We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second time and we love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our second time and we love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Whaler, this time we are facing the Whaler Mall, and no the noise from the Mall is NOT loud I have no idea what the previous reviewer was hearing, we are on the third floor in the middle of the complex so noise would be loud if it was made, we can hear the fans or cooling system from the Whaler Mall but it is so faint the is is not even an issue.
Our room is awesome, our housekeeper has been great! The room has everything we need, bed is comfy.
We love it here! Thank you to all would work hard to make sure our vacation was worry free :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lilmel459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    329
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
296
530
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I took our first trip to Hawaii and decided to stay in Maui. A friend went with family members last year and recommended the Whaler. I booked through Costco travel and got a great deal. The check-in process went smoothly and quickly - we were tired from the long plane ride. As a big fan of Hotel Impossible, I gave the room a typical "Anthony" once over! The top if the fridge, tv and art work were clean - no dust! The room was immaculate with high quality linens. Even the lanai was extremely clean.

The kitchenette contained everything that we needed - full size stove, fridge and dishwasher, plates, glass and plastic drinking glasses, etc. the dishwasher was run several times while the room was cleaned.

It was windy, but the pool was watched over and leaves were removed shortly after falling. We also saw the pool tested regularly.

The ocean was right past the pool, and the hotel location was adjacent to Whalers Village, which houses shops, a convenience store, excellent restaurants and fast food. Suggest making reservations.

Only negative - parking garage is too small. A lot was a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a premium ocean view room in Tower 2 and the view was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My elderly mother and I spent a lovely relaxing week in unit 256 at The Whaler in early February. We rented through Donna Bender of MauiCalls (www.MauiCalls.com). She provided excellent service in finding us something appropriate, with fairly short notice. Donna also provides her clients with her "Local Girls Guide to Maui/Oahu" which is full of good ideas and money-saving tips for restaurants, shopping and touring. Unit 256 is in building one (I think), second floor, facing the gardens, and only one unit removed from the actual beach front, although it is advertised and priced less expensively as a "beach view" unit. We did not have the sweeping, commanding view of beach, ocean and island of Lanaii as do the higher floors, but we liked the intimacy of the garden and having the beach so close to us. And we could still see Lanaii and all the way down to Black Rock, so no complaints there. Also, we did not need to rely on elevators and could easily walk the single flight of stairs. There were lots of families with little children but we never were bothered by any noise and loved sitting on our large, airy lanai watching the whales. The pool is small but nice, and you cannot beat the ocean swimming at Kaanapali. The especially calm waters in the sheltered bay at Black Rock were just a short stroll away through the sand or along the beach path.

To my knowledge there are no particular activities for children other than the beach and the pool, but you can rent all the beach equipment from the pool shop. Best to rent by the week if you will be there that long.

The Whaler is a low key, friendly residential complex that is old but well kept. The gardens are very pretty. Our unit was a very spacious one-bedroom, with an excellent king size bed. I took the living room hideabed which was not very comfortable for sleeping. However, the LR and lanai furniture was very comfy for sitting. There are new flat screen TVs in the bedroom and LR area. The buildings are old and our unit was rather dated and a little frayed around the edges, generally in good repair. There were a few things that did not work, but they were quickly fixed after we reported them. The kitchen is well appointed and equipped and we prepared many of our own meals, although it was very easy to take a pleasant stroll to one of the nearby hotels or restaurants.

Our one complaint was the bathroom, which is dated, indeed. My mother is fit and agile for her age, however, we had great difficulty getting her out of the bathtub, which was very slippery and had wall handles too high for her to reach from a sitting position. We did get some rubber mats for the tub, but getting out was still a trial. Thereafter she took showers, but still had to be very careful getting out because the floor around the tub is slippery when wet.

I must say that the maids were very generous with providing extra towels and we appreciated that.

I recommend being on the courtyard/garden side of the building. I have stayed on the mountain side of building 2 and did not care for that. No sun, and the wind from the mountains can be chilly. I definitely would not want to be on the Whaler's Village side due to noise from vehicles and building fans. Our lanai did not get direct sun and that was a bit of a relief, because it was quite hot. There is lots of sun out there if you want it. We were still warm and were protected from the wind.

All in all a super holiday. Thanks for your help, Donna, and thank you to the staff as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westendexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

After the disappointment at the Aston Mahana, we only had 2 days left. So glad we stayed at this wonderful property. We had a balcony with an ocean view on the beach. The property's landscaping is breathtaking and our room was spacious and well decorated. Only issue was the bed, need to replace the mattress in 257....
Full kitchen with all the utensils to eat in.... Wished we had more time at this wonderful resort!!
You can walk to the restaurants and shopping. The beach is really nice with catamarans coming into pick-up guests, making the pictures very scenic....

Room Tip: I would ask for ocean view overlooking the fish pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We appreciated the fact that this was a residential building rather than a full service resort.We cooked breakfast, and several other light meals in our fully equipped condo kitchen, which saved money and our waistlines. Your experience of this hotel will depend to some extent on which room and view you have. We stayed on the 12th floor in tower 2, with a full view of the inner courtyard garden (lovely) and an expansive partial view of the ocean, which was perfect for whale watching. The location of our room ensured we were shielded from the noise of the pool and beach restaurants, and we never had direct sun on our lanai (which we appreciated but extreme sun lovers might not.) We would stay here again if we could have the same set up. Any even-numbered room from 1260 to 1252 in Tower 2 would provide the same benefits. Our room was very quiet, and yet everything we needed or wanted was a five-minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doodlebug16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Whaler for 14 nights. We have always been rented from an owner and were pleased. Courtyard and Black Rock facing condos are quiet. This time, we faced Whaler's Village. There was continual noise...BEEP, BEEP, BEEP of delivery trucks, loud music from Hula Grill and Leilanni's in addition to some very loud entertainment noise from within Whaler's Village itself. Our unit had nice views of Molakai and the whales were awesome. We try to get an upper floor so we have a view. The cooling towers for Whaler's Village roared 24 hours a day and made sitting there very unpleasant. I love the Whaler resort. We've stayed there four times for two weeks each time. We stayed in #1169 this time. The unit was furnished nicely and had everything we needed. There was only one complaint. The carpet was very stained/soiled and this was unpleasant. The owner was nice and said he intends to replace it soon, so it will likely not be an issue in the future.

Room Tip: Stay away from units facing Whaler's Village if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrhead, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in February. The location is excellent, we had a non-ocean view suite but had a fantastic view of the water and spent time on our lanai enjoying the view. The bed configuration was perfect for our family travelling with 2 teenagers. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the grounds are very well maintained. The pool area while not large is certainly adequate. The beach is beautiful.
The location is perfect. I don't think we could have picked a better property for our stay on Maui. We will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing