We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Luau for last minute!”

Wailele Polynesian Luau
Ranked #11 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Wailele Polynesian Luau dinner show, guests will embark on an exciting journey to the Polynesian Islands where dance was considered not just as a form of entertainment, but as a means of telling stories. Recognized for providing an award-winning experience, the luau is held oceanfront at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa and features dances and songs from old and modern Hawaii, Tahiti, Fiji, New Zealand (Maori), Tonga and Samoa. Highlights include the story of Pele (Goddess of Fire), Hi'ilave Hula Awana dedicated to Wailele (meaning waterfalls) and Maui's most extreme fire knife dance finale called "Siva Afi". The unforgettable evening of fun, culture and entertainment is complemented by a traditional dinner served buffer style and selection of beverages.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Luau for last minute!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I failed to plan ahead and thought we weren't going to be able to attend a luau on our honeymoon. We waited in line a long time and finally got it! Drinks were plentiful and good (and included in the price) We didn't pay for the premium seats so we were in the back. We still had a good view of the stage. The show was pretty good. We enjoyed the humorous host and the dances from the different islands. I was hoping for a little more intense dance numbers but they were still fun to watch. The food was decent. I try not to eat much meat but did try the pork. It was tasty. The fish they served was excellent. The sweet potatoes were delicious. The only thing I was disappointed with was the pig. Thats the whole thing about a luau, the roasted pig. They completely left the part about roasting a pig in the ground out. All in all it was a good time and I would do it again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmoniqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    64
    37
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've been to many luaus, and this one is HORRIBLE!! If you don't buy the "premium seat" you will sit in the last row. The stage is very small and only has 4 dancers at a time. The dancers literally dance for 3-4 minutes and then rush off stage to change costumes and rush back to dance for a minute or so more -- repeat. We couldn't understand the MC and had to listen to him try to be funny for an hour and we couldn't understand a word he said. Food was ok. Many people ate and left during the show!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skooterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic show”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Westin and splurged for the luau on the property. The buffet was excellent, they had lots of great island cocktails, and the highlight was the fire dancers at the end!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2playtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great show!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My sister and I paid the little bit extra to get the best seats and ended up front row, center. Wow, what a view! The host was really, really funny, and the entire show was great! The food was quite good and there was a large dessert table as well. This was the second luau we have attended and turned out to be our favorite. They take your picture and you can purchase copies for around $25 I think it was. Ours turned out great so we bought them. Would recommend this luau to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Letha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Westin Maui Resort Luau”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We attended this luau last week. It was raining part of the time and there wasn't enough shelter for everyone. The staff brought towels but expected 3 of our family members to share. If you are looking for an authentic Hawaiian luau, this is not the luau you want to attend. The show was not that good. All of the dances seemed the same with different costumes. The food was not good. We spent $105 per person and it was the worst value for our money we experienced while in Maui. I would not recommend this luau.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wailele Polynesian Luau also viewed

 

Been to Wailele Polynesian Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing