We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Around”
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Eldorado
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Value Around”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I absolutely loved this condo association. The rooms are big, comfortable, and have full kitchens, washer/dryers, and patios/balconies. We made great use of all those features, but the feature we loved the best was the beach cabana. You can take your own groceries, food, drink, alcohol, whatever you want down to the cabana, throw it on the fridge or freezer, and spend all day on the beach or lounge chairs on the deck. We routinely mixed drinks or put a case of beer in the kitchen (yes, there's a full kitchen in the beach cabana), and cooked up a frozen pizza for lunch when we got hungry. Oh also, the water at Kaanapali Beach is the calmest & clearest I've ever seen. Great snorkeling right next to the beach cabana at Blackrock. If you want a quiet, comfortable place where you can maximize your beach time w/out shelling out huge $ at the big resorts, this is your place. Just remember there's a standard $75 1-time cleaning fee, and a $12/day amenities fee, so factor that into your price comparisons.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha Patrick H:

It's great to read how you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beachfront cabana really is a great amenity and it sounds like you took full advantage of the cabana's kitchen to make your stay that much better.

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    311
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
264
349
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the first time we decided to do a condo instead of a hotel and I can not say how much MORE I prefer it. It feels like a real home away from home.

One of the best things we loved was having a kitchen, it had very modern appliances, everything we needed to cook our meals. Even had a dishwasher! I cant really think of anything that I would say you need to bring. That said, based on reviews I read from other people not every condo is exactly the same. There was a balcony with a nice table / sitting area, along with a dining table and couch. We stayed at the most basic room and it was perfect.

We went end of May / Early June and the beaches, cabana and snorkeling wasn't crowded at all. I hear in the busier winter months you have to get to the cabana early to get a spot but we never had any problems with this. Whenever we showed up, something was always available for us.

The Cabana has fridges, stoves, microwaves, sinks, dishwasher and all features of a kitchen you would need to cook up a quick meal right by the beach if you so desired. We would usually bring snacks with drinks and keep it in the fridge.

There is also a few pools you can dip into and by them is always a BBQ. We used it a few times and was great.

Snorkeling right in front of our hotel was fantastic. We seen 2 turtles, a seal and loads of fish. We went to the aquarium on our last day and I felt like I seen more than half fish they had there just from swimming at our beach. (Other than the sharks etc.)

FAVOURITE THINGS:
- Cabana
- Modern Apartment (At least I personally felt)
- Saved so much money on food
- Didn't feel like I had to pay for something every 10 minutes like at a hotel.
- Very reasonable cost compared to other resorts
- Whalers Village was very close by walking distance.

WISHED WE HAD:
- I honestly sat here for about 5 minutes thinking of what else we could have needed or even wished for and cant think of anything.......

RECOMEND:
- I definitely recommend the upper floor. We had no problem requesting that as during our stay the condo wasn't full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelers_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha travelers_spirit:

Thank you for you staying with us. It's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay here. We are so happy that you felt like the Outrigger Maui Eldorado was your Maui home while you were on Maui. Having your own kitchen is really a great way to save on food costs, plus you can eat whatever and whenever you'd like.

When you can spend all day at our cabana on North Kaanapali Beach, enjoy the snorkling and then be able to grab your own snack, you can really feel like you've made the most of your time here.

Thank you for posting a review and for including your photos. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whakatane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed four nights in a condo and had a short walk through the golf course to the beach. The room was clean and tidy. We arrived at about 11am and our accommodation was not ready until 3.30pm. Also when checking out we were charged $75 for a housekeeping fee which we were not aware of prior to this. Why is this not included in the room rate?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank stanthorpe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha stanthorpe:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review of your visit. We do our best to have your accommodations ready by 3pm; I apologize for the half-hour delay.

As with most similar types of accommodations, we have added a check-out cleaning fee to all condos. The fee depends on the size of the unit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. The condo room was clean and had all the amenities one would expect. This is not the fancy resorts like the others near by. So if that's your thing this is not the place for you. If you want a good base of operation for your stay on Maui then this place is fine. Remember this is on West Maui and therefore it takes some time to get to the big side and all the things going on over there. Your an hour from the airport. It's not bad just keep that in mind. The cabana that's provided is nice. You CAN'T walk to the beach the front desk will give you a golf cart ride. So know that this is not beach front. Also they say this is America's favorite beach. We found it to be OK but there are far better ones if you seek them out.

Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha AruoraKode:

Thank you for staying with us. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. You are right; the Outrigger Maui Eldorado is good, clean accommodations. We are not a fancy resort and we don't charge fancy resort rates!

Access to the beach is by the path around the golf course or, if you can't walk, the bellman is happy to take you to the cabana from the lobby between 9:30 am and 5 pm.

Mahalo for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Valley Isle.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

So much better than the Outrigger Royal Kahana! Our studio was spacious, with a separate kitchen area. This is a sprawling condo campus, with 2-story buildings. Peaceful and pretty. The potential downside is that it is a bit of a walk to the beach. There is a downhill sloping path around a golf course to get to the beach and the Maui Eldorado beach cabana. This is not a beachfront property, although there are water views. Free internet, but ours was painfully slow. (Tip: if you really need to download something go to the building where the front desk is!). Within quick walking distance is decent Chinese and pizza, an overpriced diner and the delightful new Mexican place, Sangrita. A bit further away, down Kekaa Drive, there are resort restaurants like Leilani's and Hula Grill. If you walk, you'll have a steep uphill going home. Three pools, the largest of which had a detached light with an exposed electrical wire.. once we saw that we weren't too stupid to jump in. And why do the guys with weed whackers start at 630am? Quiet time ends at 7am which is a bit early for vacationers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha ReneeRon:

Thank you fro staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit.

If you don't want to walk to the cabana, our bellmen will be happy to drive you via golf cart between the lobby and the cabana between 9:30 am and 5 pm. We may not be beachfront, but then, you're not paying beachfront room rates, either!

Thank you for mentioning the internet speed; upgrading the internet is something that is being reviewed currently.

You can always catch the free Kaanapali resort shuttle between Whaler's Village and the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. Our front desk has the schedule and the trolley stops at our driveway.

Though the pool light does look dangerous, it is a low voltage fixture and is not harmful. The light has been fixed; thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very nice golf front accommodation just mauka (mountain side) of the Sheraton at Black rock. This property gives you the convenience of being close to all of Kaanapali, the benefits of staying in a condominium and a much quieter experience than staying in a Kaanapali Hotel. If you like to walk this is a great property as it is close enough to walk to Beach, restaurants, etc.

Pro's
Friendly staff
Good value (depending on time of year and how you book) Outrigger offers good discounts to
AAA members and Hawaii Residents with Vaild ID (they check!)
Great Location
Beach Club on very quiet part of Beach

Cons
No Hotub
Check out for Outrigger is now at 11AM and there is no courtesy room at this property
Outrigger charges $95 cleaning fee

Room Tip: There is road noise in some of the units, if this is a concern make sure to discuss with booking age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha HawaiianStyle808:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. Thank you for your kind words about my staff and the property.

I have passed your along your comment about the hot tub to the homeowner's association. Though we do not have a courtesy room, there are restrooms downstairs from the lobby, and Outrigger guests are always welcome to leave their luggage with us at the front desk.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We hope to see you and your ohana again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I just got back last night and I loved my one week stay. The hotel was great. Our room was very clean and huge. We had a great living space with a large table and chairs and a couch. We had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer that came in so handy. Stop at Costco on your way in right by the airport. We also had a huge balcony with a table and chairs. It overlooked the main pool.

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. Tons of flowers trees etc. The beach was a 5-10 minute walk from the room. The beach in front of the hotel was perfect. It wasn't crowded. The water was so clear and very calm. I could stay on the beach all day.

You could walk to Whalers Village, but I recommend driving 5-10 min to front street where there a lots more restaurants and shopping.

The only reason I am giving the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because on our second day I called the front desk to say our microwave wasn't working and the lady said she would send someone right away. We waited around for about three hours and no one ever came, called or said anything. I was disappointed because that was one of the main reasons that we wanted a room with a kitchen. Also with the resort fee, safe fee, and cleaning fee I just hoped for different service. The rest of our experiences with the gentleman at the front desk were great.

I loved this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat. The location and beach were great. If I didn't have that one disappointment I would have given it 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha Lulu B:

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to read how much you enjoyed your condo and its balcony, as well as the property's grounds. Since we are right in the middle of Kaanapali, Whaler's Village is just a short walk away (and they validate parking!).

I apologize that we did not respond to you regarding your microwave. I have discussed your comments with my front office manager to help avoid a similar future experience.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui. Thank you again for staying with us.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Property: Maui Eldorado
Address: 2661 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1993
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing