We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Napili Kai resort for 12 days and it felt like home!

When we booked our vacation we were looking at some of the big name hotels but decided to go with this resort and it was perfect for us! I will have to admit though, if you are one who likes to get pampered and want everything new and shiny, this isn't the hotel for you as it is on the older side.

What we loved about this resort is that it is further away from the chaos and located on a small beach that is only shared with a few resorts. It feels more like home than staying in a crowded hotel and that was really nice for us as we chose Maui to get away from our hectic lifestyle. We actually went to a restaurant at one of the "big name hotels we were looking at" and while it was grand and beautiful, there was also SO MUCH GOING ON! It was like being in a Vegas hotel.

The staff was wonderfully friendly. The sunsets were GORGEOUS every single night and the rooms all had wonderful views. since these are more like cabana style rooms, they are almost all close enough to the ocean to hear the waves crashing at night.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed ourselves! Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Definitely get an Oceanview/oceanfront room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Quynh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Was a last minute booking so we had a room without Air Con: luckily the weather was still cool during the evenings in March otherwise it may have been uncomfortable. The room and hotel areas were clean and well kept (including the daily maid service). The room (studio) was very spacious, had a pleasant balcony and a comfortable bed. The staff were all friendly. The restaurant 'Sea Horse' has a good 'happy hour', and the beach is gorgeous. Great place to relax, and for water activities. You really feel like you are on Maui when you are at Napili Kai. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you want to get away from the crowds and relax in a beautiful location, this is the place. Many days I felt as though I had my own private pool. Beach is great, right across the street from the tennis club, the ritz Carlton, and the bay golf course. Very few children, an older crowd with money stays here. No night life but after swimming, snorkling, surfing, and golfing all day, you will be too tired for nightlife. I already want to go back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank SusanABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

PROs:
The best part about this resort is that the beach is a 1-2 min walk from every room.
And the beach is beautiful.
The staff - helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean.
The restaurant (Sea House) is very good, prices are appropriate for Hawaii (everything is more expensive in HI).
Can use masks and fins at beach for free.
Great coastal walking trail from Napili Kai up to Kapalua and the Ritz.
No charge for parking (some resorts charge $250$30 a day)

CONS:
We could hear conversation in the room next door. If there is a loud family next door, you are in trouble.
The "ocean view" room was more of a "putting green/garden view room". We could see the ocean in the distance, but it was really a garden view.
The decor/furnishings in the rooms is updated, but the bathrooms seem like 1980s.
Pool is fine for little kids but the middle school/teenagers will be disappointed.
The free coffee in the lobby ends at 8am. (and it wasn't very good)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bstcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked the Ocean View Studio on this trip (Lani 2); we wanted a better view with a renovated room over the Garden view (Keaka) room we had threee years ago. Problem upon check-in was that we were told there were no air-conditioned rooms available in Lani 2. We were then offered 3 choices: stay in Lani 2, move to Keaka at a lower cost (with air, but not renovated and with a garden view), or upgrade to Puna 2 (with air, ocean view, completely updraded, and with a fully equipped kitchenette) - with of course a higher price. My advice when making your booking is to study the website map, study the amenities offered in each room, and understand your cost vrs. amenities limits. Then book by phone to get assurances on your choices. This all being said, we love this resort. We took the Puna 2 option- although pricier, the views and amenities of this room more than met our needs for the seven day stay. The resort offers an excellent beach, one of the best views on the island, solitude, good service, and pure relaxation. Watch the whales and sunset from your lanai. For those inclinded there is great snorkling. There is even a putting green course. There are some great restaurants nearby, and a local supermarket that will meet your needs. A minor issue with coffee; rooms have a large coffee maker; which doesn't work well if there is only one coffee drinker in the family. The lobby offers free coffee & tea in the morning, but for some reason they put it away at 8AM. The resort has a nice gift shop and restaurant.

Room Tip: Inquire about air conditioning,views, and which rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We usually stay in Wailea on Maui but decided to bring the kids to Napili this time. This resort was really nice and perfect for a family vacation. We had a one-bedroom oceanfront room and it was really nice, had updated features and was very roomy for our family of four. The lanai was the best part and we spent most of our time there looking out on the water and watching the sunsets. The beach was great for body surfing and snorkeling. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping was very nice and we loved that the resort had an authentic Hawaiian feel as opposed to a big, sterile hotel feel. Also, really liked that there's a laundry room available in the bottom of our building. All in all, Napili Kai was a perfect resort to spend our family vacation at and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhagen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our second time staying at this resort. Last time we stayed in Punta Point and this time we stayed in Puna II. We absolutely love this resort! Where can ykou stay and snorkle in your own bay and see beautiful fish and turtles, and then sit on your lanai and watch the whales jump? The room was gorgeous and very clean. We hope we can come again real soon!

Room Tip: Punta Point or Puna II
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belmarOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,329 reviews
4 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £261 - £627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing