We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice slice of quiet, old Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice slice of quiet, old Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location north of Lahaina. You're close enough to the action, but away from the crowds and traffic. The white sand beach here is wonderful. The resort is a gem...revealing the quieter, slower pace of Hawaii. Rooms are a bit dated, but I didn't mind as I woke up to a phenomenal ocean view every morning. The staff is very friendly and helpful here as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_rap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    182
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
236
425
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff were always welcoming and friendly. There was construction above our room on the third day so they upgraded us without any question. We got great room right off Napili beach. There were whales jumping, perfect sunsets every night and 2 minute walk to Kapalua beach (one of the best beaches in the world according to Conde Nast!).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenjj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Napili Kai resort for 12 days and it felt like home!

When we booked our vacation we were looking at some of the big name hotels but decided to go with this resort and it was perfect for us! I will have to admit though, if you are one who likes to get pampered and want everything new and shiny, this isn't the hotel for you as it is on the older side.

What we loved about this resort is that it is further away from the chaos and located on a small beach that is only shared with a few resorts. It feels more like home than staying in a crowded hotel and that was really nice for us as we chose Maui to get away from our hectic lifestyle. We actually went to a restaurant at one of the "big name hotels we were looking at" and while it was grand and beautiful, there was also SO MUCH GOING ON! It was like being in a Vegas hotel.

The staff was wonderfully friendly. The sunsets were GORGEOUS every single night and the rooms all had wonderful views. since these are more like cabana style rooms, they are almost all close enough to the ocean to hear the waves crashing at night.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed ourselves! Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Definitely get an Oceanview/oceanfront room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quynh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Was a last minute booking so we had a room without Air Con: luckily the weather was still cool during the evenings in March otherwise it may have been uncomfortable. The room and hotel areas were clean and well kept (including the daily maid service). The room (studio) was very spacious, had a pleasant balcony and a comfortable bed. The staff were all friendly. The restaurant 'Sea Horse' has a good 'happy hour', and the beach is gorgeous. Great place to relax, and for water activities. You really feel like you are on Maui when you are at Napili Kai. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

If you want to get away from the crowds and relax in a beautiful location, this is the place. Many days I felt as though I had my own private pool. Beach is great, right across the street from the tennis club, the ritz Carlton, and the bay golf course. Very few children, an older crowd with money stays here. No night life but after swimming, snorkling, surfing, and golfing all day, you will be too tired for nightlife. I already want to go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

PROs:
The best part about this resort is that the beach is a 1-2 min walk from every room.
And the beach is beautiful.
The staff - helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean.
The restaurant (Sea House) is very good, prices are appropriate for Hawaii (everything is more expensive in HI).
Can use masks and fins at beach for free.
Great coastal walking trail from Napili Kai up to Kapalua and the Ritz.
No charge for parking (some resorts charge $250$30 a day)

CONS:
We could hear conversation in the room next door. If there is a loud family next door, you are in trouble.
The "ocean view" room was more of a "putting green/garden view room". We could see the ocean in the distance, but it was really a garden view.
The decor/furnishings in the rooms is updated, but the bathrooms seem like 1980s.
Pool is fine for little kids but the middle school/teenagers will be disappointed.
The free coffee in the lobby ends at 8am. (and it wasn't very good)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bstcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked the Ocean View Studio on this trip (Lani 2); we wanted a better view with a renovated room over the Garden view (Keaka) room we had threee years ago. Problem upon check-in was that we were told there were no air-conditioned rooms available in Lani 2. We were then offered 3 choices: stay in Lani 2, move to Keaka at a lower cost (with air, but not renovated and with a garden view), or upgrade to Puna 2 (with air, ocean view, completely updraded, and with a fully equipped kitchenette) - with of course a higher price. My advice when making your booking is to study the website map, study the amenities offered in each room, and understand your cost vrs. amenities limits. Then book by phone to get assurances on your choices. This all being said, we love this resort. We took the Puna 2 option- although pricier, the views and amenities of this room more than met our needs for the seven day stay. The resort offers an excellent beach, one of the best views on the island, solitude, good service, and pure relaxation. Watch the whales and sunset from your lanai. For those inclinded there is great snorkling. There is even a putting green course. There are some great restaurants nearby, and a local supermarket that will meet your needs. A minor issue with coffee; rooms have a large coffee maker; which doesn't work well if there is only one coffee drinker in the family. The lobby offers free coffee & tea in the morning, but for some reason they put it away at 8AM. The resort has a nice gift shop and restaurant.

Room Tip: Inquire about air conditioning,views, and which rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing