We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maui Kai...what a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maui Kai...what a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2007

Upon opening the door to condo 504, you are transported to a tropical paradise. The view takes your breath away as you look out over the blue Pacific towards Lanai and Molokai . Looking out the lanai feels like being on a cruise ship and you and the ocean are one.
The condo which feels like a suite, comes complete with so many personal touches, lovely furnishings and huge king sized bed that you know Al and Lyn have gone to every effort to make your stay perfect. From the first communication through the entire stay, we felt welcomed and found our stay totally enjoyable.
This was our second stay in this spectacular unit and it will not be our last. We enjoyed the pool, ping pong table and jacuzzi. Having internet connection in the unit was especially helpful and
the beach is so swimming friendly and warm. We enjoyed restaurants nearby at Whaler's Village and up at Kapalua as well as many other activities Maui has to offer.
During Whale season, you will find yourself with the best seat in the house. Whales will entertain and amaze you for hours. It will be hard to tear yourself away. You must experience this
paradise for yourself. Don't wait any longer!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisasaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    190
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
178
689
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

We just returned from 5 days at the MK. We stayed in #908 a corner unit. The living area was good size and comfortable as was the lanai and the great view. Rainbows every morning at 7:30 and sunsets were spectacular. The bedroom and bathroom were seriously outdated an worn. Technology was lacking with out internet access (They are installing soon) and no TV in the bedroom. We were really disappointed. Also the wind whistled throughout the room all day and night to the point that the ceiling tiles in the bathroom would flop up and down. Be prepared, it was very windy (40 MPH) through out our stay.

  • Liked — The view and the lanai
  • Disliked — Worn and outdated
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Macciatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folsom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

Stayed 5 nites the beginning of April 07. Highlights are the million dollar views from the corner unit (608) and sleeping on the Murphy bed on the lanai. The Maui Kai is in a wonderful location, walking distance to the Market and shops, and in general is a good launching site for those interested in spending most of their time of the west side.

The place is a showing some age, but I wasn't expecting 5-star. In fact, my first 5 days of vacation were spent at the Grand Hyatt on Kauai which was heavenly, but the views from the Maui Kai were the best I've experienced.

I will come back to this place, but would probably book directly in the future, as there does appear to be some variation in the level of luxury amongst the units. Seeing the units is a big plus before just settling for one as in my case. Shower was weak and my unit could've used some upgrading, but as we were out of the unit every morning by 10am, it was more than adequate.

For an "extra" bedroom, ask for a unit that has a pull-down bed on the lanai...our family of 4 had more than enough room in the 1 bedroom unit.

Never used the pool or the grills...too lazy to cook. I will highly recommend calling in some food at the Honokawai Ozakuya and Deli (spelling may be off) and taking it back to your lanai for dinner with cocktails. Just a 5 minute drive away...some of the best and resonably priced food on the island (owner formerly of Mama's Fish House).

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — updating needed
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kauai06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

Maui Kai was a great condo/hotel to stay at in Maui. It is a very affordable place and gives you all you need for a wonderful vacation! We stayed there for our honeymoon in April 2005 and found our room (on the bottom floor) perfect! There is a nice sized kitchen and the main room is very clean and there is plenty of room to hang out! Our favorite thing was the wonderul patio overlooking the ocean. You are really just feet away from it and you can relax, have a drink and watch the sun go down! Not only are you located on a beautiful beach, you are just minutes away from Lahaina. If you are looking for a good, no nonsense, affordable place to stay I would definitely recommend Maui Kai!

  • Liked — ocean front!!!
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daventry, northants
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2007

Just spent our 25th anniversary/2nd honeymoon here - utterly blissful!
Fabulous location & view - very peaceful, away from the madding crowds, immaculate condo, helpful staff - what more could you wish for? (A longer stay, definately!)
Probably one of the best places to stay on Maui if you are looking for any of the above. We loved every minute.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

First stayed at MK in '86 on a trip with my mother to multiple islands, and have subsequently stayed there with my wife and daughter at least 10 times, probably more, for average of 15 nights per stay.

I spent some time reading reviews on this site and I would say they pretty much cover it all. Yes, there are some bad condos in need of renovation (and remember, this is a condo, I have no clue why they call it a "resort"... its not a resort). They will give you beach towels and when they get dirty, you march down the hall to the laundry and wash time (they are very nice towels, btw). Its not the westin or the hyatt, but I really dislike those places anyway, I gotta have a kitchen and a view.

The only way to know for absolute certainty what unit you will get is to rent directly from owner on vrbo.com and 301 (corner unit) gets great reviews, but have never stayed there myself. Some units have enclosed lanais with sliding glass doors (most all studios are enclosed) and some are not enclosed.

We have our favorite unit which is a corner unit and usually get that one just because we request it and they pretty much recognize our name.

We just returned from a stay in early to mid march, because we have never been during whale season and it is just spectacular... saw and videotaped more whales just sitting on the lanai than we did on our pacific whale foundation tour, although that was good and we did see a bunch on the tour but just hard to photo due to peoples heads being in your way. Generally we go in early to mid-june which is after whales have left. We decided we definately prefered the weather in June versus winter months. We have done everything there is to do in maui and most other islands and the main purpose of our visits are to relax, be left alone, eat, relax, snorkel, relax, and maybe have a drink or two.

We usually stock up on stuff at star market, eat breakfast and lunch in, and go out for supper... only big splurges are kimo's and lahaina
fish company, most of the rest of the time we eat fairly economically
.... The old embassy suites next door has a nice ohana bar and I do tend to spend a few dollars there in the evening. The kanapali shores
next to old embassy also has nice little bar and very good food, early bird specials, and good breakfasts...all a short walk up the beach.

The wife walks every morning on the lower road, by farmer's market, etc, and there are tons of walkers in the morning. I tend to walk down the beach to the left, past mahana (a very nice, but more expensive condo), a couple hundred yards to a horseshoe shaped stretch of beautiful beach and shade trees, and hang out there. But that beach is about to change drastically as soon as honua kai opens (www.honuakai.com)... what a shame, as I have been loving that stretch of beach for many years and is one of my favorites in all of the islands for both shade, access, and relative isolation.

Back to maui kai, I / we personally love it there and so does our 13 year old daughter who has been with us on every stay... the pool is quiet and shady, wireless internet around pool area (probably cant get it in your room but i did find some other free access with
"shaka.net" on last visit which was ok). It is not a resort... dont expect a concierge, sheets are changed every 3rd day, bathroom towels provided as needed every day. On the other side of the coin, dont expect to have to wait for a valet to bring your car everytime you want to come or go, or even have to pay a daily parking fee (some places charge like 10 bucks a day even if you are staying there.)

I hope everyone finds what they are looking for on their vacation...

  • Liked — outstanding views, great location
  • Disliked — internet access at pool only
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank bigtex999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2007

What an amazing stay! You could not ask for a better location than the Maui Kai. At night we would leave our balcony door open and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean- it was wonderful. I can't remember what room we were in but it was only one floor below the top (7th floor I think??). Our room was not spectacular, nor was it dreadful by any means. The kitchen was a huge plus, the bathroom was nice and the ceiling fan kept us cool during the day. The beaches on either side of the hotel were great, not at all crowded and decent for snorkeling. The Maui Kai is truely amazing and is the best bargain for your money in all of Maui- hands down!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Minor details... nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mikey_pollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Property: Maui Kai
Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing