We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Remodeled Studio/Condo with Ocean View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Remodeled Studio/Condo with Ocean View”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This year was wonderful. The condo was modern and had been upgraded and much nicer than our past units. We got a hell of a deal and as usual going down to the beach or walking over to the golf course is wonderful in the morning. The BBQ area is so much fun in the evening. Fun to walk next door to Hula Grill to make some new friends. What a party. Thanks for the upgrade this year. The pool is great. Good concierge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfingYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    342
    73
    42
    17
See reviews for
313
564
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had a FABULOUS time in #751. The location cannot be beat and the views are simply the best on the island. I highly recommend this unit if you are a couple or a small family. Great snorkeling, restaurants, a mall, golfing and of course a wonderful beach are all outside your doorstep. Stocked with everything you could possibly need, all you have to do is bring yourself. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blink09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed 7 nights on mix of business and leisure. This is not a hotel, but a condo complex, two buildings on beach. Stayed in studio unit 863 rented through vrbo. The location is terrific, on the beach in area of various nice resorts, walking path, not too commercial, walking distance to snorkel black rock, gorgeous ocean, lanai and sunset views to the west, mountains to the east. The Whaler is a bit older, but going through various updating efforts with a location that cannot be beat. A $12 per night parking charge by the whaler property management was pretty irritating. Whaler village next door is convenient - we loved the Hula Grill for food, ambience and mellow live music; and not too noisy for units on the south side of south building as I initially feared. The unit 863 we rented had been totally renovated and was fantastic for a couple, more than enough space, high end amenities and decor, comfortable bed. Unit
owner was great to work with. We hated to leave and plan to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to things....the beach, stores, restaurants......The down side , well there are a couple of things....... the staff are not the best, I dont know if its bad training or they are underpaid but the reception staff were very very s.l.o.w. We nearly missed our flight due to a mess up with checking out which was entirely their fault and they didnt even apologize! Also, the cleaners werent the best...it was really hit and miss as to whether they would replace things once they ran out.....tea, coffee, toilet paper, soaps etc. There is also something to be aware of....there is alot of construction going on at that place. It may be something to do with how old the building is, but if you are looking to have some peace and quiet you are not gonna find it here. We were told that the planter boxes are being replaced while we were there and we checked to find out how much noise there would be, we were told that it wouldnt disrupt us atall - Ha! turns out they underplayed it...thankfully we were ok with all the noise but there was alot going on.....drilling, sawing, heavy equipment (which seemed to be constantly reversing with the beep beep beeping) They start pretty early too, so not that great if you wish to sleep in. We had a baby waking us up before they started so for us it was ok, but I could see that being an annoyance.
On the plus side there are great view, the room we stayed in (670) was really modern and clean. The view was pretty good. Could see the ocean and beach really well, if you sat inside the rooms though you could really only see across to the other tower.....at people looking across at you.........
Despite all the negative things I have put, I would recommend it if you like to have easy access to stuff.....swimming, shopping, eating, beach walks, sunsets, the room was spacious too. The spa is really really good as well and pretty reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My husband and I have been going to Maui, yearly, for the past 36 years and we have found our slice of paradise in unit 112 at The Whaler. This is a fabulous condo and so very beautiful and well maintained. It had everything we could have wanted. The full kitchen with granite counter tops with gourmet touches was great. There was a big screen in the living room and bedroom, which I am sure were professionally decorated.
It also had a great Bose player where we could plug in our IPod and listen to music when we were not listening to the waves lapping the beach, which is a few steps away. The pool is also oceanside with lots of lounge chair available, some with covers. The living room, dining room, and two patios were very comfortable, large enough to entertain our many new friends. Don't know which was the best, the location or the heavenly, extremely comfortable bed. It was glorious!!! Obviously, Unit 112 at The Whaler will be the only place we will be staying on Maui. Two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauigirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My hubby and I booked the studio condo at the Whaler through Pleasant Holiday. As soon as we open the door, this studio size was good enough for two of us. There was a kitchen (upgraded), walk-in closet with safe, full bathroom, king size bed and pull out couch bed as well. The balcony was facing at the construction tennis court and next door property; however, it did not bother us too much since we were mostly outside for activity or at the beach for snorkel. The only thing that was missing in the room was the iron table.... but that was ok since we only used the iron once during our 5 night stay at the Whaler.

The staffs were all kind and helpful. We did not use the pool cuz it was always crowded... plus we had rented snorkel gear so we were mostly at the beach. The kitchen had everything we needed so we went to Safeway which is around 6 min away from the property and bought things we needed during the stay.

This property is perfect cuz the water is not rough and close to Sheraton and Westin. plus the Whaler village for shopping and free hula show. (it was very cute)

The parking is $12/day at the Whaler and there is a towel service outside (but u must bring back the towel otherwise you will be charged for $25 per)

We miss Maui (Lahaina) and we would like to go back to the Whaler when opportunity comes in future because we find that this location is close to everything - Old Lahaina Luau, Safeway, the beach etc.

FYI: there is the construction on this property at this time pls another construction at the whaler's village parking lot. (our stay here was during 11/22 thru 11/27). But we were not bothered by this..... pls ppl you are there to have fun outside the property not inside the condo..... Just enjoy the beach and get lots of tan!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey00718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We arrived on November 9, 2010 in Maui and actually went to another property north of this one where we had a reservation. After seeing the room, however, we felt we needed to look elsewhere and were referred to the Whaler.

Annette Guerrara at the front desk greeted us, gathered the information on the problem of finding a room in Maui in a hurry without breaking the bank, and went to consult with other members of the hotel staff; these other staff members were Leilani Steward also of the front desk and Henry Quinsant, Reservations Manager. Between the three of these great people, we were set up in Unit 670 for very little additional money per night. The unit was beautiful, clean and had an awesome view.

During our stay Annette, Leilani, Amelia, and Rod at the front desk were very helpful and always genuinely friendly and enthusiastic. Fred Burgart the bellman was very helpful and courteous as well.

On the last day of our stay we had a late flight out at 10 pm. The staff came through again with a late checkout at 4 pm and our luggage was safely put away by Fred the bellman until we had to head to the airport... very helpful !!

We had a great time at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel prior to coming to the Whaler but we have to say the Whaler really made our 25th Anniversary trip complete and so very special. My wife has wanted to go to Hawaii since she was a little girl and the beautiful accomodations, first class service and breathtaking scenery on Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock made it a dream come true for both of us.

Thanks so much to everybody involved !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing