We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - wonderful staff and beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I was going to stay at the Sheritan as it was the venue for the event I was attending but thank goodness I didn't! as I was able to see both hotels and believe me the Westin is more beautiful and lively. The staff especially Grace on the front desk was very obliging and went out of her way to make sure my room was the one I wanted, she was very efficient and friendly which made my stay at the Westin a very comfortable.
The artwork is outstanding compared to the Sheritan and the energy was uplifting, I found that the Sheritan seemed quite snobby compared to the Westins friendly staff. Altogether a wonderful experience - thank you Westin keep up the good work.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the waterfalls and sea it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamRobinson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,900 - 2,906 of 5,224 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We just traveled to Maui for 10 days less than a week ago, spending a few days at another resort and the rest at the Westin Maui on Kaanapali. Comparing the other resort to this one and to the Westin's own brand standard, the Westin Maui fell short in almost every way. We are platinum members of the rewards program and feel as if we wasted our very hard earned points and precious vacation time at this hotel.

Our disappointment started at check in. Unfortunately, all the reviews that complain about wait times for check in are completely accurate. It took more than 30 minutes for us to check in. During a very busy time, there were only two agents working the front desk. There is no priority checkin for platinum members. We initially booked a room and a suite upgrade months before. We were told 1 day before checkin, after it was too late to book elsewhere, that we would not be getting a suite. After checking directly with the hotels website, suites were available at the hotel. However, the very harried agent at checkin was unable to give us the suite we had booked. She did give us a slightly lager room instead. This room, however, overlooked Whaler's Village, which was quite noisy at times. The rooms at the Westin, even the mid grade rooms, are significantly smaller than at some other resorts on the same beach.

Our shock and disappointment continued when we discovered the ridiculous and low class hogging of the pool chairs, which the staff does absolutely nothing to prevent, despite the posted signs that say if chairs are left unattended, they will be cleared for other guests. Service by staff at the pool is sporadic at best. Drinks and food at this resort are very slightly less expensive than others, however, the quality is significantly lower, as well.

Despite being on a Preferred Guest floor, we could tell no difference from any other floor. There is no club, no cocktail hour, no light breakfast. We were given 2 bottled waters per day in the room for our platinum status, when the maid remembered to leave them. We compared this to other resorts where the preferred floors include club access and premier amenities.

We dined at both the restaurants on site. The pool bar and grill restaurant had basic sandwiches, salads and main dishes. The nicer restaurant on site, despite having an amazing location facing the beach, had some of the worst food I've had on Hawaii. We could not even finish the appetizer, as it was absolutely terrible. When questioned by the waitress, we were told by her, "Why didn't you tell me you didn't like that?" as if we knew it was going to be awful and it was our responsibility to prevent it from being served. The main dish, which was a fresh fish, was just ok. It was fresh, but there was zero complexity and very under seasoned. It was the last time we ate at the resort.

The concierge was little more than a salesperson for the timeshare villas. We were stopped by her for our free gift of a Westin bag and a box of chocolates. She asked us how our stay was, and we honestly and politely said that we felt the resort was not what we expected in a not so good way. She said "Oh" and then asked us if we'd be interested in a time share. There was absolutely no concern or interest in any of the issues at the property, which I think the staff is probably well aware of. We spoke to her for a few minutes, and then she asked us again to go on the timeshare presentation. We again told her that we were not impressed with the resort and therefore would not be interested in purchasing there, and again, zero interest was displayed in making anything better or right.

Two incidents really sealed the deal for our poor review of this resort. One, a friend was hurt on property, due to the poor design of a part of the resort. While the management did pay for her doctor visit, they never apologized or checked on her after the fact. Thankfully, she was ok. Second, our child was hurt on the coral while renting a board from the surf school on the Westin property. The staff at Westin refused to send a wheelchair, a medic or any help at all because our child was on the beach and therefore "off property." They refused to help us in any way, shape or form even though we were currently engaged in an activity booked on site (surf lesson). We were left to completely fend for ourselves and again, no one ever made any effort to determine if he was ok after the fact.

In summation, there is a general aura of bitterness and lack of caring by the staff at this resort. Our experience at the other resort we stayed at in Maui was night and day compared to this one, so we know how good it can be. It definitely does not live up to the Westin "brand," and we very definitely can NOT recommend it to anyone, despite it's excellent location on Ka'anapali beach.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't book the basic rooms. Book at least the mid grade. But honestly, book e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BarefootTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience us on Tripadvisor. We regret that you found your stay with us less than memorable. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have shared. As your valuable feedback is very important to us, rest assured that necessary measures have been taken. We would certainly like to connect with you to learn more. Do visit our website for our contact information and we look forward to hearing from you by email or phone. Again, please accept our sincere apologies as we hope to welcome you back and provide you with a true Westin experience. Warmest aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spent 5 days at this hotel in February 2012 and although we loved the outside grounds the standard room we got was very small. We hoped that at least the balcony would have a regular size but it was also extremely small. If you like to spend most of the day outside and just come to your room to sleep you should be fine. Be beware though that the size of the regular rooms is extremely small. You even have the sink (that is usually in the bathroom) in your room. We didn't pay for our stay (used points) but the rates were very high in February and we would be very disappointed if we had to pay the full price for our room.

We found the restaurant Tropica very good with wonderful fixed price menus. The food was outstanding for the price.

Westin was very busy in February. Dealing with large volumes of guests, the staff didn't have too much time or patience for questions about the resort or the island.

We would not stay at Westin Maui Resort again! We would rather choose Sheraton or Westin Villas or a condo while in Maui next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Mahalo for your review and compliments of Tropica Restaurant & Bar. As we strive to provide the ultimate island getaway, your valuable feedback has been shared with our leadership team. We appreciate your constructive comments and look forward to delighting you with our transformations during your next island getaway. Malama pono (take care)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We just left the Westin Resort and Spa in Maui on Kaanapali beach yesterday. We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. At first impression we were wowed when we walked into the open air lobby. The property was gorgeous. From viewing the other hotels on the kaanapali beach strip, the Westin Resort had the best pools (5 total including 1 adults only) and property. The Hyatt had very nice pools too, but their beach was not nearly as nice as the Westin. The Westin down towards the Sheraton have the best section of beach. The water is calmer and there is a wide stretch of sand to lounge. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room in the separate tower (I think it was the Beach Tower) which I heard is more updated than the Ocean Tower. We had a spectacular view of the beach all the way down to Black Rock. The room was very clean and there is an option to not have your room cleaned. If you select this daily, you receive a $5 voucher to use for food on the property. We got $20 during our stay and put it towards our last dinner. The dining is okay, not great. It is a little over priced for the quality, but we still enjoyed it. There are also many other restaurants you can easily walk to from the beach walk. We had lunch at Hulu's grill and barefoot in the sand (the tables are set up on sand so you can take your shoes off while you eat). Hulu's is located right next to the Westin. The food was excellent! We enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich: delicious! Also, the Westin is located right next to Whaler's Village which is a very nice outdoor shopping center. We did a lot of souvenir shopping there. There are tons of beach and water activities on the property. We also loved the whale watch with Gemini tours. The Gemini catamaran picks you up right on the Westin resort beach. The location is the best perk of the Westin. It really is the best spot on the beach: so close to everything! We loved our time on Maui island! We drove part of the Hana highway and walked to twin falls (mile marker 2 on the highway). We ate at the Pa'ai fish market (delicious) and walked through the cute town of Pa'ai. We drove to the top of Haleakala Crater and watched the sunrise (truly inspiring!). We also recommend after Haleakala stoping for breakfast at Kula Lodge located at the bottom of the road. We had pancakes with coconut syrup!! Lastly, we went zip lining through Skyline Eco Adventures. We did the Kaanapali course that was very close to the Westin (we could walk to the check in location at the Fairway Shops). This zip line course is high above the Kaanapali resorts and has beautiful ocean views!
Wonderful stay in Maui at the Westin Resort and Spa!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtpt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We came here after a lovely and relaxing time in the Wailea area. What a culture shock! Kaanapali is crowded, busy, noisy, bustling and over-booked. We were expecting the luxury and ambiance that we have come to know in other Westins and this did not meet the grade. Although the lobby and common areas are spectacular, the Westin touch ends there. Rooms were very basic, service was rushed and harried, the pool was overcrowded with people jostling for a position for a chair, bar service at the pool was sketchy at best but mostly non-existant. The restaurants were just adaquate- there are much better places to eat in the surrounding areas. Our room which was one of the higher catagories- unfortunately had a view right over the Whalers Village Shopping Center directly next door. With that came the crowd noise and the unrelenting roar of the industrial air conditioning units along with restaurant exhausts. A room with two double beds is not large enough to accomodate a family of 4- we had no room to store our stuff and were continually tripping over each other.

A plus is that there are lots of activities available right on the beach. We tried paddle boarding (not too successfully) and took an afternoon catamaran and snorkling tour which was fun. We attending the best luau ever at the Old Lahaina Luau. You need to book this weeks before your arrival to assure yourself a spot. You can get on the waitlist if you book when you arrive in Maui but you will be taking your chances with getting in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynns17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your review. Our prime location for dining and island activities is surely a benefit when staying at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. We are delighted to read that you took full advantage of that. We truly appreciate your feedback and have shared them with our team. We hope that you will return and experience our enhancements in the future. Warmest aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

A bit expensive for the quality.

Good beach location, easy access to lots of things to do, including some very respectable restaurants. There is good shopping nearby too.

The room was older than I expected, and not really value for the money.

The service was excellent - everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have been to Mau'i at least fifteen times and ALWAYS stay at the Westin Mau'i located on beautiful Ka'anapali Beach. This stylish hotel is warm, friendly and defines the Spirit of Aloha to me. All of the other hotels in the area are either mega-monstrosities which are better suited to Vegas, in need of renovation or totally lacking in island feel--stay at the Fresno Holiday Inn if that's what you're looking for. I'm a world traveller, if I may modestly state, and not a "tourist." That is a major difference in travel attitude. I go to soak up and experience what is LOCAL and unique to the destination; a tourist longs for toilets to flush as they do back in Des Moines. Trust me, there IS nowhere other than the Westin Mau'i to stay on this treasured isle. Carlito in food service, alone, will make you realize that he, and the Westin, welcome you and yearn for your inevitable return. Yes, Toto, "there is no place like home" . . . Unless, of course, it's the Westin Mau'i.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank RobertoKappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £272 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing