We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience on Maui”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great place to stay in Maui. Lots of tradition and good service. Lahaina is a great little town from which to travel to other parts of Maui. Restaurant has very good food and service. The local entertainment as excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WmGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    366
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
139
500
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was surprised how nice this hotel was. For a 2 star, it's a good deal. Being in the heart of Lahania where a lot of action is, it was decent and quite. The beds were comfy & clean. The only down side, we stayed in a room with twin beds that only had the flat sheets and did not have filled sheets on the bed. If you go to the lounge, you should try the happy hour. It's a good deal and very fun to people watch. There were a lot of locals there too. That to me, is a good sign.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 762kristac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Best Western Pioneer Inn in Lahaina, Maui (built in 1901) is situated at the busy little harbour in Lahaina. Over breakfast you can people watch as they head out on fishing trips and whale watching excursions. The hotel is over 100 years old, so don't expect the Hilton in terms of facilities (other reviewers have commented that there are no elevators, but it's only one flight of stairs and we were offered assistance with our luggage when we arrived). What it does give you is a quaint, two storey building of character, a stone's throw from the harbour, the Pacific Ocean, the busy little town and it is across the road from the famous banyan tree, which covers a huge area and is a great place to cool off with an ice cream.

Our room is on the courtyard side of the hotel, overlooking the pool, and has a lanai (a balcony), where I'm writing this review, having been here five days (another five to go). The balcony runs around the building and is divided such that each room has its own seating area with a table and chairs. The lanai provides a shady area to relax after a hard day's enjoying yourself. The rooms have air conditioning but, as the building is so old and no provision was made for it when they built the Pioneer Inn all that time ago (refrigeration was a new concept back then, so you can't expect it in such an old and historic building), it is of the type where the unit is mounted through the exterior wall. This does mean that you can cool your room down, but there is a downside in that the noise of the air conditioning unit intrudes on the balcony - however, you can't expect everything in such an old building.

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly, helpful and fun - as well as being efficient. We had many a chat on our way out and on the way back in.

The Pioneer Inn's breakfasts are a great way to start the day - you probably won't need to eat again until the evening!

My wife and I are having a great time here. It's our fourth visit to Maui but the first time we've stayed in Lahaina itself. We've looked at the Pioneer Inn on previous trips and thought it would be nice to stay here. Now that we have, we're really glad we did.

Room Tip: The courtyard side is very peaceful (apart from the unavoidable a/c units - see the review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great old style hotel, located in the center of Lahina Maui. Walk to shops, restaurants, and shows. Great place for a staycation. Mother, daughters, one from Chicago, one from Haiku, Maui had a wonderful time. We go once a year. The only slight problem is to get to your rooms, 19 steps, mom is 92 and had no problem, but she'd only do it twice a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 709teresab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The Pioneer Inn is an iconic hotel in the centre of Lahaina.

Stayed there for 11 night whilst attending a wedding on the island. We far preferred the relaxed charm of this hotel to the big hotels further up the coast.

Lovely staff who always stopped for a chat. Huge breakfasts. Close to everything in Lahaina old town.

The room was OK, bed very comfortable.

If you are visiting for any length of time I recommend hiring a car (free parking). Maui is not quite set up for a car free holiday and we found you needed to drive or hire expensive taxis. Car free for a short stay is fine, since there is lots to do in Lahaina and a beach quite close.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oroville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

want to enjoy the simple life style of lahana.go fishing suba or take a day trip along the coast line. the pioneer inn provides simple lodgeing close to shopping.and good eats right next to the docks. the side walks roll up early so a good nites sleep in this sleepy village leaves you refreshed for the day in the sun

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Have been staying at the Pioneer Inn for many years now....one night before we head to our condo. Love the location - beautiful sunsets - right at the harbor. Rooms have balconies - some overlooking the lovely Banyon Tree. Sit on the lanai and listen to the sounds of Front Street which includes live music. Rooms are very comfortable - quiet at night. All have AC. Offer a discount in the restaurant to patrons.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomHumpback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
18.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,123 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer Inn

Property: Best Western Pioneer Inn
Address: 658 Wharf St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
Best Western Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing