We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pioneer Inn was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We checked into Pioneer Inn, and were greeted by the desk clerk Amber, She was very pleasent and told us everything we needed to know about our stay.She told us we could leave our car out front as long as we needed to to unpack and get settled in. Then gave us a free parking pass for the lot right around the corner .The room was very nice ,it had just been remodeled.The age of the motel ,we thought added to the charm of this place. Its located in the heart of Lahaina.It was the perfect start of our vacation. Thank you Pioneer Inn The Powells

Room Tip: You could request a harbor view ,or a soulth side room with a view of the giant banya tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePowellsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our historic Best Western. We take pride in maintaining this historic structure so that it is comfortable for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

I really enjoyed the Lanai where you can sit out and watch people cruise by on the waterfront or the Banyan tree park. Not much of a destination hotel as there is no beach, but it is a perfect place to stay if you want to spend a little time in downtown Lahaina. Right across from the marina too, so it would also be a good place if you want to go on a fishing trip while in Maui. The courtyard and pool is nice, and there's a bar/restaurant right downstairs where guests recieve discounts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picknwiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Prior to booking, I did my research and knew that it would be truly a historic hotel furnished with turn of the century decor (but with added air conditioning, wifi and tv). Be warned that this place does not have elevators so it is not suitable for wheelchair or persons with mobility issues. The flight of stairs to the second floor has to be negotiated. No worries about your luggage though, there will be someone who will haul it upstairs for you. My travel partner found the lack of counter space in the bathroom to be a small problem.

Now for the good stuff: excellent restaurant on premises. Very close to the excusion booths which are situated across the street (we booked a sailing trip and a parasailing trip all across the street). All the main shops and restaurants in Lahaina are also walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: There can be live music downstairs at night so you might need a room far from the restaurant if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel location is in the middle of everything. Although the night time is very quite. The rooms are clean but old. The pool is descent. The staff is really nice. There is a resturant but no room service.
The hotel is usually lower priced than most maui hotels but there are no frills here. If you are in a budget and want a good location stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we have stayed at many hotels while in hawaii over the years the pioneer inn has everything you would want when in the islands local food drink and night life within walking distance all kinds of actives nearby you really don't need a car transportation from airport is reasonable when in maui we will always stay at the pioneer inn

Room Tip: inside by pool for quiet street side for the sounds of lahaina it's wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you so much for always choosing our historic hotel when you visit Maui. We have always tried to provide modern amenities at a reasonable price.
Mahalo and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in Kannapali for first half of our vacation
We went tto Pioneer Inn for the second half.
We had mixed feelings at first for it being such an old hotel.
We always thought it would be a great place to stay due to it's location.
We were not disappointed.
The staff was very friendly
Restaurant staff as well
15% coupons from front desk for restaurant helped keep meal cost low for Lahaina.
Rooms well kept
We stayed in garden view rooms that were quiet given all the activities going on till late at night
Only two things were a bother
Window air conditioner was too noisy.
They should put in some european style units with remote condensers. They have room for that.
Now, Why would anyone put louvered doors to the bathroom?
No privacy during that most private time.
I didn't miss the fact of no elevator until I injured my knee but I can't blame that on the hotel
Parking was included across the street and easy to use
Proximity to wharf was great for excursions
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Maui

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet Banyon tree and Front street rooms noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kujawski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our historic hotel. Thank you for all the nice compliments and we will look into your recommendation about the air conditioning and using a separate split condenser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I was meeting up with a friend for a guys' trip to Hawai'i. So, we decided to stay in Lahaina which is the only place in Maui with a proper nightlife. The hotel room was very comfortable and clean. It had a great deck that overlooked the main street (excellent for drinking beers and watching the world go by before going out at night). The pool was nice too, and the staff was very helpful. All the restaurants and bars of Lahaina were within a 2 - 10 minute walk. Very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the main street as opposed to the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,233 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £149 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing