We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is amazing. It is worth the extra dollars to get the beachfront properties. Problem is the noise and having to be quiet. We had a family below us who were playing charades at night. I could hear the whole thing. So it's not really a romantic atmosphere. I think this might be why there are no televisions in the room, there would be plenty of noise complaints!

However, despite the noise, the hotel had great atmosphere and the most pleasant staff. There are also wonderful tempurpedic beds. For the most part, when you are this close to a beautiful beach why would you stay in?! I only had to stay in because I sprained my ankle. Otherwise I probably wouldn't have even noticed the noise!

Room Tip: Book the ocean view. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinkholedemayo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Was last here in 1974. Remembered the low key but festive vibe. The absolutely beautiful uncrowded beach 10 yards from the property (Molokai to the right and Lanai to the left). It's a bit like a very small village. Have worked for Westin Hotels and Resorts which have wonderful properties including on Mauii. But if you want a get away for the family or just with the better half you will be hard pressed to improve on this. Have already reserved for next Spring. Like Poipu, Kona and have lived on Oahu but this is it.

Room Tip: Probably would chose to be on the second level and to the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tacomaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A great boutique hotel. Clean, quite and comfortable. Wonderful service and friendly people. My one complaint was that it was a bit stuffy and hot. Thankfully it cooled down in the evening so sleeping was not a problem.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The fantastic location on Napili Bay can't be beat. The grounds are lush and well-kept. There's a small but nice pool available. The rooms have been tastefully redone. What you see on the website is what you get. The biggest drawback is that the walls are very thin. You can hear everything that's being said in the room next door. Our family of five rented two rooms right next to each other. I could hear my husband reading to my kids in the next room (and he was trying to be quiet). Now if they weren't mine, I think I'd be a bit irritated. We were on the ground floor and although the noise from above wasn't too bad, I could hear the conversations from upstairs while I was in the kitchen. Luckily our upstairs neighbors were very considerate and were quiet when it was time to sleep.

This is a low key resort and if you were expecting a luxury experience, that's not whats on offer. There's a lot of families with kids and older couples. For a family of five, I think this is a bit too pricey since you have to rent two rooms. You can find cheaper and more spacious places on Napili Bay. It's fine for a couple or a smaller family (ofcourse, there's still the noise issue).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I love the Mauian. I have been staying there for 25 years and I live here! I love to enjoy a family holiday weekend, renting a couple of rooms or just get away with my husband, no phones or tv, halleluia.
The grounds are relaxing and beautiful with lush tropical gardens and a quiet, restful pool. The ocean facing rooms have a spectacular view and I love the covered Lanais (porches)

The nicest people stay at the Mauian and I love chatting with them in the breakfast bar or at sunset, on the beach benches where everyone gathers.

Napili Bay is my favorite beach in the world, for swimming, snorkeling or body boarding or a midnight stroll. Its great to have the Seahouse restaurant and the gazebo restaurant in easy strolling distance.

I am lucky to have to only drive across the island for a delightful vacation at the Mauian but I would fly halfway across the world to stay there.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms facing the ocean are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayesha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This beachside "resort" is a perfect place to enjoy a simple get away. We relaxed by the bay with a book and bar-b-qued every night in the courtyard. Simple included breakfast bar provided. The rooms were without air conditioning but there was a nice breeze that was able to flow through the rooms with slatted windows on the front and back. perfect eating for no frills trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennyMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a relaxing place to stay. No TV or phone but they do have free wifi! Breakfast in the morning was sufficient; however, could have had more variety for guests that stayed a week. We had a corner second floor room and loved to sit out on the patio and enjoy the waves! Would definitly stay here again if visiting Maui! Was away from high tourist areas with plenty of very good food a short drive or walk away!

Room Tip: The two buildings closer to the water have the best views! If staying in the north building you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
23.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Address: 5441 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9050
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £183 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches on Napili Bay, this hotel offers a peaceful escape with a variety of activities and friendly services. The Mauian Hotel features quiet guestrooms without phones, stereos or TVs. For technological amenities, guests can visit the Ohana Room to watch TV or use free wireless internet access. In the morning, guests will enjoy a free continental breakfast, then can play on one of the oceanfront shuffleboard courts. Championship golf and tennis is available at the adjacent Kapalua Resort. The area surrounding the Mauian is also filled with hiking, water sports and shopping opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauian Hotel
The Mauian Hotel On Napili Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing