We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$599
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$435
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
458
401
90
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
401
90
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe banyan treeno elevatorhistoric hotelfront streetgreat locationlahaina harborattached restaurantrocking chairsair conditionercentral locationrooms are smallstreet noisewhale watchingcorner roomceiling fanmini fridgea great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very convenient for shops, restaurants as well as whale-watching and other boat trips, all within easy walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a very nice, quiet room overlooking a courtyard. Everything was clean and tidy. The bathroom was very small with little shelf space. A glass topped shelf had been installed in the bedroom, presumably to handle the problem, it helped, but the arrangement was still a bit inconvenient. The restaurant was acceptable, we ate there twice.
There was no in-room safe. You could use a narrow drawer (like a bank deposit box) at reception, but this would not take larger items like a purse or camera bag.

On the whole, the Pioneer Hotel was a good experience and we’d recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank skybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here, went to the Hyatt in Kaanapali, cancelled our reservation there and came back to the Pioneer Inn for 3 more days. It is a wonderful location next to the wharf and downtown of Lahaina. the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the restaurant and Alex the bird that sang the andy griffith song. We sailed on the Americas Cup II and went whale watching three times. The beach is close by as well. We plan to come back!!! The rooms were clean and the rate was resonable for Maui. Wonderful sunset over Lanai! Find the local grocery store a few blocks away and have fresh ahi poke that is better than the restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 17 and room 31 are good rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWPPioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at Best Western Pioneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. It helps us provide the best experience possible for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Spent 7 nights at Pioneer Inn and loved it! Everything you need within walking distance. Shopping, restaurants, and ocean right outside our door. Excellent, friendly staff, quaint decor, free parking, great place to relax, shop, and people watch. Went whale watching w/ Maui OceanRiders, which was awesome, and saw a movie on our downtime. Can't beat the price and location...lots to do:) and discount vouchers for meals...nice!

Room Tip: Pool side is the most quiet; Front St. side if you want to people watch from your balcony, but noisier.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the historical PI at Lahaina. The location was perfect right across from the harbour and near all the shops, park and restaurants. The hotel had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. They also provided discount vouchers for their restaurant which was also pretty good as well as free local calls and internet. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect start to our holiday in Hawaii. The free parking in town was a short walk.

Room Tip: Rooms near the courtyard are quieter and there are stairs but no lifts to 2nd level
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02KJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn. You can't beat the location, you're right in the middle of everything and the harbour is right in front of the hotel when you go on a snorkel excursion. The rooms were nice although a bit on the small side. But doesn't really matter too much because we were too busy with activities to really notice. Although, the bathroom has very limited counter space, just a small shelf. And we had a fridge in our room and a coffee maker. The AC unit was loud but we're heavy sleepers so didn't notice once we fell asleep. The balcony was nice to sit out on. But it's not private so you will see your neighbours sitting right next to you. Parking was just down the street and a few minutes walk back to the hotel. They even gave you beach towels which was great. We loved the fact that we could just walk everywhere. There were no elevators to the rooms and plenty of stairs. We walked for about 5 mins to get to the beach. The staff were all very helpful and friendly at the front desk. Cleaning people were not so friendly. There were no safes in the rooms they are downstairs and the front desk has a key and you have one also and it can only be opened with both keys. The safe was not too big but enough for your valuables. They give you a 15% discount at the restaurant downstairs and the food is pretty good. Parking was included and on the day we checked out they let us leave our car there until 3pm since we had an excursion in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews