We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our purposes”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for our purposes”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently completed a two week stay at the Maui Eldorado. We were very pleased to discover it, and I must say that it met our needs extremely well. We were in Maui with the mother and father of my spouse to celebrate their sixtieth wedding anniversary. They were staying at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel for several reasons - nostalgia and familiarity being two of them (They stayed there on other occasions - primarily for other significant anniversaries!). Therefore we were looking for a reasonably priced condominium in the area so that we could cook most of our meals for them and for ourselves. We hoped to be able to find a place that was an easy walk and/or drive.
Therefore it was gratifying to find the Maui Eldorado and the relatively reasonable accommodation prices. We requested a ground floor suite because of mobility issues for my mother-in-law, and the unit we were given was perfect. J111 was very accessible by sidewalk through the patio doors from the parking structure. It was also a short five minute walk from the hotel where my in-laws were staying.
There were a few things which would have made the stay even more perfect, but they are minor. I will mention them in case they prove to be more important concerns for others.
The unit was very acceptable, but the kitchen was quite dated. A kitchen upgrade would be a nice improvement. In addition the bed was comfortable, but I was glad to be there for only two weeks as it was starting to bother my hips and legs after a night's sleep. We were missing a few helpful items from the kitchen, namely a bread knife and large carving knife or butcher knife, even though they were listed on the list of supplies. We did mention this in a visit to the front desk, and we were promptly supplied with two more steak knives (we already had six!) and two more regular dinner knives. We made do with the steak knives so we did not bother to try to mention it again, except on checkout so that it was clear that the missing utensils did not disappear during our stay.
The television in our unit was okay, but it was a large tube television. We noted that other units had large flat screen televisions, and it would have been nice to have one available to us as well, especially since the NHL playoffs were on when we stayed there and to these Canadians it would have made the viewing experience a bit more pleasant. In addition, we found the number of television channels to be somewhat limited. However, we did not visit Maui to watch television, so these are really minor concerns.
Other reviewers have mentioned the Beach Cabana and we would agree that this is one of the best features of the Maui Eldorado. We were sorry that due to our situation, we were limited in our ability to use it as much as we wished, but if we make another visit to the Maui Eldorado the Cabana will be an attractive feature.

Room Tip: Condos in the J building (except for the very end) seem very well protected from direct sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcchynoweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha pcchynoweth:

Mahalo for staying with us. It's great to read how well that the Outrigger Maui Eldorado met your needs in terms of price, location and accessibility. We're always happy to help out with special requests.

All of our units here are different. I have shared your comments about the kitchen, the bed and television with the condo's owner. And, I've talked about your experience regarding the knives with my front desk staff - thank you for that feedback.

We hope that, on your next visit, you get to spend more time at the cabana. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    310
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
262
346
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Versailles, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This unit was nice location wise, literally 10 feet from one of the 3 swimming pools on the complex. The view is always nice located on the Kaanapali golf course with a view of the ocean and beautiful flowers. But upon check in, the supposedly daily maid service (which is one reason we chose it) is no longer available but still charge $75 on check out. Inside, the oven/stove top burners did not work as we attempted to cook daily for 2 weeks. Roaches ran the floors and walls. Neither complaints were attempted to be fixed by checkout time. Don't plan to stay there again after our second time. A definite dissappointment this time around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SGH906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha SGH906:

Thank you for returning to stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your condo's location and view.

In line with requests from many of our guests and in order to keep our rates competitive, we no longer offer daily maid service. If you are not happy with any aspect of your condo, the front desk is available between 6 am and 10 pm to assist you and we are always happy to find an alternate unit in the event. I apologize that we did not attend to your issues in a manner satisfactory to you.

In the event you would like to return, I would be happy to look after your reservation personally.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for our winter vacation last year. We got a two bedroom condo. The location was good for exploring Maui and close to many restaurants. Parking wasn't my favorite, but it was doable. Our room was clean and maintained ok, but the beds, particularly the one in the master could have been replaced. We loved the beach. Access was provided by golf cart, or via a short walk. Towels and chairs were readily available. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha amanda0620:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado.

Our parking is arranged so that the view from your unit is not compromised by your having to look at a parking lot instead of our grounds or the view. The bellman is available between 6 am and 10 pm to help transport you and your items between your car and your your condo; please call the front desk during those times and we will be happy to dispatch him for you.

Glad to read that you enjoyed the cabana and the beach. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice; December 2012 and June 2013. It is a beautiful location, and a great bargain given its prime location on Black Rock. Much more reasonable pricing when compared to the Sheraton Black Rock (which is right next door)

As a Scuba Diver, my prime interest in the proximity to a good beach with a descent reef. This hotel has this, and has the bonus of being close to Whaler's Village - a great shopping and dining area off the beach. We love being able to enjoy the beach cabana - bringing down food from the condo to use in the fridge and enjoy later on in the day is great. We were able to see sea turtles lying on the beach in the mornings, and a monk seal even took refuge just a bit further north.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and extremely welcoming. Unfortunately, because the units are privately maintained, we were given a room that was less clean than our first experience. (mold on the ceilings, musky smell) - when we explained this to the front desk, they found us a replacement, and upgraded our view, far exceeding our party's expectations.

I can't say enough about how much I enjoy staying at this hotel, and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: AAA/CAA rates through outrigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha jenb010:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado Kaanapali.

We're happy to read that you found the central Kaanapali location of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be convenient for you and a good value. And, it's great to read that you saw some of our local wildlife while you were down at our beach cabana.

I apologize that you were not happy with the first unit. We're always happy to help you find another condo that you might like and I'm pleased that we were ultimately able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us twice! We look forward to seeing you again on your third visit!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. Unfortunately our time on Maui kept us quite busy from early on the morning till late at night. On our last day, after debating what to do when you have a 10 pm flight but have to be out of your hotel by 10am (we got an extension till noon), we ended up on the cabana. This is a secret gem and possibly the highlight of the resort. You can walk- but trying to get to the sidewalk that leads to it from your particular condo, without crossing part of the golf course can be difficult. But they will bring you from your front door to the cabana in a golf cart. Once at the cabana you can store food and drink in the full size fridge that's there. Then there is ice, a sink, dishes, oven and microwave- all at your disposal. You could spend your whole day here and not have to go back to your room for anything! The actual ocean- on the far left side as your looking our into the ocean, near the rocks at that edge are tons of fish. I felt like I was swimming in a fishbowl! Unfortunately the day we spent there, we were told the undertow was fairly significant - although if you couldn't get back from the other side of the rock- we were told to just let the current take you to the beach on the other side and walk back. I'm a chicken and stayed fairly close to shore.

The only downsides- it would be nice if there was a shower available so you could wash up or a hospitality room to freshen up in after the beach if it's your last day there and you have awhile before your flight. -the rooms are spacious and reasonably priced, just could use updating- nothing to complain about.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank atravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha atravelingbug:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado and for posting a review. We're glad that you enjoyed the cabana; you're right, it is very easy to stay down there all day! The bellmen are happy to take you between the lobby and the cabana at your request. Or you can follow the sidewalk that runs between the H and J buildings past the 5th tee and across the bridge to the cabana. It's good that you asked about the current; some days it's hardly there and other days it can be pretty strong. And the area near Black Rock is known for it's many fish.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family stayed at the Maui Eldorado for our daughter's destination wedding. These condos have been around for a while and are well established and well maintained. The staff and management were very friendly and accommodating. We felt welcomed and our needs were always met. Our family stayed in a two bedroom condo, a one bedroom condo, as well as a studio. All were in good condition, clean, and well stocked with everything we needed. It was wonderful to have a washer/dryer in our unit! the furnishings were comfortable, the lanai was huge! and there was plenty of outdoor furniture. Our view of the ocean was breathtaking. The units are a ways from the beach and are separated by the Kaanapali Golf Course, but there is a nice paved path that runs to the beach or one can take a golf cart ride down to the beach from the front desk. The stretch of beach there is very nice and good for swimming. The beach cabana was one of our favorite things. It is a perfect place to get in from the sun and sit with your family inside at a table or bring a lunch to enjoy. We rented the cabana for our daughter's wedding and it was perfect! We were able to bring our food, have a local musician that we found, have music and dancing, decorate the tables, and had a lovely ceremony with the most gorgeous sunset! We had approximately 30 people in attendance and it worked out perfectly. We also enjoyed the pool area. There are two pools. The BBQ area at the pool is really very nice. It is somewhat separated fro the pool and is actually quite a large area. It was so much fun to have the "rehearsal BBQ" there the night before the wedding. We had a blast. Maui Eldorado is very close to Whaler's Village and Lahaina town. There is a Times Market very close as well as a Safeway. It is a great location and we will being staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbvanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha mbvanko:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado for your daughter's wedding. Thank you, too, for posting a review. We're happy to read that each of our three types of condos met your needs. Thank you, too, for mentioning that you felt my staff's hospitality.

We're glad that you enjoyed renting our beachfront cabana for your daughter's evening wedding. You just can't beat the beach, ocean and the stars combining to make a dream wedding come true.

Best of luck to your daughter and her new husband! Thank you again for your visit. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our first time in Maui and first time at the Eldorado. It is located on a fairway of the Kannapali Golf Course. Our unit faced west and had an ocean view so the sunsets were magnificent! The property and unit are very well maintained. It had everything we needed. Easy to make your meals if you so choose and bed was very comfortable. The Whalers shopping mall is within walking distance and from there you can grab a bus to any area of the island for only $4.00 to ride all day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The people of Maui are so relaxed and easy going that it's not hard to relax yourself. There is a small strip mall across the street where you can purchase some of the basics you may need like coffee, bread, yogurt, etc. There is a deli there as well and the prices are very reasonable - 2 can eat for under $20.00. Burnin Love was by far the highlight of the trip. It plays in Lahaina and you can get a discount from the Hard Rock cafe in Lahaina. We found Alamo had the best price for car rentals - $171 for 4 days - its close by and they will pick you up. The Eldorado has a shuttle to the beach or you can walk but there is a shortage of beach chairs so either take your own or go early if its a "beach day". This beach has a fairly steep drop off so be careful with children. Snorkeling is excellent to the south off the point or to the north about 1000 yards down the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha Randy W:

Thank you for staying with us at Outrigger Maui Eldorado and for your kind words about my staff. We're happy that you were comfortable enough to find yourselves at home here. And our central Kaanapali location makes it easy to walk down to Whaler's Village shopping center or just across the street to the restaurants and stores at the Fairway Shops.

Burnin' Love is a great show - every one we know raves about it!

Thank you for posting a review. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing