We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Eldorado
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$460
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
386
333
105
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
333
105
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach cabanael doradofull kitchengolf cart ridewhalers villageblack rockfairway shopsminute walkpartial ocean viewwasher and dryerparking garagemain pooltwo queen bedsliving roomfree trolleygarden viewlounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The complex is quite large and next to a golf course, which makes the 10 minute walk to get to the beach actually nice. Rooms are little apartments, but they are definetely outdated, yet well kept. One good thing: each room has its own laundry, so that is quite useful. It has a few swimming pools spread around the complex, but of course the nicest thing is the cabana that it has right by the beach. Overall, it's OK if you don't want to spend that much on the other options in the area (even though I paid about $300...).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Capodicapi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Aloha Capodicapi2:

Thank you for staying with us.

Each condo here is individually owned, so all have different decor. My owners work hard to provide comfortable accommodations with an eye toward timelessness without bowing to fleeting residential design trends.

Our unit size and amenities, combined with our reasonable rates (this is Maui, after all!) and our central Kaanapali location, make the Outrigger Maui Eldorado one of the best values on Maui's west side.

Thank you for posting a review of your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Location -This property is set back from the beach across holes on a golf course. This means that it is also set back from the crowds along the waterfront walk and whalers village. In a busy place such as Kaanapali, this appealed to our family and our desire to relax this holiday. However, that same golf course means that accessing the beach is a little less direct. We stayed in building A which is the furthest building from the beach. We timed our first trek....it took us 14 minutes. There is no direct path....to get through the complex is up, down, around, up stairs, down stairs etc... Keep in mind, however, that you can ask for a golf cart ride to and from the beach, and we saw many people do that. Leaving our condo in the other direction it only took us 10 minutes or so to reach the Whalers Village Shopping Area and right behind the condo was a small mall with a few amenities.

The beach -- Wow. What a beautiful stretch of beach. I can't say enough positive things about the beach and the Eldorado's Cabana. The Cabana is much larger than I envisioned and has the best view on the beach. It has a full kitchen, a book exchange, washrooms, a place to sign out towels and beach chairs, 2 inside areas with tables, and a large outdoor deck with deck chairs. Our first time down there were no chairs on the deck and I thought..."this will be a problem", but after an hour or so some chairs became available and after that, we always found chairs. No one seemed to "reserve" the chairs or anything , so it was really nice. Although initially I thought going to the beach was going to be a slog, with the cabana, we had no reason to return to our room. After the second day, the walk became inconsequential. The only slight issue with the cabana is the close quarters you are with other guests. Usually not a problem for us, but one day there was a large family grouping that was really loud.

The Room - A really large room. Very nicely furnished with most amenities. There was a huge lanai overlooking the golf course with an ocean view. we had a one bedroom.... and the bedroom area was separated from the main living room by a accordion pocket door, not a real door, so you may want to be on friendly terms with the person sleeping on the pull out! The only item(s) I found missing from the kitchen were containers or plastic wrap for leftovers or sealing opened packages.

The Grounds - quiet. There are a number of complexes....it is on a slight hill, so there are stairs between complexes/ pools etc. There were 3 pools.. the largest one is on top of the parking facility...we tried it once, but it was way too windy to enjoy. The smaller pools are quite small, but more sheltered. With the beautiful beach, we really only used the pools closer to the end of the day. There are a lot of lounge chairs around the pools and they seemed empty most of the time. The Barbeques were situated close to the pools and were very convenient, the husband never had to wait to use one.

The area - WINDY. We have been there a couple of times and it is usually windy. We were told by a local to expect 10-15 MPH winds all the time. It was often more...the beach could feel like a sand blast occasionally and we lost some items to the wind...the cabana was a great place for wind avoidance. The beach surf wasn't too bad most of the time, although there seemed to be a current pulling people downstream Not a big deal though. (Although the loud family near us had two family members that tried to swim around the point to the Sheraton area and had to be rescued.... that was more of a case of poor planning...it doesn't seem like a good idea to swim around the rocks there).

The good - nice view, quiet, great beach, nice grounds, free WIFI, and you could ask for new towels etc at the front desk. We also found the people at the activities desk helpful.

The "less good" - Parking is $8 a day, to use the safe is $1.59 a day, you really want to cross the golf course to get to the beach instead of walking through the maze of condos to get there, there are no daily mad services unless you pay extra,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n0rthvangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Aloha n0rthvangirl:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado.

We really appreciate the title of your review. The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is very quiet and the atmosphere here is more residential than resort like. But what we really like is that, after being here, that you "got it" and that the property, your condo and the cabana all combined to make a great Maui vacation for you.

The cabana is a great place to spend the day and, with the kitchen, restrooms, towels, wi-fi, and, of course the terrific view, there's no need to go back to your condo unless you have something else to do than hang out on our great beach all day! You do have to be careful when swimming, though, as the strength of the current does vary. And the wind, too, varies depending upon the time of the year.

Thank you for resisting taking the easy route by walking across the golf course. Even at night, when you think no one is looking, you never know when the sprinklers will come on! Just a note that the $8 parking fee has been replaced by a daily $12 daily resort fee.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I opted to stay here based on the price (government discount) I was able to get and the location. Kaanapali beach area came highly recommended for first time visitors.

The Eldorado property is beautiful but a little far from the beach due to the golf course being in between the property and the beach. I did find that we walked alot at this property eventhough they had staff willing to drive you in the golf cart. It is true what most people say. The rooms are in a definite need of an update. The unit was clean and very spacious. However, as a married couple I was surprised to receive a unit with two beds after requesting one. On an upside, the lanai was extremely large with a nice view of the pool and partial view of the ocean. It was a great spot to have coffee every morning. The beach cabana has everything one could need for spending the day down at the beach including towels and seat backs for the sand. The only negative to the beach cabana is that is seems as if the a few groups often occupy it like they rented it for the day. I found it was occupied by a certain group of people that were loud and overbearing.

The staff at the Eldorado appeared helpful. We didn't really have any concerns during our stay and rarely interacted with them. We did have a few questions when checking in about the local area and the girl who assisted us was pleasant and very capable of answering our questions.

The beach at this end of the area was spacious and barely used. It is in close proximity to one side of black rock that had frequent snorkelers to it. We seemed to have a wide section of beach that helped with the ocean swells on certain days. When we ventured down the beach it appeared as if other sections weren't as lucky. On the other side of the black rock by the Sheraton the beach seemed busier with alot of families of all ages. This section is closer to Whaler's Village and the various restaurants. Nice little area and certainly within walking distance. If you do decide to drive, there is a parking garage for Whaler's Village and any of the restaurants and shops will validate your parking. Triology Excursions is also located down here on the beach at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. We used them for our whale watching tour but they had every activity you could think of and came recommended. The whales were very active in front of the hotels and I don't necessarily know if we saw more while on the catamaran but it was nice to get out on the boat.

We found the food and drink to be quite expensive so if you can catch a happy hour special I would recommend it. I also found the food in this area at the restaurants not of good quality and I would not rate any of the restaurants as 4 or 5 star. Even though we had a condo, with there being only two of us, we opted to venture out for dinner almost every day. This was also our first time to Maui so we did spend alot of time sightseeing and eating outside of the condo.

I would not stay at this condo again just because I would to experience another section of Kaanapali beach. I would also like to stay at a condo/hotel that has a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Second floor unit recommended
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geordie605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Aloha Geordie605:

Thank you for staying with us. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of your condo and that you enjoyed your lanai and the property in general. Thank you, too, for your kind words about my staff.

The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is a great value for people who want to be in the center of Kaanapali but who don't want to pay the high prices for oceanfront accommodations. Our complete kitchens can help you avoid the cost of eating out every night. And, there are four restaurants in the Fairway Shops across Kekaa Drive that are closer to many units here than a restaurant might be to your room in a large, full service hotel. Although bedding is on request, we do our best to provide a unit for you that you will like. We're always happy to find another condo for you if you're not happy with the first one.

The cabana can be busy, especially during the first part of the year but, as you point out, Kaanapali Beach on our side of Black Rock is generally pretty sparsely populated.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This condo complex is beautiful - next to one of the top rated beaches in the world (Ka'anapali Beach - ranked 16th in the world by TripAdvisor). The units are very large and even one bedrooms have two full, spacious bathrooms and can comfortably accommodate 4 people, or more with extra mattresses or cots. One word of caution: This is an older complex. The units are individually owned. Some have been renovated over the years, others have not. Ensure that you request a renovated unit. We were assigned an abysmal, moulding unit the first night but as soon as we requested a better unit the next morning, we were moved to a lovely one. The staff are wonderful, from the kind folks who drove us back and forth to the beach in the golf carts to the activities coordinator to the registration staff - all deserve 5 stars. We rated it 4 stars only because of the issue with the older, non-renovated units.

Room Tip: This is an older complex. The units are individually owned. Some have been renovated over the years, others have not. Ensure that you request a renovated unit.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angiola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha Angiola D:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit.

Yes, all of our condos are different and we are always happy to show you alternate units if you are not happy with your stay. Each unit in the Outrigger rental program does meet a set of standards and each has its good points. Though the first unit you stayed in has been requested by many return guests, every guest has their own idea of what they like and we were glad to show you another condo.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff; they are always happy to share their Aloha with our guests!

We look foward to seeing you on your next visit to the Valley Isle.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with one other couple (total of 4 of us) in a 2 bedroom suite. The condo was huge and had an ocean view. We were a little far back from the ocean, as our condo sat behind the golf course but the walk wasn't far. The nice thing about the location is that it is right next to the Sheraton and the beach at the Sheraton has nice water and snorkeling off the black rock.
These are fully equip condos with full kitchens so the nice thing is that you can go down the street to Safeway and buy groceries.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank A3459W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Aloha A3459W:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. Our two bedroom condos with two bathrooms are certainly large enough to provide plenty of space and privacy for two couples. And the kitchen helps to keep everyone happy when it comes to having snacks, drinks or meals available on your schedule. We're happy to read that you were able to take advantage of the excellent snorkeling available within a short walk at Black Rock.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing all of you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews