We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice affordable option near Lahaina/Kaanapali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice affordable option near Lahaina/Kaanapali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Overall, Hale Kai offered a good place to set up camp and branch out to nearby locations. It is not fancy or located among the high profile tourist hotels, but it suited our needs well. It is within 10-15 minutes driving time of many of the really nice beaches (DT Fleming is a must!). It is within walking distance of a nice long boardwalk that connects many Kaanapali beaches and hotels. There is a great Farmers Market on M,W,F just across the street, as well an an organic deli that is open daily. A 10 minute walk (or <5 min drive) takes you to a great grocery store (Times Super Market) that has seafood, fresh fruit/vegetables and all other food supplies. We had a condo on the second floor facing the county park. For the most part, the park was quiet and visitors were appropriate. The beach itself has a lot of corral but is still nice. We saw sea turtles and humpback whales daily from the pool area. The condo was clean and worked well for us. If you are on a budget and can't afford the more expensive hotels/condos, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    23
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the most perfect place and spot near it all. There's a Ocen front view a small walk to town and really great people around ,I highly recommend this Hot spot ....
Everyone needs to at least see this spot Wow!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graybarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Hale Kai was recommended by a friend. It's a very small (39 rooms I believe) condo. Amazing view. Whale watching. Turtles galore. Farmers market across the street. Private parking lot. This is a very quiet place to stay. Only had 3 kids in the pool for about 2 1/2 of the 10 days we were there. We will def go back on our next trip to Maui!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

My family spent the 6 nights before Christmas in 118. The condo is was clean and well stocked. We ate most of our lunches and dinners out but it was great to be to have breakfasts/snacks in the condo. This is not a luxury resort. What makes this place nice (aside from reasonable nightly rates) is that you are so close to ocean. My seven year old loved the small beach to the right of our condo. The view was great and we did see some turtles swimming right in front of Hale Kai. It's also only 10 minutes from Lahaina. They also have a nice pool but it wasn't heated, at least not while we were there. I opted to get housekeeping one day mid-stay to get fresh linens etc., but you can get fresh beach towels at the front office when you want. Valerie, the manager was very friendly. There's a nice coffee shop and farmer's market across the street. We had a great vacation and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TV1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswell, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was our belated "Honeymoon' and my husband's first trip to Maui. We were first struck by how welcoming # 107 was, as we walked through the front door and onto the lanai with the ocean exactly as described, less than 30 paces.

We found everything we needed - the bedroom was very restful and accommodating. The bathroom was stunning with the shower screen and it's turtle design. The living area and kitchen were comfortable and not cluttered. We loved the furnishings with the Hawaiian theme, especially the coffee table with the pineapple legs.

We appreciated the earlier reviews on 107 on trip advisor as they were very accurate. The unit description and photos were not misleading in any way - in fact a bit understated. We enjoyed every day looking across to the ocean and laying out by the pool deck enjoyin the amazing views. The turtles close by the shore line were so close to watch and snorkel beside. A great BBQ are overlooking the ocean and island in the distance - wonderful.

Another great feature was having a manager on site in the office, to ask any questions we had (unlike some places with off-site managers) and Valerie was very helpful. The residents and other guests were friendly and we enjoyed many sunsets lounging around the pool.

Twelve days, a wonderful 'Honeymoon', thanks for the beautiful flowers and we look forward to coming back to 107.

Room Tip: Great location, restful bedroom and cool trade winds - what more could you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have been coming to the Hale Kai since I was 10 years old with my family, and now I am bringing my own kids and it seems like time has frozen in place. Its just how I remember it, which is a great thing. Friendly staff, guests, and residents make you feel at home. Perfect location on the beach, and right across the street from a farmers market. Supermarket and restaurants are just up the road. We booked room 204 through Chasen' Rainbows, and the rate was significantly less than booking direct through the Hale Kai. Our room was slightly dated, as it looked like it did in the 70's and 80's. But everything was spotlessly clean and functional. Our room overlooked the ocean and park, and we ate all our meals on the lanai. Sea turtles were constantly in view from our room, and we could run to the beach and get a closer look easily. Great stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinDad909799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in #107 for 5 nights at the start of our vacation in September. We chose 107 from the reviews on this site and were not disappointed. Upon arrival, we were presented with a helpful book filled with greetings, instructions and information about the condo and the area, and with macadamia chocolates – yum.

It is a lovely condo, just the right size for a couple, next to a small park, and just steps from the ocean. The kitchen is fully equipped and the décor is simple and lovely. It had everything we required, including a large-screen TV and WiFi. The fans and louvers kept the fresh air moving and brought us the sounds of the ocean. The California king-sized bed was very comfortable; I loved the pillows. I especially loved the shower, which has an etched glass enclosure of a sea turtle and tropical fish.

We had our morning coffee and breakfast on the lanai watching the birds in the trees and the waves in the ocean. There is a farmers market and coffee house across the street and local shopping within walking distance, including the best fish tacos we have ever had. The fresh fruit stand offers coconuts, apple bananas, and all kinds of tropical fruits. We are now officially spoiled and may never eat another Eastern banana.

Valerie, the manager, was very helpful and nice. There is free parking on-site. The sunsets are amazing; and there are rainbows. The location is central to everything we wanted to see and do on the West side of the island. We could not have asked for better. Thank you for sharing your paradise with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 3691 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-4300
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai means "Home by the Sea" in Hawaiian, and we are well named since we're located right on the West Maui coastline where we feature scenic views of Lānaʻi and Molokaʻi directly offshore. Conveniently situated midway between the Ka'anapali and Kapalua resort areas, we're just a 10-15 minute drive from most any West Maui attraction. We are located in real community with a local park, a thrice weekly Farmers' Market, and numerous, reasonably priced stores and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. Come stay with us and know what it is to have lived Hawaii instead of merely visited there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing