We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked this hotel through a Living Social deal. The hotel is excellent, the staff is very friendly. We were very pleased with our room which was a Studio with Ocean View. It was great to wake up to the sound of the ocean and the view or just have a short walk to the beach. We also saw some turtles in the water close to the rocks.
Car Parking was free which can be limited depending on the time of the day as its also shared with people who visit the Restaurant on site. Only complain is poor wifi in room, it sometimes worked and had to go to lobby area for good wifi reception. Our overall experience was great and we shall be back on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattralG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    184
    49
    18
    18
See reviews for
240
431
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a couple years ago in a studio on the Lani 2 building and came back for a week in early October to celebrate our anniversary. We booked our most recent stay via their website, but went for a flight and car package which ended up being on Expedia. The intention was to stay in a studio again, but we booked the "hotel room" by mistake, and then could not make changes over the phone or online. I read many reviews from guests who insisted on being upgraded to Puna Point, but decided to find out what it was like to stay in one of the older areas and did not request an upgrade. The rooms in the Aloha bldg were being renovated during our visit. We stayed in the Keaka 1 bldg overlooking the large putting green and had a view of the pool and ocean from the lanai. The room was large and had wireless internet access, a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, coffee pot, table with chairs and a sofa. The bathroom had two sinks, a spa tub and a great strong hot shower. We got some mildew growing high up in the otherwise spotless shower a few days into our stay, so I called housekeeping and while we were out having fun they took care of the problem. We had air conditioning but only used it late afternoon a couple times due to an unusual weather pattern keeping trade winds away. Normally we opened the windows and had good air circulation or used the ceiling fan. So anyway, there we were in one of the least expensive accomodations they have, and we were treated like royalty during our entire visit. The front desk staff were very friendly and good at dealing with exhausted travelers. The maids always smiled and greeted us warmly. The Sea House restaurant created a special dessert for our anniversary dinner, and the staff at the beach hut were great at preparing snacks and drinks. The grounds are very well maintained with lush tropical plants and beautiful palm trees. We looked around and decided Kaanapali also has a great beach but it's very crowded and busy feeling. The beach at Napili Bay has a steep shoreline, so not fabulous for romantic strolls, but everyone just has fun at this beach. It's very family friendly, and all the children were well behaved. All ages from seniors to babies seem happier at Napili Kai Beach Resort. Next time we visit we will be careful to select a studio so we will have a kitchen but really won't worry about which building or about air conditioning. This beautiful low key resort provides for a very relaxing island stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TripwBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Good luck on this one. I tried booking a renovated room - like pulling teeth. At first they refused to guarantee a renovated room. Why pay for an unknown? Why run the risk of getting a tired old room. Then they finally relented. I then attempted to get them to cough up the info on their specials - they certainly wouldn't volunteer this even though it's posted on their web page. Buyer beware.... I ended up going elsewhere to a resort that was much more accommodating and straight forward. Who needs the brain damage?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

When booking our recent trip to Maui I told my husband not to book a Las Vegas style hotel. I wanted a hotel with Old Hawaii feel. Boy did we win the lottery. I can't say enough about this property. We stayed in the new building Puna 2. Wow granite counter tops, stainless appliances, spacious bathroom and the best ocean view with big relaxing balcony chairs and your glass doors fold all the way back so you can open the room wide. The Sea House the best happy hour on the island and dinner too. Rosita was in charge of our room and did a superb job. All the hotel staff made us feel at home. Loved the resident Cat's. We loved seeing them great us by our room every night and morning.
A big shout out to Kimberly and Melissa for all your hospitality is #1. Loved the Mai Tai get together and you get to meet all the hotel staff.

Room Tip: ask for puna 2 or puna point
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

I struggled whether to write this positive review on TripAdvisor, due my own selfish desire not to attract too many people to this gem. Then, I realized that I'm not Oprah, and therefore don't carry too much sway with the general population of America.

Napili Kai is sitting smack-dab on top of a beautiful bay, naturally sheltered from the currents and swells. Great for snorkeling, paddle boarding, and general beach fun.

The restaurant is pretty good, definitely grab a couple pork tacos...best I've had in a while. Rent some snorkeling gear from one of the shops within walking distance, and take in the pretty fishes and sea turtles 50 yards off the beach...nice!

If you can swing it, and looking for a relaxed atmosphere for a family vacation, this is the place to stay in or around Lahaina.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went in the off season so I don't know what it's like other times of year, but our experience was PERFECT. We got an oceanview room and requested one of the renovated rooms in Puna 2, which we got. The room was perfect - all the newest amenities. The view of Napili Bay was sublime. We loved going down to the pool below and walking the path to the beach. Napili Bay feels private. It was never crowded, and we snorkeled every day. We went to the Sheraton to check out Black Rock on our last day, and I was stunned at the stark contrast to Napili Kai - it was completely overrun with people. You couldn't snorkel without running into someone. The decor at Napili Kai is much more authentic and relaxed compared to those resorts also. It is very romantic and peaceful. The staff was so nice and helpful. Plus the Sea House restaurant is delicious and has an excellent happy hour. We went almost every day for a meal. I would never consider staying elsewhere for when I return to Maui.

Room Tip: Request Puna 2 or other renovated rooms. Garden view seemed nice enough if you want to save some mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

i like this hotel. i had a lot of fun in the pool the food was good
look out for the jelley fish on the beach
they cant sting you
dont go to far in the water beacose the undercurrents can pull you away
most of the people we ment was friendly

Room Tip: Dont drink the water in the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elvismikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing