We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location with everything you need for a great vacation on Maui!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Terrific location with everything you need for a great vacation on Maui!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Whaler has a fantastic location on Ka'anapali Beach, right next to Whaler's Village. We usually stay farther north at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas, so I was really surprised that we liked The Whaler's location so much. Our top floor studio (#1262) faced the courtyard, with views from the ocean to Black Rock to the West Maui mountains. We had absolutely no noise or odor issues from Whaler's Village or anywhere else. Huge sliding glass doors opened to a lanai for fresh air and watching Ka'anapali Beach come to life every morning, and watching the sun set in the evening. We felt sort of guilty for spending so much of our vacation out on the lanai!

Other than a great location, I was surprised that the studio was so spacious. The stainless/granite new(ish) kitchen has a full-sized refrigerator, full-sized range (stove/oven), hood microwave, dishwasher and full service/place settings for 8! (I think the occupancy limit is 4 for a studio.) The bathroom was newly remodeled with nice granite, tile and glass - and had a huge drawer/cabinet full of towels and bathroom supplies. The living area had a dining table and 4 chairs, a twin(?) sofabed, occasional chair with ottoman, large sofa with murphy bed in the wall behind it, coffe table, and large storage unit with TV/AV equipment. The lanai had a table with two chairs and a chaise lounge. The decor was very nice, and everything was in excellent condition. I was a bit worried that when the murphy bed was down, we wouldn't be able to move around, but there was plenty of room, so we never put the bed away.

The one thing missing in the studio was a washer/dryer (larger units have them), but there is a commercial set of W/D's on every floor that was VERY convenient - just two doors down from our unit. Cost was $1.50 per load.

I can't say much about the amenities of the resort, because we didn't use them. We don't go to a beach resort to swim in a pool, or workout in a gym. Snorkeling around Black Rock was fantastic! We received a flyer on spa services, but not sure where the spa was? Also, there isn't a restaurant/bar on site, but Whaler's Village is right next door, so we weren't lacking in food choices.

All in all, we had a wonderful time at The Whaler. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    342
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
313
564
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Unit was clean, updated with a great view of the beach. The one downfall was we were on the restaurant side and the smell of the grease and BBQ was a little overwhelming at times. Sitting on our lanai drinking our wine in the evening was great and the view of the sunset was always spectacular. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our 5th trip to Maui and our 4th stay at The Whaler. You just cannot beat the location and we like to do a lot of our own cooking with so much fresh fish and produce available on the island so having the condo with a fully equipped kitchen is a must. We had always stayed in a one bedroom unit before but this time decided to try a studio condo. It was fine except that the kitchen was quite a bit smaller than in the one bedroom unit so it was almost an impossibility for 2 of us to be in it at the same time and the lanai was about 1/2 the size of the one bedroom unit as well. We enjoy spending a lot of time out on the lanai as well as we saw more whales from there than we did on the actual whale watching trip that we took. On our last stay at The Whaler, I complained that the bed was the most uncomfortable one that I had ever had. This time we had one of the most comfortable beds we have had. This was extremely important as my husband suffers from back problems and we almost considered staying elsewhere this time because of the uncomfortable bed last time. We were in Tower 2 on the 8th floor this time and the view was spectacular! One other downside was that we were just above Whaler's Village and during the day there was a bit of noise that came from there with delivery trucks and the large air conditioning unit (although I found that more of a "background noise") I would definitely stay at The Whaler again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of kitchen and lanai
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha,

Wow as a top contributor I can rest assure our reviewer knows their information. We love repeat guests so thank you for staying with us again. A studio compared to one bedroom is a good topic and honestly for the price the larger unit in my opinion is worth the little extra. As for the bed, we take our guest feedback seriously and our response was to always make it right and improve it too. Last the noise next door is something we are working on with our neighbors so we appreciate your patience while we resolve.

Mahalo,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Aston at the whaler from January 26th - February 4th suite 418 in the North tower.We had garden and ocean view. The studio suite was updated and modern and nicely laid out which made it quite spacious. We could sit on the balcony and see the whales. Whalers village was a 2 minute walk and there were restaurants and shops right close to us. The pool was lovely and we could sit there and see the ocean from the pool. We would certainly stay at Aston at the Whaler again. We had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here 5 nights in April 2014 while getting married in Maui. Our studio premium room was perfect for two. Unit 362 in tower two had been updated and overlooks the garden with a great ocean view. The grounds are beautifully maintained and you are steps from the beach and pool. A bonus feature is the Whaler shopping mall adjacent to the hotel with 3 nice ocean view restaurants that we enjoyed. Ka'anapali beach is beautiful - soft sand and calm gorgeous blue water. Like only issue with this hotel is that we paid $12 a day for parking only to find they sell more spaces than they have. We returned from our wedding and found a sign that parking was full and you were to park down a hill in employee parking and HIKE back (in wedding clothes in the rain). No valet parking and no spot even though we were charged for it. No apology and no refund. Then on our last day upon returning from breakfast next door at 830am, we were locked out - were told that management turns off all room keys at 7am on your check out day even though check out is several hours later. So aside from an apparently idiot manager with poor judgement, it was a good stay. I'd say great stay but for the oversold parking. Carol from St Louis.

Room Tip: Tower two courtyard higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a relaxing trip, and kind of a late honeymoon. It was right on the beach, but far enough away from everything that it was quiet and relaxing. We slept with the balcony door open to the sound of the waves crashing. The room was clean, fairly spacious, and had a great kitchen area. There is a shopping area nearby with restaurant options, and it's a short drive to downtown Lahaina. I would highly recommend it for a quiet, relaxing trip.

Room Tip: High room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If you're not trying to impress your mate or friends this might be the perfect hideout. It's rated three stars, probably correct. The room maintained and cleaned well. The decor a bit dated. Nice size room. Full kitchen. Nice staff. LOCATION !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing