We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom Ocean Front Condo. The view was out of this world, but if you want to be closer to the bathing beach, you may wish to choose an ocean view room. The rooms are well maintained and cleaning service is available on a daily basis (they do not clean your kitchen area). The snorkeling at the beach is great and it is a wonderful resort for families with children. My 7 year old daughter loved the beach (calm surf), the putting greens and the snorkeling. The resort has snorkeling gear, but I would recommend going to Snorkel Bob's ( they also have boogie boards for rent).The Napili Kai Market is a short drive (less than 5 minutes) and was a frequent stop for food and beverages. There is also a restaurant and snack bar located on the grounds. I have no hesitations in recommending this resort.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Bapdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    179
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
228
416
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

Terrific place! Avoid the large chain hotels in Kaanapoli Bay and come here instead and discover the real Maui experience. Nice clean suites in two story buildings with views overlooking the most tranquil bay in Maui. Warm friendly staff with morning coffee service in the lobby, traditional 10:00am pineapple and lemonade, anbd weekly Mai Tai cocktail parties. Excellent restaurant where you can enjoy fine dining and watch the sunset over the bay. You won't find cruise ships, motor boats in the bay (it is forbidden) so don't come here to for luxuries pampering. However, if you love nature, and want to discover the natural beauty of Maui, this is your place. We stopped by the Sheraton black rock for snorkeling, and this place has it beat hands down. Saw the Hyatt, and couldn't wait to escape the wall to wall masses of people crammed around the pool and narrow beach.

  • Liked — Great setting
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank familyoffour50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

My wife and son and I met my parents here for a late Feb early March trip. I've been to Napili Kai twice before but several years ago. I was very happy to find the property exactly as I remember it, wonderfully taken care of and a perfect beach to relax on or snorkel.

The staff are all very friendly and very accomodating to all our requests. The food at the Sea House was good although the drinks were not very good with one exception - the Mai Tais are absolutely fantastic! Definitely one of my favorite parts of this hotel is the fact that every morning around 10:00 they have fresh cut up pineapple (and juice and coffee but i only had the pineapple) under a tent by the beach, they also demonstrate making crafts and typically give one or several items away with a drawing. My only complaint would be that it seems like the prices are starting to get too high, but that can be said about any place.

The snorkeling was perfect except the last couple days where the winds shifted and the water was just too choppy for snorkeling. The rest of the days I went out and saw jumping dolphins, several sea turtles, and tons of fish.

  • Liked — Fresh pineapple on the beach in between snorkeling
  • Disliked — Drinks at the Sea House
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clearh20snorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

What a wonderful week! I needed a week away from a very stressful job so our travel agent recommended Napili Kai. I'm not a Hawaii girl (prefer laid back Mexico) and generally don't repeat vacation destinations but I'm sold on this spot and will return again. Why? It was the perfect balance of relaxation and activity. I love to run, swim, etc and the beach allows for running (although not a long distance) and swimming- I swam the bay every morning. It's also close to Kapalua which offers great walking/running. The condos were perfectly appointed with all you would need to cook. The Lanai has a great view of the ocean and the restaurant was excellent.
There is an 18 hole putting green which my husband and I frequented, shuffle board, and the hotel does a great job of doing a couple of mixers throughout the week. We don't have kids and tend to stay away from the water slide madness- I have to say there was a nice mix but we were glad to depart the day school got out. The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the beach wonderful, and a fantastic spot.

  • Liked — Everything I needed was there
  • Disliked — Bed was a little on the hard side
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Soggy_Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

We have been going there for 30 years. we have traveled all over the golbe. Nothing beats the napili kai for warmth and kindness
from all the employes. you just unwind in the unhurried way of life. If you have kids and need time away from them, they have poeple to take them on the beach or a movie.
All of our friends how we have recommened the hotel to have also come back many times. We go at the same time each year.
Our children have made frieds of the families that come at the
same time each year. Now there children have made new friends too.
This is just like going to heaven. The bay has very little wave so swimming is easy.
This year a pod of dolphine came into the bay and stay all day just swimming around all of us.
Happy vacationer from Los Angeles

  • Liked — the relaxing time
  • Disliked — could not stay longer
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank happyvacationer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We just came back from a week at the Napili Kai Beach Resort and are already dreaming of our next trip there.

We stayed in an oceanfront 1-bdrm condo in the Puna Point building and found it perfect for us. It's the building the furthest from Napili Beach and the restaurant... but that means about a 30-second walk. We were also literally just a few steps from Kapalua Beach so it was nice to have both beaches so close.

The grounds are beautiful, the staff very pleasant, the food at the Sea House restaurant excellent for both breakfast and lunch, and the beach and surf fun. As others have said, it was great that they don't "nickle and dime" guests. We felt it was a good value. We purchased a package through Pleasant Holidays.

The relative remoteness of the area is either a plus or a minus. It definitely is remote from the east side of the Island (we didn't even bother trying to do the Road to Hana or Haleakala because it would have been too much driving), but we found it delightful because the beach was quiet -- not a madhouse like Kaanapali area. Kaanapali is only about a 10-12 minute drive south... but good luck finding parking down there. We barely left the resort the whole week because we had almost everything we needed there: restaurant, BBQ grill, 2 great beaches, 4 pools, snorkeling, bodysurfing...

About the only thing I would do differently next time is to spring the $20 or so to rent snorkeling gear at Snorkel Bob's for the week (conveniently located just down the street). Though the resort gives out free snorkel masks and tubes (not fins though), it was an exercise in frustration because most of the time they either weren't giving them out because of perceived high surf or, on the days they were giving them out, there weren't enough to go around so I ended up renting from Snorkel Bob's anyway.

We definitely hope to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sfresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

We are from Melbourne, Australia and as a family of 4 with two kids aged 7 and 10, we stayed at the Napili Kai Beach Resort in March for 9 nights and had a great time. It is a mid size established resort in a great location with fantastic large rooms in all types of configurations. Check their website for configuration diagrams. We stayed in the Puna II oceanfront area and had two interconnecting rooms both with their own bathrooms and T.V.'s. etc. The main room also had a decent kitchenette, which even though the bench tops and cupboards were a bit dated it was in very good condition and very clean. I noticed that in some of the other units the kitchens looked very new so some have obviously been renovated. The rooms were well serviced and very clean.

Our room had a large lanaii (balcony) which overlooked the Napili Bay and the view was gorgeous. We also were directly above a pool which was great for our kids who could take themselves to the pool whilst we kept an eye on them from the Lanaii. Even though we were not beach front it was only a two minute walk down to the beach area. Beach towels and snorkels were free to use, although flippers (fins) were not available. The beach is very nice although not enormous (as Australians we are very spoilt when it comes to great beaches!) and it was fun to snorkel and see many different fish. The coral was not very good.

A Highlight was being able to see dolphins and whales from our room and also the beach. Amazing!

There were a few negatives but these were very minor really, probably not an issue to most people, just enough to drop it off an excellent rating. On arrival I found I had mislaid my handbag between our flight to Maui and arriving at the resort. My husband asked reception to help find out phone numbers etc. of the airport we landed and the taxi company that services that airport as we had been flying all night and were completely unfamiliar with the area. They were not really very helpful, just advising him to look up the phone book, and not providing even the name of the airport or taxi company. We did manage to get it back after a great number of phone calls and an honest taxi driver. We feel that although we did not expect the reception staff to do all the ringing up they could definitely have assisted us more.

There is one restaurant and while the food is good we felt it was overpriced. We did find restaurants and food in the area which were just as good but much cheaper. We felt the kiosk's range of food was very limited and also overpriced so we rarely bought anything from there.

We found that most of the people staying there were from the US. which could explain why the kids club only runs in US holiday time. There seemed to still be a reasonable number of kids there so it would be good if they could run even a limited program at other times. I'm sure it would be appreciated by all parents. There were activities that we could join in and the resort were great at reminding you that these were on. However as some of them were adults only and we could not send the kids off to kids club we were unable to go to most! It's fine to have adults only activities put perhaps the resort could think about providing a concurrent kids acitivity so their parents can attend.

On a positive note, they have free morning and afternoon drinks/ coffee and the concierge at the Napili Kai was very helpful and informative about tourist attractions and tours in the area. We enjoyed a number of great tours while we were there.

The Napili area is packed with places to stay but because there is a height limit to the buildings and it is not as commercialised at the Kaanapali area it has a quieter, more laid back and relaxed feel which we enjoy.

Many people hire cars but we found that there is a bus service which was mostly adequate for us. It only takes half an hour on the bus to get to Lahaina and it stops at other little shopping centres on the way.

The weather was mostly good although when we arrived the in Maui there was a storm nearby causing the "Kona" weather pattern where the surf beaches become calm and the snorkelling spots become surf beaches. It was extremely windy. We had some rain on our holiday but not much and whatever weather we were having it was always warm!

We would put in a plea as "cafe culture" Melbournians that Americans get with the idea of offering decent coffee with meals. There is nowhere that serves food in Melbourne that you can't get a cappuccino. To get a decent coffee while we were in Hawaii we had to go to specialised coffee establishments and then go somewhere else to get a light meals or sandwich etc.

We booked our holiday through Great Hawaii Vacations and received a considerable discount on the room rate that was quoted to our travel agent over the phone from the resort itself. They were also helpful in getting us an early check-in at the resort. All in all we had a very enjoyable holiday and could easily have spent longer there.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank AussiemumMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Property: Napili Kai Beach Resort
Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing