We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Basic Amenities, Loud, Loud, Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Basic Amenities, Loud, Loud, Loud”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I spent last Thursday and Friday night there. This quaint hotel was built in 1901 and expanded in the 1930s. Its all-wood construction is in remarkable condition given the age. The rooms are very basic, with high ceilings, tile floors, comfortable beds, spacious lanais, a window air conditioner, and small bathrooms with no counter space (only a glass shelf). The hotel has no elevator, only a tall, straight flight of stairs. I had to lug all 130 pounds of luggage up and down the stairs (dive and underwater photography gear) twice. The location is killer, being located on Front Street across from the docks. The first morning, I was awakened to 30 minutes of a vacuum truck pumping downstairs from 0530 to 0600. The next night (Friday), an adjacent bar played really, really loud music until 1:30 AM, and it took 20 minutes after that for the drunken folks to leave. So if you're looking for peace and quiet, absolutely don't stay here. If you want to party, and don't mind loud music and little sleep, the location is central.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benthichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    367
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
141
500
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Location was great. Room decor was bland. Restaurant was fantastic. Bed was comfortable. Porches were cool. Service was ok. First day the room was not cleaned, the bed was not made up, the towels were taken but not returned. No towels whatsoever. We left that morning to explore at 6am and returned at 6pm. The housekeeper was a few doors down and when I asked her what happened to our clean, fresh towels she said something about this being the only time to wash in the week???? They came back and gave me fresh towels after "cleaning" the bathroom in 4 minutes. Other than that, it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
First I want to apologize that your room wasn't cleaned and you weren't given fresh towels on the first day of your stay. It is our hotel policy to clean each room daily and our laundry is sent out to a commercial company and returned daily, so there is really no excuse for you not receiving fresh towels. Again let me apologize and tell you it is not our procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location at the harbor in Lahaina and the front desk staff were pleasant. All of the guest rooms are on the second floor. Because this is an historic hotel they are exempt from having to be ADA compliant. Therefore there is no elevator so you have to lug your suitcases up a steep flight of stairs. Our room was on the courtyard side and was clean but the furnishings were old. Bed was comfortable enough. Each room has a lanai but it's impossible to sit on it because the air conditioners are soooo noisy. Even if you don't have yours on, the neighboring air conditioners are very loud. So loud that you can not carry on a conversation. In addition there are buckets on each lanai to catch the water that drips from the air conditioners. The restaurant and bar are great however. Wonderful cocktails & Happy Hour. Breakfast was very reasonably priced and delicious.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, don't get a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We literally were steps from the door of the Best Western Pioneer Inn when we stepped off our tender boat from the Sea Princess cruise ship early on the morning of Tuesday, May 8, 2012. We knew we were too early for check-in, but had arranged with the inn in advance to drop off our luggage to be stored for a few hours until check-in time in the afternoon. My husband and I had arranged to rent a car for our overnight visit and so spent the next several hours securing our rental car and touring some areas of Maui we had not seen on our previous visit several years before. When we returned to the inn early that afternoon we were able to obtain a free parking permit from the lovely front desk clerk for our car for the city lot across the street, as well as check in to our extremely clean and well-appointed room #24 on the second floor facing the pool and lovely courtyard. We so appreciated and enjoyed the lovely lanai balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool area. Just wish we had spent more than just that one night as we also had made reservations to attend a luau and had no time to visit the downstairs restaurant. The menu was so tempting, but there was just no time to fit in a meal there as we also left in the middle of the night (before 3am) so that we could drive to view the sunrise up on Mount Haleakala. We will definitely make a return visit to stay at the Best Western Pioneer Inn as the area is so lovely and historic!

Room Tip: Our room #24 overlooking the courtyard had a lovely lanai balcony, a comfortable queen-size bed, ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary visit. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Although the room was small, there was plenty of storage space available. We loved the lanai looking down on the park. The one downfall I noted, was that there was no elevator for the 2nd level.

The restaurant attached to the hotel had great food!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SubPSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Pioneer Inn is an old property but rooms seem to have been renovated recently. It is in center of town and close to everything. AC is very loud as is everywhere in Maui so we were better off after shutting it down at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parnassus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We requested a room that offered a view of the ocean. They indicated that although they didn't have a room that had that type of view, they promised us a nice view, which we did get from our balcony.

The Pioneer Inn is the oldest Inn in the Hawaiian Island chain and it does show it's age, but that's not a bad thing. In fact, it made it kind of quaint. Our room was a fairly basic hotel room. The bed was average, as was most everything else in the room. Again, this was a good place to "start" our vacation, but I wouldn't want to spend more than a night or two there.

The thing we liked best about the Pioneer Inn was the view from our 2nd story balcony which overlooked the 2nd largest banyan tree in the world and also the marketplace and glorious mountain range. You can see the view on one of the pictures I've attached.

What we liked least about the room was the loudness of the air conditioner. My wife and I fight over air conditioning all the time, I like it cold, she likes it nearer to the temperature of the sun's core. However, when the A/C was on, it was quite loud. I sold her on it's benefits in that it drowned out the loud noise on the street below (which is true).

There is a good bit of interesting history with the Inn, which you can read on the back of the menu of their restaurant / bar on the first floor.

If you're traveling via water taxi to Lana'i, this is "the" optimal hotel to choose as it is directly across the street from the water taxi. It is also close to a great variety of shops and restaurants, so you don't need to rent a car if you're just going to be there for a day or two.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely, if the circumstances were the same. If I was on an extended vacation on Maui ... not at all. But it definitely served it's purpose well.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking the park. There are no ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing