We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the right type of person and if you get the right room”
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,646 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,251 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the right type of person and if you get the right room”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you like 5 star resorts, shiny new fixtures and fittings, have a family, want a large pool and like lots of poolside activities, then this condo block not for you.
Maui Kai is a smaller block of condos, with a small pool. It's one of the older units, so in places it doesn't look as new as some of it's neighbors. It does however make up for this fact with the most amazing views ever. All rooms are ocean view. This is not an ocean view where you look over a car park, gardens, pool areas etc to see the ocean. The ocean is literally a stones throw in front of you. It is easily the closest condo block to the beach. So our favorite evening activity was to sit on the balcony, which was a good size, with a glass of wine and just watch the waves, the boats and anything else which was passing!
TIP; I would definitely advise you to look carefully at the apartment you are renting. We had 401 which had a new kitchen, a new bathroom and new carpet. So it felt modern and clean. There were some which were not in this condition.
I would go back to the view alone and this was better than any other places we saw on the Island

Room Tip: Look closely at the pictures of the rooms. You want one which has been recently updated. Higher fl...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    191
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
181
701
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Maui Kai was built when building codes weren't quite as strict as they are today. So it sits VERY close to the water. So close that there really isn't a beach during most of the day. During low tide you can walk a narrow strip of beach but you won't be able to park your beach chair there all day. However, all the beaches in Maui are public so you can walk/drive to another one!

I believe each condo is independently owned so there may be some differences between rooms. #406, a junior suite, was better than expected with a wonderfully updated kitchen and bathroom. This was the smallest room type but we lacked for nothing.

Things to know:
1. This is not a good choice for families with small children because of the beach issue.
2. Snorkeling is a no-go here - we tried it and there's nothing but rocks with no coral therefore no fish. Drive a little north to Kapalua bay - this is our favorite for snorkeling.
3. There are washer/dryers on each floor and the front desk can sell you a detergent/dryer sheet combo thingy so you don't have to buy any.
4. There is a small shopping center across the street with a large supermarket and several strip-mall type restaurants. Handy.
5. There are two really nice grills in the pool area and covered picnic tables as well. There's a full kitchen with filled cabinets if you want to prepare your food near the grills. (Really cool.)
6. The pool cabana has a ping-pong table, tables, book shelves and bathrooms.
7. The hot tub is just inches away from the pool.
8. Each condo has it's own secure wireless internet connection so it's super fast.
9. The front desk told us there is a discount if you book directly through the hotel.
10. Don't expect the same housekeeping service as in a hotel. They change the sheets once a week and don't clean up the kitchen. But there's a dishwasher! And our condo already had dish detergent and dishwasher pellets under the counter. (Even a small tool box.)
11. The building is only 1 room wide so every room is oceanfront. Some rooms also have a corner window but, in my opinion, they aren't worth the extra cost. We are never in our room anyway.
12. AND, the most important thing, there is a hand-held shower in the bathroom.

It really was more like staying at a friend's place at the beach than a hotel. We will return!

Room Tip: Each room is ocean front with a great view. Paying extra for a room with a corner window isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a magical stay at the Maui Kai (606). We actually came away from the trip engaged!! Wonderful facilities (beach access, DVD rentals, pool, hot tub, grill) and we loved our little condo. We spent a lot of time eating and relaxing on the lanai. Beautiful sunsets and views of the islands from the condo. The condo was located in a great area, as well (close to grocery store, downtown Lahaina, snorkeling). We will most certainly be back. Thank you Art and Sophie for a wonderful stay!

-Alexis & Mike

Room Tip: Open Lanai!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha Alexis and Mike,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that Sophie and I were able to help arrange accommodation in one of our ocean front partner units. As you said, you really can't beat the direct oceanfront location and all the amenities. Let Sophie or I know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you organized for your next stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We usually stay at a resort, but decided to try a condo this time. The reviews on TripAdvisor had rated this as one of the best liked place to stay. The room was clean, well-equipped, and also had a nice kitchen area with just about any utensil you could think of using. The location was excellent. The pool was nice and clean. The staff was willing to help with just about request that was made. Donna Bender was one we contacted about renting the room (we rented 302) and she was able to provide all of the information we needed. She was quick to respond to any questions that we had, and was very helpful from start to finish. We would recommend staying here to anyone and would stay here again.

Room Tip: One small caveat.......the room we rented had a Murphy Bed, some people with sensitive backs might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrobin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I was happy to help you arrange your stay at Maui Kai. The kitchen in Maui Kai units are fully equipped with a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, plates, dishes, glasses, and eating and cooking utensils. The pool area has a jacuzzi, 2 gas barbecues and a cabana with a ping-pong table and a full kitchen. Maui Kai awaits your return! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a wonderful 6 nights at the Maui Kai, unit 1006 it was on the top floor and a really nice condo, we made the booking through Donna Bender who was so helpful and terrific in making the reservations and was full of great ideas and suggestions for our stay, she puts out a local girls guide to Maui which is really a great source of idea's and places to see and go well worth getting one.

The condo was really nicely set out, the big patio doors would open to give you a great open feeling inside the condo, I would have preferred an actually balcony but this was the next best thing. The condo was stocked and ready to go for us, the parking was free, free internet, maid service each day if you wished. It is in a good location and of course it is right on the beach, but it is the view which is great, we got to see a few whales going past. Overall it was a great stay and visit to Maui, I would go back to the Maui Kai again for the price and location.

Room Tip: Higher rooms and ask for a one with a balcony as many are enclosed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I'm happy you had a wonderful time in Maui Kai 1006 and enjoyed the extra indoor space from its enclosed lanai and opening its large sliding windows and screens to bring in the outdoors. Glad you enjoyed the great view and got to see a few whales before their return to Alaska. I'm also glad you appreciated the free daily maid service, free wired and Wi-Fi Internet and free parking that comes with every unit in the Maui Kai Rental Program. When you're ready to return, let me know and I'll be happy to help you. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Donna Bender, who owns Unit 807, helped us arrange our stay in a studio unit at Maui Kai. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Maui Kai to celebrate our one year anniversary and my birthday. The Maui Kai is a lovely and quaint building tucked away among other larger resorts. We had a beautiful ocean-front room with an enclosed porch and a fully-equipped kitchen. We loved being able to cook our own meals (grocery store is conveniently located across the street) and sit out on the balcony watching the turtles swim by. Tons of other beaches are within walking distance as well. We highly recommend the Maui Kai and can't wait to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFabian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It was my pleasure helping you arrange your 1-year anniversary celebration at Maui Kai! I'm glad you had a wonderful stay exploring the mile-long stretch of beach next to Maui Kai and took advantage of the fully equipped kitchen to cook your own meals from the large supermarket across the street and enjoy them while drinking in the oceanfront view of sunsets, turtles and the islands of Lanai and Molokai. Please let me know when you're ready to return - I'll be happy to help you again! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

These condo`s are awesome you are right on the beach couldn;t get any closer. very well maintained and very clean. was very quiet. We stayed for 10 days and had a great time, people are very friendly and you have everything you need to make it a wonderful holiday. will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.1 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing