We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2007

My wife and I spent 6 glorious days in Napili Kai Beach Resort from 9/10 - 9/15. We had spent the prior week in Waikiki and wanted to relax and just enjoy Maui.

Our unit was literally 20 paces from the beach. The grounds are maintained in an extraordinary manner. The staff was extremely helpful. The bay was calm and inviting. The beach was immaculate. Each night we watched the sunset from the beach (amazing).The Sea House restaurant (although pricey) was excellent.

If there is a slight negative, it is the parking. The spaces are tight and there aren't enough.

We would highly recommend NKBR to all visitors.

Pat & Sharon

ps: If you fly into Kapalua airport, you are only 3 miles from the resort versus 50 minutes from the main airport. The town of Lahaina is only 10 minutes away.
.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RelaxandEnjoyMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2007

No high density high rises here. Local zoning laws permit nothing higher than the palm trees. The Napili Kai property on the north end of Napili Bay is a little slice of old Hawaii charm. Our beachfront room was just a handful of steps from the sand. The on site restaurant is unlike anything you will find anywhere else on the island. It sits literally right on the edge of the beach with stunning sunset view and excellent food. It's somewhat pricey but most rooms have kitchenettes and there are barbeque grills spread around the property so you can enjoy your own home cooked, in-room meals. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Everywhere you turn you will see employees that have worked at Napili Kai for 20+ years which speaks volumes for the company. And I must confess, we've been returning here for vacations for 9 of the past 12 years. Napili Bay isn't the top snorkeling beach on Maui, but we found sea turtles on the reef virtually every day of our two week stay. And even over the Labor Day holiday weekend, the beach was not at all crowded. Would we go again? We made our reservations for next year when we checked out.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank VCSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom Ocean Front Condo. The view was out of this world, but if you want to be closer to the bathing beach, you may wish to choose an ocean view room. The rooms are well maintained and cleaning service is available on a daily basis (they do not clean your kitchen area). The snorkeling at the beach is great and it is a wonderful resort for families with children. My 7 year old daughter loved the beach (calm surf), the putting greens and the snorkeling. The resort has snorkeling gear, but I would recommend going to Snorkel Bob's ( they also have boogie boards for rent).The Napili Kai Market is a short drive (less than 5 minutes) and was a frequent stop for food and beverages. There is also a restaurant and snack bar located on the grounds. I have no hesitations in recommending this resort.

Stayed: August 2007
8  Thank Bapdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Terrific place! Avoid the large chain hotels in Kaanapoli Bay and come here instead and discover the real Maui experience. Nice clean suites in two story buildings with views overlooking the most tranquil bay in Maui. Warm friendly staff with morning coffee service in the lobby, traditional 10:00am pineapple and lemonade, anbd weekly Mai Tai cocktail parties. Excellent restaurant where you can enjoy fine dining and watch the sunset over the bay. You won't find cruise ships, motor boats in the bay (it is forbidden) so don't come here to for luxuries pampering. However, if you love nature, and want to discover the natural beauty of Maui, this is your place. We stopped by the Sheraton black rock for snorkeling, and this place has it beat hands down. Saw the Hyatt, and couldn't wait to escape the wall to wall masses of people crammed around the pool and narrow beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank familyoffour50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My wife and son and I met my parents here for a late Feb early March trip. I've been to Napili Kai twice before but several years ago. I was very happy to find the property exactly as I remember it, wonderfully taken care of and a perfect beach to relax on or snorkel.

The staff are all very friendly and very accomodating to all our requests. The food at the Sea House was good although the drinks were not very good with one exception - the Mai Tais are absolutely fantastic! Definitely one of my favorite parts of this hotel is the fact that every morning around 10:00 they have fresh cut up pineapple (and juice and coffee but i only had the pineapple) under a tent by the beach, they also demonstrate making crafts and typically give one or several items away with a drawing. My only complaint would be that it seems like the prices are starting to get too high, but that can be said about any place.

The snorkeling was perfect except the last couple days where the winds shifted and the water was just too choppy for snorkeling. The rest of the days I went out and saw jumping dolphins, several sea turtles, and tons of fish.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clearh20snorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

What a wonderful week! I needed a week away from a very stressful job so our travel agent recommended Napili Kai. I'm not a Hawaii girl (prefer laid back Mexico) and generally don't repeat vacation destinations but I'm sold on this spot and will return again. Why? It was the perfect balance of relaxation and activity. I love to run, swim, etc and the beach allows for running (although not a long distance) and swimming- I swam the bay every morning. It's also close to Kapalua which offers great walking/running. The condos were perfectly appointed with all you would need to cook. The Lanai has a great view of the ocean and the restaurant was excellent.
There is an 18 hole putting green which my husband and I frequented, shuffle board, and the hotel does a great job of doing a couple of mixers throughout the week. We don't have kids and tend to stay away from the water slide madness- I have to say there was a nice mix but we were glad to depart the day school got out. The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the beach wonderful, and a fantastic spot.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Soggy_Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2007

We have been going there for 30 years. we have traveled all over the golbe. Nothing beats the napili kai for warmth and kindness
from all the employes. you just unwind in the unhurried way of life. If you have kids and need time away from them, they have poeple to take them on the beach or a movie.
All of our friends how we have recommened the hotel to have also come back many times. We go at the same time each year.
Our children have made frieds of the families that come at the
same time each year. Now there children have made new friends too.
This is just like going to heaven. The bay has very little wave so swimming is easy.
This year a pod of dolphine came into the bay and stay all day just swimming around all of us.
Happy vacationer from Los Angeles

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank happyvacationer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
4 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
4.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9094
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £262 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing