We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having had a discrepancy in our airline departure date and where we had previously been staying, we needed to find a place to stay on the island for 2 days. The Pioneer Inn was very reasonably priced for the Lahaina area. From arrival to departure the staff was very professional, friendly and accommodating! Though the room was what I expected, the lanai looking out onto Front Street was a nice surprise; except for nighttime. One of the bars across the street had a very loud band both nights and it was hard to even hear a TV over the noise and most of the people you'll view are the homeless trying to make conversation with the vacationers in order to get a smoke. Now I'll say right from the start, I do not like the small coffee pots and coffee that are found in most hotels. The first morning we could not find anywhere that served coffee at 5:30 a.m. so we were very disappointed. Later that day we ran into an employee, Mark, who said to ask for him the following morning and he would gladly get us coffee - which he did (THANK YOU, MARK!!). It would have been nice if the front desk had informed us of the availability the first morning. The property included a very nice little courtyard which had a pool (no hot tub) and even a covered gazebo for us smokers. Overall it was a good experience and one I would expect for a Best Western. Just a comment for those who are disabled or have a hard time with stairs, there are no first floor rooms nor elevators.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cheryl61866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is my second visit and stay at the Pioneer Inn. As the first visit the Pioneer Inn did its job. The location was perfect, the rooms albeit small also do their job, the staff are very friendly and have no problem in going above their jobs/duties to help out. The restaurant is nice, breakfast is awesome and you get a deal if you eat there and are staying the the Pioneer Inn. Say hi to Alex the bird, he loves to chirp(no pun-intended).
There is no exercise room - I am not sure on room service - one note is there is no safe in the room as to passports / money so find a good hiding spot or carry it with you albeit I would like to trust the staff and I had no problems with any of my belongings during my two stays at the Pioneer Inn.
As much as I love the Pioneer Inn I think the price per night is a little steep and while I would have no problem in staying there again I do think the price is a little steep but it is what it is - location, Lahaina etc so I just suck it up and deal with the price but a little cheaper would be nice.
mahalo to everyone at the Pioneer Inn and hopefully see you again soon

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room ask for a room overlooking the pool area - the banyan tree view is nice - F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beds were great; AC was noisy, but we're used to sleeping with white noise; food in restaurant was delicious; location is fabulous - near shops and harbor; parking was 2-3 blocks away; bell boy helped get luggage to 2nd floor so no elevator was no problem; garden and pool were available for smoking. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda2975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The lady at the front desk her name is Anne she was soooo fantastic and accomodating she definately made my stay. The hotel is on front street where all the action is. Beautiful town! The town had a town party and it was like Mardi Gra the shopping and dinner places were exquisite. The Best Western Had the best Bloody Mary's in town so check it out you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rosella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The perfect location, in the centre and right by the harbour. The boats to Molokai and Lanai dock just across the road. Friendly and helpful service, and a good selection in the restaurant on site, very welcome when it was raining.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timb043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We loved our 4 day stay at the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina. Our room was clean and comfortable but lacked the sterile, clinical feel so often found in hotels. We really enjoyed our 2nd floor balcony that overlooked Front street. The staff were personable and friendly. It was by far our favourite hotel of the 4 we stayed in in Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JKholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I spent 4 nights in Best Western Pioneer Inn and I can say that it was perfect.
The staff is very helpful and professional. The spot is perfect to explore Lahaina and if you need to catch a bus it is just one block from the hotel. In front of the wharf to enjoy a cruise or a fishing escape. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Lots of attractions, shops and restaurants around, but not noisy for everything close very early. Beaches are walkind distance too. A very good bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sostraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £149 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing