We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th stay and already booked for next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My Mom and I love the Whaler and wouldn't go anywhere else...we had a lot of storm days this trip but the condo is so comfortable and Whalers Village so close we were fine. The sun came out and I was greeted at the beach by Andrew who asked if I would like to rent a lounge for the day....he set it up and was so pleasant I'm back today...thanks Andrew you are a gem!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank lorriemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We just returned home from the Whaler.The location is great, close to Black rock, Whaler village, on the boardwalk, close to the bus top that runs every hour into town. We rented 3 rooms and each was a bit different. We went thru a travel agent who booked thru Aston. Our room was 915-one room with an updated stainless steel kitchen, remodeled bathroom and fairly outdated furniture. Bed was very comfortable! The view from here was amazing! The other 2 rooms were more like suites, bedroom/bathroom in one and living/kitchen area in the other. I believe they were both owned units. One fairly updated, the other decor from the 70's. I believe they were 359 and 459 in tower 2. The definitely had more room, nice patios that spanned both rooms but our view from tower 1 rm 915 was the best. They faced Whaler village and large bushes. The maid service did a nice job, the overall hotel is clean and grounds are immaculate. Front desk could use some customer service skills upon arrival and departure. Lisa the concierge was the BEST and helped us book some great excursions; Steve's whale watch, Sunshine helicopter tour, ATV ranch tour and gave us great tips on other things to see and do. She was sure to find us after to make sure everything was good.
You will pay for chairs to use at the beach (this was new to us and disappointing) and pay $12 per day for parking.
We did the Old Laihina Luau and it was great, their hospitality was wonderful and it was a great show!
We downloaded the Gypsy Maui app... don't go there without it! Only $9.95 to download and you have your own personal tour guide for Maui as well as the road to Hana, worth every cent!!

Would I stay again probably not because I really like to know what my room will look like before I arrive, there are many other hotels we walked past that I would like to try next time. But if you've already booked, no worries, you will have a great time, hard not to on such a beautiful island! Mahalo!!!

Room Tip: Room 915 in tower 1 faces the court, great ocean view and hillside/golf course views. We were next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skstelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha –

Your review points out one of the most obvious challenges of renting individually owned condominiums. The great thing is reviews like yours help fuel the talk of unit improvements. Our goal as a management team is to assist owners in being aware of what a guest expectation is when they come to Maui and more importantly to The Whaler. It will be a continuous effort, one that we enjoy, to see the Whaler units transform into a collection of beautifully renovated spaces and complimented with Aston’s services. We hope to see you back very soon.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in this 2 bedroom 2 bath unit on our 34th anniversary trip to Maui. In one word EXTRAORDINARY! The entire staff were fantastic as well. I believe these units are individually owned so I can't vouch for the other units. We will return next year and will look to book this unit. We didn't want to leave. World class!

Room Tip: Tower One Oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumboman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha –

Yes, this particular unit is one of our model owners and model units. This owner has set everything up perfectly! I will be sure to share your review with them; as I know they will appreciate your feedback and be very proud.

Mahalo
Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Rent through individual owners (research these condos well), but NOT through Aston. What you get from Aston is a total gamble on room quality and rude, lying, uncaring desk staff. If you want to gamble with your vacation- go to VEGAS.

We like the Whaler location. However, EVERY CONDO IS DIFFERENT because they have individual owners. So the only way to be sure you get a nice condo is to use VBRO or the like and look at pictures and read reviews for THAT condo.

We've stayed at the Whaler twice in the last year. Both times we rented through Aston. Both times we reserved a 1-Br oceanfront. The first time we stayed there they told us there were no 1-br available, so they upgraded us to a 2-br oceanfront at no cost It was one of the nicest condos we've ever stayed in. Awesome. We wanted to come back. (I find that this happens a lot in this industry- they ALWAYS give you a nicer room or upgrade the first visit, then never again).

The last stay we were told that Aston has only a total of TWO 1-br oceanfront units that they manage. They had one available- unit 951. It was a total disaster. 30 year old furniture, ancient kitchen, smelled bad, broken dresser, lumpy bed, and noisy due to the Whaler's Village ventilation. We rejected it and they stuck us with a 1-br ocean view that had a tiny ocean view due to overgrown trees. Next day I went back and complained. After much delay and resistance, they "offered a deal" on a 2-br at a higher price. It was no deal, and the person at the desk LIED TO MY FACE and told me that it was a $1000 a night condo (Their web pricing shows $600, and has been that price for a year!). After more "discussion" they gave it to me at a small discount from the web pricing. Not wanting to ruin our vacation, I took it. We will never go back with Aston.

We much preferred the condo #353 at the Sands of Kahana just up the road.

Room Tip: TIP- DO NOT rent a condo in Tower 2 on the south side (next to Whaler's Village)- rooms ending w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank W_from_CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha –

Dear guests, an apology is certainly in order because no one should ever feel they were lied too or mistreated. So please accept our sincerest acknowledgement that we could have done better. With this said, I am not certain this is the best advice to rent only from owners. The truth is the entire ownership at the Whaler knows how much Aston, the AOAO and Owners support all guests and visitors to this amazing property. Together we have worked hard over the last several years at improving the property, the unit interiors and the services. Free wireless, great complimentary beach and pool towels, no amenity fees and relatively inexpensive parking remain other great reasons to stay at The Whaler. And yet the challenge remains, every unit is different. To meet this challenge a new room catagory has been launched for sale by Aston. The Premium Units guarantee renovated interiors with beautiful furnishings. My advice is to rent and stay at The Whaler with either owners direct or Aston but communicate in advance specific expectations so that Aston representatives have an opportunity to meet every guests needs. Every person is entitled to a complaint which is why my team and I have a very strong guest service commitment. Both Maui and The Whaler are very special places.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have been renting 1 BR 2BA, unit 511 on Tower 1 for years. A great location with terrific view of the ocean, beach, the islands or Lanai and Molokai. Below us is a gorgeous lush central garden and koy pond. The Whaler sits on Kaanapali Beach right next to Whaler's Village with easy access to a variety of great restaurants and shops. Reception is ready to help with any needs plus the concierge will provide reservations for everything from whale watches, sunset cruises to luaus. Fresh beach towels are available from the beach boys, where sunscreen, sunglasses, cabanas and umbrellas can be rented. Our unit had beach chairs available. There's also a spa available on premises...a great way to relax. For those not wanting to swim in the ocean the pool and jacuzzi are right next to the beach. The floor plan on the unit worked great and we loved the large lanai with two lounges and table and chairs for quiet breakfast together or cocktails as we watched the sunset. The whales were amazing entertainment and each day was filled with sightings. Overall, the staff and our entire experience at the Whaler was awesome.....we can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Be sure that you check the location of the unti before you book...who would want to spend the week o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha –

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo
Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We loved our studio unit right on the ocean. Views are breath taking! Staff was so helpful and kind. We loved the closeness to whalers village for an easy place to eat and shop. We reserved this place upon the recommendation of Maui Kay and it was a perfect fit for us! We would absolutely consider staying here again - perfect for couples or families!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha –

Thank you…Thank you…Thank you!

Your recognition is appreciated!

Mahalo
Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We simply love the Whaler. We stayed last December to get away from the cold weather at home, and have already booked again for next month! It is very reasonably priced. The reviews pretty much say it all: Lovely grounds to wander about and enjoy the solitude (they use battery operated weed wackers and other quiet equipment, which in itself is impressive), fantastic beach, great shopping and dining at next door Whalers Village, or at a number of other restaurants just a short walk down the beach. The beach has never been crowded for us, and only (rarely) are there a few beach umbrellas or whatever set up on the beach in front of the Whaler. The little rental shack (snorkel equipment, boogie boards, sunglasses, lotion, etc.) is handy and most importantly non-intrusive - easy to just walk past and ignore when you are not to be a customer at that particular time, or are just picking up/returning the complementary Whaler beach towels. Staff was friendly and helpful too - and not just with what they are selling/renting. The condos are large, with excellent kitchens to save some money (for the big nights out) and to save time relaxing with a meal on the lanai at your own leisurely pace, and dressed way down :). Several good supermarkets both in Lanai town and just a bit north, if you want to see some other scenery. We found we could easily and comfortably cook a decent meal in this kitchen, and there are propane grills and eating areas near the beach in front of each tower, which get a lot of use and is a nice way to argue with other guests as to which of you left the worst weather to come and stay at the Whaler. Front desk staff (Aston, a class act!) were friendly, helpful, and efficient. Daily room service was excellent, and it was nice to come back to a fresh condo every day. Self service laundry on each floor, so you can travel light. Room accommodations were excellent in our unit - it was a "premium", and had a fantastically comfortable bed, new and "shiny" kitchen and bathrooms, and great wired and wifi internet service - we were able to stay in touch a bit, and thus stay longer at the Whaler than if we had to dash home quickly to attend to things better left unattended for a while. Our unit had an excellent ocean/courtyard view and we could listen to the waves all night as we slept. I don't know the layout well enough to know which floors/units have which views, but read the room tips and ask when you book. I know I want courtyard, as close to the water as possible, mid height. We find the Whaler to be a great base of operations to wander the entire island during our stay, or when we just want to head into Lahaina town now and then for shopping, dining, and exploring. Or, when we just want to hang around the Whaler and its grounds and the fantastic Kaanapali beach.

Room Tip: I don't know the layout well enough to know which floors/units have which views, but read the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TipTopMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £241 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing