We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Stay-cation" Paradise close to home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise
Ranked #9 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pukalani, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Stay-cation" Paradise close to home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Living in "paradise" still comes with a price, it's called WORK !! We needed a break, a mini-vacation close to home. Wai Ola offered us just what we wanted , a quite place to relax yet able to explore areas we've not seen in awhile. Dining options are endless but when you have a BBQ area (poolside) and Kim's goodies we didn't worry about starving or over spending on eating out. Jim met us upon our arrival to show us around, how everthing worked and offered to be of help should the need arise. Our "hats off" to our hosts and believe us we will return.
MAHALO JIM & KIM

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittykitty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    10
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
91
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed at Wai Ola for my 5 nights in Maui. I would absolutely recommend this B & B and would hands-down stay here again if I ever have the good fortune of returning to Maui.

The innkeepers are friendly but not overbearing and unbelievably helpful. I was upgraded to the Honeymoon Cottage and as a result, had the pleasure of sitting at a wonderful little porch table each morning enjoying the fresh brewed coffee provided in the room (coffeemaker, coffee beans, and all accoutrements), watching the beautiful morning Maui sun. I was part of a wedding party during my stay, and I can say hands-down that compared with the others in the party who spent about $150 more per night at the big chains, I was so happy with the decision to stay at the cute, clean, comfortable, and welcoming rooms at Wai Ola. Also, it's in a great little residential neighborhood, less than a mile from beaches, other chain hotels, and Front St., so you get the feeling that you are a local without sacrificing proximity to touristy activities. Also, Kim, one of the innkeepers, surprises you with random, *awesome* baked goods. She is quite talented.

My only gripe is the lack of actual breakfast each morning...I guess there is some law against cooking breakfast at B & Bs on Maui. I know some of the reviews I read re: other area B & Bs served pastries and fruit each morning, which would be my only recommendation at Wai Ola. The fruit welcome basket and baked goods were great, but it would be lovely to have Kim's goodies every morning.

Overall, I can't say enough great things about Wai Ola and its hosts. Wish I did not have to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikisue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Wai Ola & found it to be our vacation Paradise! Beautiful views of the West Maui Mountains tucked into a very quiet residential area. We found it to be very close to Lahaina (5 minutes or less to Front Street) and also very close to Kaanapali beach area (again approximately 5 minutes). We tend to be very busy on our trips and the location was great for us, very central for us to take day trips and to be picked up on our day tours. Close to Mala wharf where we took snorkeling trips, close to Maalaea where we left on our Molokini snorkel trip (approximately 20-25 minutes) & about 40 minutes to Kehei. It was so nice after long busy days to come home to peace & quiet and enjoy a relaxing evening. Kim & Jim are great hosts, they will make reservations for you at Luau's & restaurants and give you really useful advice on what are the best places to eat for whatever price range you are looking for. They gave us great directions and advice on spots for some of our day trips like the Olivine Pools and the Nakalele Blowhole and even gave us the information for high tide so we could see it at it's peak! Kim by the way makes the best baked goods which she will surprise you with after coming home after a long day out and about-she could easily open a bakery they are that GOOD! It does not seem like you are in a hotel at all, it feels like being with friends and family at Wai Ola. They create a great atmosphere for all and the personal touches is what makes staying there that much better. It is not a matter of if we will be back just a matter of WHEN we will be back to Wai Ola! Many thanks for making our trip memorable. Mahalo from Toronto, Canada!! T & L

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta, canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

My husband and I travelled to Maui from March 31st-April 10th with our 14, 10 and 18month old as well as two other families. In total there was 13 of us who were fortunate to stay at Waiola for 10 GLORIOUS days!!!! The hosts, Kim and Jim, made our stay exceptional with their AWESOME recommendations, service and heartwarming personalities!!! Waiola has everything right at your fingertips including an amazing pool and whirlpool. The view of the ocean was breathtaking and the whale watching from the deck was super cool. This paradise is kept exceptionally clean and very well organized. The luxury of feeling right at home while on vacation is better than anything and this is the atmosphere at WAIOLA!!! We loved it and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Maui!!!!

All of the rooms at Waiola have a beautiful decor equipped with high powered ceiling fans and A/C!!! Something we needed because the weather was absolutely beautiful. The privacy of WAIOLA is also a BONUS!!!! It is located minutes from the beaches, FRONT STREET, Whaler's Village, and grocery stores.

All in all, this is a vacation that we will cherish forever!!!!! IT was truly a BEAUTIFUL VACATION PARADISE!!! Thanks to Kim and Jim!!!! MAHALO!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernABlovesSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

My wife and I were at Wai Ola for our fourth time this past February. As usual everything was top notch.
Wai Ola has all the comforts of being in your own house..but your in Hawaii!!

From the Kona coffee beans in your room, to Kim's baked goods, to the friendly advice on beaches, shops, places to eat...etc. Jim and Kim make you feel right at home, without being intrusive. Great beaches/shopping/restaurants are just a short drive from Wai Ola.

The pool and hot tub are a great way to end the day, and if you'd like to BBQ the grills are a great way to save a few dollars.

You can choose to mingle by the pool or do like us and be up and gone for the day, anything you need for the beach is provided at Wai Ola.

Reviews don't lie, Wai Ola is a great/fun place to stay while in Maui.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Da'Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loretta,Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We vacationed at Wai Ola in Feb.2010 and stayed in the Makai apartment. It was very pleasant ,nicely furnished and quiet.The large living room opened up to the lanai with a table and chairs,perfect spot for our morning coffee.The pool and hot tub were close by.

Beach chairs & coolers were always available and Jim & Kim were always ready to help plan your day by suggesting were some of the less crowded beaches were and which restaurants might suit your appetite or wallet or both.

A nice surprise were Kims freshly baked goodies that we would find periodically in the refrigerator.They really filled that empty spot between meals.The coffee beans and grinder were also a nice touch-freshly ground coffee in the morning is hard to beat.

We were looking for somewhere to stay while in Maui that was comfortable,quiet and away from the frantic pace usually found at the resort hotels and we were pleased with our choice of Wai Ola, we felt as if we were at our home in northern Wisconsin but with out all the cold and snow.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasata74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This was our first time to Maui and with Kim and Jim's advice we hit definite must sees along with some great local hang outs! Kim and Jim helped us make dinner reservations and pointed out their favorite local beach spots...which were phenomenal! My favorite parts of our stay were the small things at Wai Ola like sipping freshly ground Kona coffee (supplied by Kim and Jim) out on the patio and the pool each morning and snacking on some of Kim's fresh bread or brownies :) Nightly dips in the spa with pineapple sparkeling wine after grilling out on one of their gas grills was also pretty fantastic. Because Wai Ola is located outside the big resort areas, you get a chance to see thousands of stars at night accompanied by the sweet sound of the ocean breeze drifting through the palm trees. Wai Ola is laid back and unpretentious and Kim and Jim are so welcoming we truly felt like we were staying with an aunt and uncle rather than a stranger's rental property. They truly helped put the finishing touches on what turned out to be our best vacation ever! Mahalo.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank molly4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.1 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ola Vacation Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

Property: Wai Ola Vacation Paradise
Address: 1565 Kuuipo St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an alternative to the hustle and bustle of the name brand resort hotels in Maui? Wai Ola Vacation Paradise is especially for romantic couples looking for a private, intimate vacation experience. Just four units with a maximum occupancy of two (adults only) per room gives a feeling of seclusion not found many places. So if it's your honeymoon, anniversary, or just a vacation without the kids, come check out Wai Ola Vacation Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing