We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lifesaver! OUTSTANDING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived 15 minutes after making a reservation, arriving from a time-share exchange that we left after 2 hours, forfeiting our week because of the dismal room we were put in there (see my review of Kahana Falls, titled "Checked Out After 2 Hours"). Aston at the Whaler cost us money we didn't expect to pay on this trip, but was worth the cost to us. We were planning to be on Maui for 5 days between Oahu and Kaua'i. We visit often, and have stayed in many places from Kihei to Lahaina to Ka'anapali to Kahana. The Whaler is the BEST place we have stayed at on Maui, based on a combination of view, location on the beach and snorkeling, accessibility to shops and restaurants, location, the ability to fix some of our own means in the studio room, and quality of the hotel.

We've been to other places in Kaanapali, but next time, we won't even bother to look at others; we'll go straight to Aston at the Whaler. My other recommendation to new travelers would be right next door, the Ka'anapli Beach Hotel, where we've stayed before and loved it; it lives up to its billing as "the most Hawaiian hotel," but our preference for Aston at the Whaler is weighted by the ability to prepare some of our own food in the well-appointed kitchen area of the studio instead of eating at restaurants all the time, which can get pricey here.

Room Tip: No matter where you are, it will be good: when you're on the lanai, look one direction for ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank ROD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We originally booked our seven day vacation at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel and quickly decided it was not the place for our family. Our travel agent relocated us to The Whaler and we couldn't be more pleased! The condo # 219 is a one bedroom, but the owner made a little nook out of the laundry room and put a day bed in the nook. A perfect place for our daughter to sleep. We've had a great time. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ldkwtravelsforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Whaler for our anniversary in February 2014. The view from the studio room was unbelievable. The room had a murphy bed that when you were laying in it and the sliding glass door was open and the curtains pulled away, you could see the beach and hear the crashing of the waves. It was just romantic. The weather allowed us to live with the slider open for the entire week. It was the perfect size because we spent most of the days traveling Maui and walking the beach.
The moment we arrived, the front staff was inviting and amazing. They were just great! We used the services of the concierge and she put together one of the best weeks of my life. She listened to our preferences and made the right suggestions. It was the perfect mix of activities and events. The beach staff was patient, informative and helpful.
I would wake in the morning and sit with a cup of coffee and watch the whales in the distance. Whale watching is addictive.
Unfortunately, the perfect trip of a lifetime came with one party crasher. The cleaning staff assigned to our room. We are late-night partiers and were in no rush to get up early because we were on VACATION! However, the drill sergeant cleaning lady didn’t quite get the hint each morning that the little sign on the door knob really meant we didn’t want to be disturbed. But she knocked and woke us without fail. She proved to be an absolute distraction to the trip. It escalated to the point that we missed a room clean, fresh towels and bed change. She had her schedule and didn’t care for the fact we paid quite a bit for the rented room and our comfort. I know that the owners of the studio condo will know that I will never rent their room again but will stay on a different floor. What a shame, it was almost a perfect trip. I would hope the management would use my name and cross reference that to my reservation in February and identify the horrible cleaning lady.
The Whaler was wonderful but sadly, this one employee had to tarnish the efforts of all of the other great staff! I would recommend the Whaler but would hope your experience would be perfect.

Room Tip: A studio is just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DanG486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I travelled to Maui with my family, and we found The Whaler to be perfect for what we were looking for. One of the only hotels on Kaanapali Beach to include an equipped kitchen. Next door to restaurants. Right on the beach and close to Black Rock (ideal snorkelling location). Next to Whaler's village (ABC store, shopping). Concierge was excellent. We saw them at the start of our stay and they were very helpful with things to see and do. I would definitely take a trip to Lahaina, in the late afternoon for a shop and dinner as there is lots of places to choose from. Yes the building was a little old-fashioned; but I found most places (even the airport) in Hawaii to be stuck in the 70's. Overall, if you're looking for a good stay on Kaanapail Beach, The Whaler is the way to go!

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid the noise, ask for a room that faces Black Rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank annierosewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family had a wonderful time staying on Kaanapali Beach this summer. The staff at the Whaler was super. They truly went out of their way to make our time there enjoyable. Our one bedroom condo with an ocean view was very roomy and pleasant for my family of four. We took advantage of the fully equipped kitchen and made our own breakfasts and lunches. We also used the grills located on the property to make supper one night. The beach is well maintained, and we enjoyed the tennis courts as well. The Whaler Village located next door was convenient. We made leis there one morning and then did a little souvenir shopping. We also ate a delicious meal at the Hula Grill. The only downside is the lack of evening entertainment. We noticed other hotels had evening shows by the pool or in their courtyards. Other than that, it is a great place to stay with a family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacher1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Aloha Top Contributor,

Thank you for your kind words and exceptional review. We post all our reviews for our entire team to see and yours felt great to read outloud. Thank you for being our guest and we appreciate the feedback about the lack entertainment. My best recommendation to other guests is to visit The Whaler's Village next door as they have extensive hula, lei making, and cultural events not to mention the best shopping and dining.

Mahalo,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Upon arriving at our room at The Whalers it was like we had been transported right back to the 70s with disco floor lighting, shag carpet, wallpapered walls (including the light switches, and protective plastic on the corners) and decor- think pineapple lamps, fake plastic trees all over the room, random balls of shells.
The beds were either rock hard or extremely lumpy and uncomfortable making sleep difficult. The curtain in the shower is not fixed to the walls as we found out when it fell on me when I was having a shower
The ONLY redeeming factor was the minute it took to get to the beach and restaurants next door. Other rooms we saw looked ok, so they should be fine to book, but avoid 320 unless you really love the 70s and wish to be back there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 320 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Melskibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Aloha Kakou (all),

I grew up watching the American TV series “The Twilight Zone”. The unrelated stories contained everything that makes a great show: drama, thriller, suspense. Today with your review is now a reality show or time warp.

I am very sorry the décor and unit did not meet your expectations, especially the beds and shower curtain. These are inexcusable and we will be replacing immediately. The units do vary and right now the best way I know how to guarantee renovated units is to reserve our Premium Suites category. I appreciate the honest review and we will work to improve this unit so all future guests expectations are met. Thank you for understanding and providing the owner and Aston your opinion.

Mahalo,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in room 365, faced north, and had a view of the ocean from the lanai. Our condo was recently updated (tub area needed a reno) and had all of the essentials for cooking and then some! We ate on the lanai every morning, walked the path that follows the beach a few times, dined next door at Leilani's 3x, Hula Grille 2x, yogurt at the froyo store, and at subway. Thank goodness the ABC store was next door too bc we went there almost every day for tonic and sodas! And the beach! It is literally right out the door! We people watched, played in the waves, and took a brief walk to Black Rock to snorkel where we saw sting rays, turtles, and all kinds of fish! If my kids had been with us, I would have stayed at a resort with a better pool with slides etc, but for couples and older kids, the Whaler is perfect especially for the price. One caveat is that we could hear the ac running from Whaler's Village next door. At first it bugged me, but then I liked it bc I couldn't hear the people on the lanai next door. And it was way too warm to sleep with the doors open so falling asleep to the sound of the ocean wouldn't have been possible anyway.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Klynveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £236 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing