We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Lahaina Luau

Old Lahaina Luau
Ranked #3 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Lahaina Luau takes great pride in presenting an authentic Hawaiian Luau. An evening of traditional Hawaiian cuisine, music, cultural dances and demonstrations. Guests will appreciate a genuine reflection of Hawaii's rich history while enjoying an ocean view and sunset.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Last year we attended the "Fest at Lele" which was awesome and neither of us could imagine toping it. We were wrong. This Luau was so different it was an entirely different experience from LeLe. The property opens early so you can have a drink and mingle. There are local vendors, you can learn to hula, take pictures, watch them dig the pig out of the ground and the food was good. It was a memorable night of Hula tradition. Remember fire dancing is not traditional to Hawaii so it was no performed but the rest of your experience will make up for it. The open bar was good, you can get anything from the tropical drinks or a traditional rum and coke. Just ask and it's not a problem. I don't think you would be disappointed if you attend the only stressful part was parking...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mechele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,019
    1,294
    417
    118
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really good (tourist) luau. PRICY.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Note: I tend to scale review dots with the price. For over $100/person, my expectations go way up. Be sure to arrive by the time they open, and take advantage of the various small attractions near the water - see how poi was originally made, learn how to hula, maybe get your picture taken by the water (extra fee to get a copy) - if you want drinks, the ones you are offered as you enter are noticeably higher quality and fancier than the ones brought to your table. Don't skip them. The food is good for buffet food, but after the big deal they made about bringing the pig out of the pit of coals, I felt a bit cheated that the pork on the buffet was obviously not from the pit. The hula dancing was good, but even in the second ring of seating it seemed a bit far away. There were at least 2 more rings further than we were (I think a partial 3rd ring as well.) Service was good - the server caught all our names on the first try.

Helpful?
Thank TomTX2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yackandandah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant! That's all we can say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Just do it! Great venue, fantastic food and drinks and the show was beautiful.
We did traditional seating and it was fantastic!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Spanna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real class act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We've been warned about lame luaus in Hawaii. This one is impressive in our opinion. This nightly event attracts a lot of people but it is very well organized and uses a large picturesque beach-side space complete with palm trees, comfortable seating, a big stage for entertainment, excellent acoustics, and first-quality staff. Before the dinner be sure to allow time to wander around viewing the underground pig oven, various artists displaying their Hawaiian works, dance lessons and more. There are multiple buffets and tables are released when assigned so there is no mob run to the food. We found a wide variety of plentiful Hawaiian food options and everything tasted delicious. This Luau includes a fresh flower lai and cocktail presented to you upon arrival, a quality stage performance, and a parting gift (we received fresh baked banana bread). An excellent entertaining evening at a good price value. When making reservations, you can select to be seated on chairs or pillows. We chose the chairs and felt more comfortable. The dining area is tiered so nearly everyone has a good view of the stage.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveCarmel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Lahaina Luau Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I did not know what to expect of mu first ever Luau but I was very impressed. We were greeted with mai tai's and lei's, led to a table with a great view of the stage (in fact all of them did) and encouraged to enjoy the evening. There were a number of activities and places to take pictures before the meal began. When they dug the pig out of the pit the aroma was tantalizing. The staff managed the flow to the buffet with practiced ease and the food was both traditional and delicious. The performance was captivating and provided a quick peek into the history of Hawai'ian culture. For around $100 US you get a great meal, excellend perfomance and endless drinks. We definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Old Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing