We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Kai 1002”
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maui Kai 1002”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

1002 is a junior ocean front studio suite ideal for a couple. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had amazing views of the ocean from the Lanai. The complex is right next to the ocean and we spotted a few fishes and couple turtles from our Lanai ! We stayed here for a couple nights and will definitely consider Maui Kai for our next visit. Unfortunately, both the days we stayed here were cloudy and could not enjoy the sunset from our Lanai but overall it was an amazing experience. They also have a small kitchen that is equipped with cookware and basic utensils. It was worth the price !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NokaHoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay was limited; of course most people feel the time spent at Maui Kai is never long enough! I am glad that you found us to be ideally suited to your needs and that our staff was accommodating. We are happy you had an amazing experience and when you make plans to spend another holiday, please let us know how we can help. ALOHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    191
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
179
691
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked our honeymoon through Maui Kai 807 owner Donna Bender, and it was a great experience. She made the process easier than I could have hoped and provided us with fantastic suggestions for things to do/see/eat around the island. The condo was amazing. You couldn't possibly be any closer to the beach. Great views of the sunsets, the whales, and turtles. It was heaven!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! They are all waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
It was my privilege helping you arrange your honeymoon stay at Maui Kai. I'm glad you enjoyed my suggestions for things to do and eat on Maui. It's difficult to describe the view, but once you experience it, you'll agree that Maui Kai No Ka Oi (Maui Kai like no other). Please let us know when you're ready to return to Maui Kai - it's a great place to celebrate your anniversary every year! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked our trip through Donna Bender and it was a fantastic experience from start to finish. Working with Donna made the process very simple and she provided us suggestions for our vacation that we wouldn't have done and really made our trip. The condo was unreal. So close to the ocean with amazing views of turtles and other marine life right from our balcony. The room was everything we wanted and the staff was helpful and friendly. If you are thinking of staying here, we highly recommend it. And book with Donna if you can as she does so much more than simply arrange your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It was my pleasure helping you book your stay at Maui Kai. My goal is to make it as simple as possible. I'm glad you made good use of the information and suggestions I provide. Yes, the helpful and friendly staff at Maui Kai embody the true Aloha spirit of Hawaii. Please let me know when you're ready to return - Maui Kai will take loving care of you again! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My Fiance and I stayed in unit 707 at the Maui Kai in Mid October and it was incredible. The view was unbeatable for the price. We could look down from our Lanai and see the reef through the crystal clear water beneath us. The sunsets are AMAZNG and we saw a Giant Sea Turtle and a Stingray right from our condo!

The condo itself was very clean and the daily maid service was as good as any daily maid service I have experienced at a full service hotel. The condo is fully equipped with everything you need and the Maui Kai front desk staff are very helpful.

We booked through Donna Bender and she was really great about providing us with all the information we needed for our trip to Maui.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Maui Kai, and unit 707 is great for couples that are looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I was happy to help you and your fiancé book a stay at Maui Kai and that you had an incredible time! I was glad to provide you with all the information you needed for your trip. I agree that Maui Kai housekeeping staff is as good as you can find at any full-service hotel. Please let me know when you're ready to return to another fully-equipped condo at Maui Kai and enjoy once again the amazing views of the islands of Lanai and Molokai, beautiful sunsets and watch the turtles from your lanai. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We where in 902 which was an efficiency size remodeled ,well stocked except for any condiments. This was our 3rd.stay at Maui Kai & this was the nicest ,most updated unit. We loved it. The location is close to dining ,shopping ,snorkeling. Price is right & parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for sharing with us your satisfaction with the accommodations provided. As a return guest, you have found the Maui Kai to be a true value. We are conveniently located to dining and shopping, and the stunning blue Pacific Ocean is only steps away. Each unit is individually owned and comes equipped with all the comforts of home. A toll-free call to our knowledgeable and friendly on-site staff will secure your return trip to paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in unit 307, which we booked through the owners of unit 806, Art and Sophie Nickel.

The condo was exceptional and the views that come with the place are unmatched. After having stayed at the Maui Kai and having explored the island in it's entirety, there's really no other portion of the island that is better to stay in than Kaanapali. The location and condo were perfect and exactly what we were hoping for on our vacation. We will definitely be back. I really liked how quiet the building was and it's location really can't be beat. It was perfectly decorated, great lanai, well equipped for cooking. It really had it all. Free parking and wifi are essential and really make a difference when choosing a place to stay. We really liked the condo and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

I wouldn't change anything about the Maui Kai because you guys are winning best place on Maui contest and it isn't even close. The Maui Kai is absolutely unmatched. Watching the sun set in between Lanai and Molokai was amazing.

Ryan and Liz

Room Tip: Stay above the third floor as you can hear people walking and talking which may be disruptive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Aloha Ryan and Liz,

Thanks for all the compliments! I'm glad you enjoyed all the ocean front benefits the Maui Kai has to offer and that Sophie and I were able to help get you into one of our great partner units even though 806 was not available for your dates.

Let Sophie or I know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you booked and organized for your next stay!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have visited here a number of times over the years. Our experience this time was even better than other trips. The staff, as usual, was attentive and helpful. The room was recently renovated and we were the first ones staying in it. The renovated kitchen and bathroom had everything you could possibly want or need. The rest of the rooms were in excellent condition and felt like being at home. We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony looking out from our ocean front view from our corner unit. There were little touches like snorkel gear, beach chairs, cooler, etc. that we have come to enjoy staying here. We are already planning our return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Many of our return guests would like to keep Maui Kai “a secret”, so we do appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that your experience with us keeps improving. We are very proud of our most conscientious staff. All units in the Maui Kai Rental Program are held to high standards and are continually enhanced. Our oceanfront location is unrivaled and you can view a variety of sea life without stepping from your room! We look forward to hearing from you to reserve your next visit in paradise. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing