We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Raanana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Beautiful surroundings, beautiful pool, very friendly and helpful staff, the concierge services were excellent, it was very convenient that there was a travel agency inside the hotel to book tours, and that some of the popular activities like whale watch sale and the snorkel sail just start at the hotel's beach right next to the pool, Seattle service was good, very clean room , food selection great, excellent location, very very pleased

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,130
    1,572
    736
    400
    221
See reviews for
1,618
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a pretty good stay here in September 2012. The rooms were average for a Westin, not especially big and a little bit worn, but clean and with comfortable Westin beds. We were SPG Gold and got a high-level oceanview room, which did have a wonderful view.

The pool was huge--really several pools connected together, with a fairly fast and long slide that I went down several times (me and all the kiddies there taking turns...).

The hotel is right along the beach boardwalk, and there is great snorkeling at Black Rock about 10-15 minutes walk up the boardwalk, right by the Sheraton. We were pleasantly surprised by the snorkeling and waters at Black Rock--there is lots of sealife to look at there, the water is warm and clear, and you don't even need to snorkel or swim to meet the huge turtles that come right up to shore. The turtles seem to show up every morning, at least during the time we were there.

We had breakfast only once at the hotel; the food and service were quite good, though at typical hotel prices. There are quite a lot of dining options nearby, so if you have a car you can explore other good eats.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stay at the Hyatt!
Firstly they put us in a room that was directly overlloking construction with a small glimpse of ocean, but what they failed to mention after a very long delayed and rude check-in was that construction work would start at 7am! On our holidays that was not an acceptable time to be woken up especially without being informed of this, so when they moved us we were put in a room literally overlooking the carpark, we were so annoyed but because the staff was so rude we didn't bother to complian we just put up with it and thought we would NOT reccomend this place to anyone for Maui, and we'd never stay there again. The restaurants are a dud, and the pool area is very underwhelming and very boring, even around the adult pool area with bar, there is just no atmosphere in this place, we walked down the beachfront and went into the Hyatt Pool, this is the resort we should have stayed at, very friendly service, pool bar had baseball on the screens and fun lively servers creating a really fun vibe, there was family's honeymooners and everyone was loving it, an ex san diego chargers quarterback was there on his honeymoon, and I can tell from this resort why anyone with money would choose to stay here over anywheer else on the beachfront. The pool was to die for, it had fun kiddies areas and slides, an under cave grotto pool with it's own seperate bar, the poolside food is great, the location right on the beach is beautiful and when we asked a concierge could we see a room type the rooms were so much nicer than anything we had seen at the Westin, basically if you want overpriced and not really quality stay at the westin, if you want a truely superb resort then stay at the Hyatt, I would next time we go to maui, and if we were on our honeymoon at the Westin I wouldve checked out staightaway and gohne to stay in the Hyatt, don't make that mistake, just stay at the right place the first time round - the hyatt! Can't say enough great things about this resort, and enogh about how disappointed we were in the Westin, and we are part of their star club membership whatever, terrible place!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere - seriously! But if you have to stay here make sure they don't put you in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NonnieHi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to read your comments as they are certainly not representative of our standards and it is our commitment to provide renewing experiences for our guests. Rest assured that we have shared these concerns with our team for immediate follow up. We look forward to showering you with our true spirit of Aloha on your next visit to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My check in at the Westin Maui was unpleasant. I had a few questions upon check in and the gentleman serving me was not able to provide answers, so I had to get them from a manager. As well I felt very rushed by him. The room was a big disappointment too. The room was in need on desperate renovation. The grounds are gorgeous and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We have shared your comments with our team for follow up. We hope to welcome you to experience our enhancements soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Ocean view is great with table and chair. 9th floor was quiet. Breakfast is expensive so buying the inclusive package is worth it. The Sheraton buffet breakfast is included with Westin package and is as nice as the Westin and is only a short walk away. Convenient shuttle to Lahaina included. Pleasant walkway in front of hotel connecting beach resorts and Whalers mall. Good restaurants at mall. Relaxing vacation. Pay attention to happy hour deals at hotel and local restaurants. Everyone was nice. Single fee for WiFi and parking reasonable and less hassle. Ask for 4 towel cards at check in- no charge and nice to have extras.

Room Tip: Ocean view, higher floors for view and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysBeFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The room was average. Needed updating. Tile and grout needed cleaning. Nightly the reverberation of a nearby bar kept us awake. We were told they were full and could not move us. Front desk staff pleasant...all shifts. Parking attendants....not so pleasant. Restaurants and gym were fine. Pools were clean and adequate. For the money, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: avoid the "mountain view" , though nice to look at, the bar near the highway has nightly m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Mahalo for your kind words regarding our services and facilities. Your valuable feedback will help us in our efforts to continuously improve and deliver services that exceed guest expectations. We look forward to another opportunity for you to find renewal at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We just got back from a 10 day stay at the Westin Maui Resort and had a great experience! We stayed in the Beach Tower in an ocean view room and it was really nice. I read some comments here before going and was a bit worried about the room quality but I did not find that to be the case at all - in fact it was the opposite - our room was really nice and the view couldn't be beat.

We thought the service was good - especially the restaurant and pool side servers. The concierges were helpful but I felt they did not really know what features the hotel had to offer, in particular the current dining options. You are better off referring to Trip Advisor for your dining ideas.

The hotel property is gorgeous - my kids loved all the pools and the waterslide. The beach was nice too - we walked down to Black Rock and snorkelled after renting the gear from the hotel.

My only suggestions to the Westin is to do something about those tiny parking spaces - we had a large SUV and it was very difficult to park there and to not turn on the Tropica restaurant music before 7 a.m. - on our last night it was turned on at 5 a.m. and our room was above it...woke us all up. (didn't notice it the other nights though)

We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: The ocean front room is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing