We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Pioneer Inn for me was just what I needed !! The staff was great and very helpful. Perfect downtown Lahaina location I could walk to everything. And the balcony above Front street was perfect for reading and people watching in the evenings. The room had everything I wanted and needed to give me a great and relaxing vacation. There are beaches running from the marina to the south and just to the north end of Lahaina (Baby Beach) which are great for swimming. And the great part is you will not need to use the car to get to them, they both are within easy walking distance. Which is great because if you get your electronic car key wet it is very expensive to replace, leave it in your room and go swimming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    352
    74
    24
    13
See reviews for
128
468
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kamuela, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was here on business and chose the right location at Pioneer Inn. Right in the middle of Lahaina! Walking distance to anywhere, check out Spanky's Riptide Bar at 505 Front street - good food, great drinks and awesome staff. The rooms are cool, clean, comfortable and my room was right on the street with a balcony for people watching and making friends if you want! Your neighbors balcony is right next to you...:) Oh yeah, pack your suitcases lightly......no elevators here, but only two floors so just one set of stairs. Free Wi-fi, a pool, and tile floors in the white bathrooms. The AC works great and the rooms are relaxing. Loved it!! I'll come back for fun next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is very good value for the money. The location is excellent and the ambiance is surreal. Not for you if you think this is a resort. While this hotel does not have a resort like look and feel, it is really good value for your money. Granted the rooms were smallish, even oldish, but who goes to Maui, Hawaii to spend time in the room?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rmallika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent a couple of nights at this wonderful landmark sitting at the harbour front in Lahaina. Sunsets were exceptional from the neighbouring park. Restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The iconic lighthouse is a few steps away from the hotel. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Wi-Fi in the room was handy. Traditions are well maintained at this impressive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

the Pioneer in is in a magical time travel frmae.IT is the BEST best western ever ~because it is NOT a best western building.. ITs a beautiful early 1900s Hawaiin hotel right on the water across from one of the biggest Banyan trees in the world covering 2/3s of an acre. The hotel is wonderful with a Banyan court and balconies and a lovely staff and beautiful conference dinning room. wow!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cbelj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed mid-December 2012 in a Queen room. It was a perfect size & price for our first trip to Maui -- we weren't in the room much! It was a reasonable walking distance to the Old Lahaina Luau so we avoided the parking nightmare and went wild with the drinks.

Only three things that could make this hotel better: a microwave for the night we're tired of going out... And replace those louvred doors to the bathrooms with something a bit more... Solid; and some sort of screening (like tied bamboo) between room Lanai Balconies. With those three improvements, we'd never be tempted to try another property. Loved the pool, the bed, the location, and staff. The restaurant on the other hand... Didn't impress us at all.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We will take them to heart as we make improvements to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Terrific location on the main street, between two parks and next door to the museum at the Customs House. There are a few perks for staying here - discount at the on-site restaurant and free parking. Our room faced Front Street and the street starts getting busy early in the morning. Not a lot of night noise but then we did not stay over the weekend. We didn't make use of the lanai because we felt too exposed to all the passers by and to the 2nd storey bar across the road. I'd recommend a room overlooking the pool or library for privacy on the lanai.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing