We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
455
398
89
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
398
89
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe banyan treeno elevatorhistoric hotelfront streetgreat locationlahaina harborattached restaurantrocking chairsair conditionercentral locationrooms are smallstreet noisewhale watchingcorner roomceiling fanmini fridgea great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Why stay at a sterile resort hotel when you can stay at a wonderful historic site like the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina on Maui?? We loved our stay in the Pioneer Inn right across from the harbour. Our room on the second floor was so clean and quiet, the bed was perfect, and the feeling of being in such a historic place was terrific! I just loved it. There was so much atmosphere. We ate in the hotel restaurant several times and soaked in the decor - the whalers' harpoons, the ship figurehead, the model whaling ships, the old timey light fixtures. It was a perfect place for people who are interested in places out of the past but still like comfort. And it was right in the middle of Lahaina's Front Street, so you could go sightseeing and come back to your room with no difficulty. We'll stay there every time we visit Lahaina.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We always stay at the Pioneer Inn in Lahina. We like the location. The beds are comfortable. Have never got a back ace from their beds. We always book room 36. This is the only full corner room in the hotel with the only adjoining room 35. If you like to people watch, this is the best place. This room faces the main street in the Lahina shopping strip. It also faces the Banyon Tree Park. Whale watching tour boats are right behind the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. Only drawback if you can call this one, is there are no elevators. You only need to walk up one flight of stares for all room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Majorbeyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was the best room price we could find in Maui. Free parking and free wifi. The streets are very busy but we had an inside court room and was not noisy except for the AC. Staff are very friendly and helpful
Lots of restaurants and stores within walking distance. Boat cruises and island ferries a minute walk from the front door.
Hotel restaurant had acceptable food and was 15% off if you stayed there. Do not get the table next to parrot as can be very loud.
Recommended place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Inn is in the center of Lahaina with immediate access to the Lanai ferry as well as all the fishing, whale watching and other cruises from the dock across the road. The beach areas are further down the road.
Accommodation is fairly basic and there is no elevator to the upper floor and the a/c is noisy, but efficient. If you require help with your baggage, just ask. (Its usually offered)The Inn is steeped in history of the island and the staff are exceptionally helpful. Attached to the hotel is a bar and restaurant with Happy Hour from 3-6 pm. Alex, the bird, can be rather noisy at times but adds character to the bar. The Inn provides vouchers for 15% reduction on meals in their restaurant.
There are plenty of restaurants for all tastes and standards within walking distance. There is also a bus service which circles the town and well as another service to Kahului airport, if you don't want to pay the $80 taxi fare. Hotel parking is in a public park a block away, provided free by the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having had a discrepancy in our airline departure date and where we had previously been staying, we needed to find a place to stay on the island for 2 days. The Pioneer Inn was very reasonably priced for the Lahaina area. From arrival to departure the staff was very professional, friendly and accommodating! Though the room was what I expected, the lanai looking out onto Front Street was a nice surprise; except for nighttime. One of the bars across the street had a very loud band both nights and it was hard to even hear a TV over the noise and most of the people you'll view are the homeless trying to make conversation with the vacationers in order to get a smoke. Now I'll say right from the start, I do not like the small coffee pots and coffee that are found in most hotels. The first morning we could not find anywhere that served coffee at 5:30 a.m. so we were very disappointed. Later that day we ran into an employee, Mark, who said to ask for him the following morning and he would gladly get us coffee - which he did (THANK YOU, MARK!!). It would have been nice if the front desk had informed us of the availability the first morning. The property included a very nice little courtyard which had a pool (no hot tub) and even a covered gazebo for us smokers. Overall it was a good experience and one I would expect for a Best Western. Just a comment for those who are disabled or have a hard time with stairs, there are no first floor rooms nor elevators.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews