you felt that returning to the resort after a day on Maui was like coming home!

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was quite dated though and could have done with a refurbish - but was comfortable. The bed was nice and hard. The room was air conditioned which was nice and not too noisy. The kitchen was great for getting meals together if we choose to eat in. There was even a full sized fridge. We bought bottled water as the tap tested salty. We had a first floor studio room. No views of the beach and it was at least a brisk 5 min walk to get to the water. We made use of the cabana one of the days we were there - not much shade during the day -- some umbellas would be good. It was a nice spot to watch the sun setting with a glass of wine :) We were very dissapointed with the pool - which was on top of the car park and the bbq area there was not pleasant. We had hoped to be able to eat there at night and meet other people but this was not ideal. Overall we enjoyed our stay - but had hoped it would have been better.

Room Tip: a room over looking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KerrieOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Aloha KerrieOZ:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting some photos of the property. I apologize that you were not happy with your condo. We are always happy to show you another unit if you are not happy with the unit we give you.

Glad to read that you found the kitchen useful; all of our unit here, even the studios, have complete kitchens to make your stay just that much more enjoyable.

I will share your comments about the pool deck with the homeowner's association.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Stann Creek, Belize
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

You could tell this was an older property, but the room we stayed in was recently remodeled and very comfortable. Within walking distance of the beach and a small a couple restaurants. We were only there for 3 nights but wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha Gillian Z:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review.

The benefits of our older property is that the rooms are larger and there are fewer of them, allowing a tranquil feeling to help you relax.

We'll look forward to seeing you next time when we hope you can stay with us longer.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were thrilled with our accomodations. The location is right near Black Rock where the snorkelling is fantastic. The Maui Eldorado has a cabana on the beach with lounge chairs, shade, restrooms, a refridgerator, towels, etc for the guests. They are happy to transport you the short distance around the golf course to and from the beach on a golf cart, or you can walk. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are lovely and quiet. The service we had was excellent, and the folks at the front desk went out of their way to be accomodating. We were in room J119, partial ocean view and it was really lovely. The kitchen was large and convenient, with a large refridgerator. The TV in this room was an older one and wasn't working with the remote at first, but that was fixed right away. The furnishings were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashellsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha seashellsherri:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. It sounds like you had a very relaxing visit; we're happy that you enjoyed J119 and the cabana.

Thank you for your kind words about my staff. I appreciate your letting us know about the television remote control so we could fix it for you.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went back a year later for a second stay at El Dorado and were pleased to see it is still as good as the first time. We had put in a request for the same room as last year and were pleased it had been fulfilled. We love the El Dorado - so much more peaceful than the big resort/hotel style accommodation. Three great pools so you can pick a quiet one. The additions to the Fairway Shops a 2 minute walk away are fantastic - new Whalers general store, snorkel hire. Husband takes a weeks membership at Valley Isle gym and gets a discount for staying at El Dorado. Our unit E205 was perfect yet again and staff are always friendly and welcoming. Whalers Village is just a short walk away. Its good to have a laundry and full functioning kitchen.

Room Tip: 2 level rooms are best. We like E block over looking the Turtle pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDPM2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cromwell
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

WE have stayed here a number of times,the fist over 20 years ago.It ia a great place with the best beach a few minutes walk away.We have a 2 bedroom appartment that is huge with outdoor dining and two large bathrooms.The laundry is very welcome after the last few days staying in the Hilton Waikiki.The gardens and low rise buildings really make the place special .Everyone is so friendly.We will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CromQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Aloha CromQueenstown:

Thank you for returning to stay with us again - we're happy to read that you've been staying here for more than 20 years!

It's great to read that you enjoy our extra-spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos. And the in-room laundry is really convenient, especially if you've been traveling for a while.

I appreciate your kind words about my staff and am pleased that you like the relaxing Hawaii atmosphere here.

Thank you for posting a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing