We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Nearby Hotels
US$548
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aina Nalu(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,477)
Filter reviews
5,477 results
Traveller rating
2,322
1,677
807
431
240
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,322
1,677
807
431
240
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolblack swanocean viewself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishan umbrellaabc storekaanapali beachfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
3,976 - 3,981 of 5,477 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We're beach people, and we're disappointed with the management decisions at this Westin. Day one we found out that if we wanted to lie on lounge chairs on the beach, we had to rent them for $36/day, which included an umbrella, and we could only keep them until 4pm. Given that we're already paying a $25/day resort fee, it seems a little cheezy that we couldn't get lounge chairs without being hit for another $36.

But that turned out to be a good deal. Today is Day 2, and we're no longer allowed to lounge on the beach at all. We can't rent the beach umbrella because of a wind advisory. (So far, it's less windy than it was yesterday.) Fair enough, I can understand not renting out the beach umbrellas because it's too windy, but they refused to rent us the lounge chairs because you're only allowed to rent lounge chairs with a beach umbrella, and they won't rent us the beach umbrella. This makes no sense, because they WILL rent us their zero gravity beach chairs (basically, lawn chairs), which are far more likely to pose a hazard on a windy day than the lounge chairs. So basically, today is no day at the beach.

We're scrambling to find something else to do today, but between the nickle and diming and the bizarre beach rules, will definitely be staying somewhere friendlier to "beachers" on future trips to Maui.

P.S. The $25/day resort fee gives you self-parking and wireless Internet, which is handy if you feel the need writing a Tripadvisor review.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation_Addict66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We just love the westin Properties and now, we love Hawaii! I just have three negative comments and then I will praise the resort for our stay. First, upon check-in, as Starwood Preferred guests, we were reserved a room with a free upgrade from a deluxe oceanview. We were told there was no upgrade available. A little disappointing. We had a partial oceanview room facing the Whaler's village. It overlooks the parking lot, which is a very busy, noisy, truck polluted area, especially in the mornings. My second complaint is that the resort, surrounding resorts and the Whaler's village, close VERY early...10pm. Not that we are late party animals, but seemed a little early to have the resort cleared out and so quiet at that time. My third complaint was the self-parking lot. We rented a Ford Mustang convertible, along with probably 30 other hotel guests. The partkingspaces are painted VERY small! Hard to find spots and fit is a suv or car parked line to line. I suggest they repaint the lines to accomodate other vehicles rather than compact cars. I really don't think many people who visit Hawaii rent compact cars.

The resort is absolutely beautiful. They do have a resort fee. Resort fee always seems silly to me but just make sure you drink your two bottles of water. Housekeeping was always good, staff was very friendly. Our room included a buffet breakfast which was great every morning. The Whaler's village next door was a nice little shopping center with a McDonalds and a good frozen yogurt shop. We always found chairs at the pools and didn't have a problem getiing a waitress at the pool. They do have a shuttle service to a couple locations as well as the other Starwood propeties, which is nice. Located right on the beach with great access. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Book exactly the room you want
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Formytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here 8 nights the first week of June. We loved it! Pools were great. The best beach location of all the nearby properties. Beds were heavenly. Housekeeping was very thorough & all staff very helpful always such as Wayne at the front desk. Our personal consierge Sarah Craig was awesome & gave us great info!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utefanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Unfortunately, our experience at the Westin Maui didn’t come close to matching the stay we had a competitor’s hotel in Kauai. Instead of a relaxing resort feel, we were met by loud children at the pool and loud birds in the lobby that create a forced ambiance. We could get over this though if the staff would have been more helpful or friendly. Staff members were curt and never went above and beyond what was required to help you out or make you feel welcome. Valet isn’t fully staffed so plan on delays getting your car; self-parking lot fills up fast. Never enough towels or waters in the rooms. Plus side? Good location to Front Street and David Paul’s Restaurant (a welcome break from the Westin experience).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepperGoGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

It is a beach location in area called Kaanapali...Its perfect for golfers as well, as there is a golf court just across the street from the hotel. The beach in front of the hotel is nice, and there are plenty things to do as well, from renting a kayak to scubadive in the ocean. small shopping mall is next to the hotel, as well few of the restaurants (Hula grill, Barefoot bar etc.)....Overall the hotel is nice. If you want a higer class hotel, I would recommend Ritz Carlton - little bit further away from everything...or Waldorf Astoria - very class hotel on the other side of the island.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxximus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews