We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location - and some select employees stand out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location - and some select employees stand out!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have stayed at the Westin Maui 3 times in the last 3 years, 13 day stay for our last trip 10/27 - 11/8.

The best thing about the hotel is its location on Kaanapali beach. The beach is wide enough to sit on and located in an area that does not generally see rough surf (some properties up by the Hyatt do not have enough beachfront to sit on). It is within walking distance to Whalers Village for shopping and dining, as well as Starbucks at Beach Walk (name?) and Black Rock for snorkeling.

Some of the staff members definetely deserve a shout out for showing the Aloha Spirit, and being excellent representatives for Starwood / Westin - the staff at Ono and especially Melinda who treats us like family every time and Joycelyn too; Eddie and Chris at the adult pool bar; and Carol the concierge.

There are also employees who are not so good at showing the Aloha Spirit - much of the front desk - the rep who checked us in and said there were no upgrades available (we have stayed in both the "old" and "new" towers of this hotel and had over 20k in starpoints to use for any available upgrade). The gentleman actually chuckled when I asked and gave a quick no. I get that they are not always available but is there any account for how early we booked and how much money we have spent staying at this hotel over the years?

Checking out was also a BIG disappointment. I had requested a late check out when our reservation was made several months in advance. Our flight out of Maui was nit leaving until 11 PM, but again no - and the reason the lady at the front desk gave was the most frustrating.....another guest was checking into our room EARLY! Great Aloha Spirit guys, you do see the irony in that I hope - ha ha ha!!! Not such a great way to make us feel special. She then discouraged over having us use the hospitality suite, um ok - never mind then if it's going to be that much of a problem for you Westin.

We had some complaints that we addressed with the front desk and some that we didn't - mainly based on experience. A crying baby (3-5 AM) next-door who one rep told us the family checked out, and another told us to call security and report them....really? Housekeeping leaves much to be desired and granted this stay was in the older part of the hotel there is no excuse for it to be dirty. The halls and rooms are covered in dust, our room was not vacuumed - the same plastic tag was on the floor 10 of 13 days, we changed our own lightbulb in the bathroom, one of our room phones didn't work, etc. Oh and make sure you are getting your 2 bottles of water per day. This is part of the "resort fee" here but if housekeeping sees that you have water in the fridge they won't give you more!!!

All of the pools are beginning to show their age and likely will need repair soon. The property is well kept otherwise. Adult pool has the best chairs. The slide is fun, even for adults. Have breakfast at Ono overlooking the ocean, it's beautiful and the food is plentiful.

So why stay at the Westin Maui? LOCATION!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room but don't expect to get it, try asking for a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Aloha! Your generous compliments are most heart-warming and certainly inspire our associates, thank you! We appreciate your loyalty and we sincerely regret the experiences you had during your stay. Rest assured that the relevant departments have taken necessary measures to prevent similar recurrences. We look forward to another opportunity to surprise and delight you. Until then, stay well and warmest aloha from all of us at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    1,517
    709
    389
    212
See reviews for
1,535
2,140
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you're going to Maui and want a luxurious room - or even a clean, well appointed room, don't stay at the Westin Maui Resort. But if you want the best location, great beach, easy access to Whalers Village and pretty good service at the bars, the Westin Maui Resort is it. But be prepared, this is not a typical Westin; it doesn't come close to the standards of the Westin chain. The rooms are run down, shabby and...well, they're dirty. If you're unfortunate and get stuck in the lower level rooms, the noise from the parking lot, pool and/or restaurants makes it impossible to get any peace. BUT the location is outstanding and the views from the higher floors absolutely breathtaking so it can be worth the tradeoff.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the 8th floor or higher in the Beach Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dognese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Mahalo for your review as we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our bar services and the proximity to countless activities on Ka’anapali Beach. Your valuable feedback was shared with our leadership team. Let us renew your spirit and provide you with a true Westin experience upon your return. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We booked a week in Wailea and a week in Kaanapali. Upon coming to the Westin with our 4 children, they told us they could not accommodate our request for adjoining rooms NOR our request for the newly renovated rooms. They gave us two rooms right next door to each other facing the ANGRY Bird Sanctuary and Waterfall and just across from the elevators. Our first night was excruciatingly aweful. Neither of us slept with the elevators dinging as they reached the floor, met the floor and left the floor all night long. The crazy birds. The sliding glass door that had a reverberation so loud it actually had different octaves. The toilet that made gurgling noises throughout the night and the wind that howled through the hotel. Not to mention, the room is TINY!! The bed is super NOT heavenly and overall it is very delapitated. I complained. They stared at me blankly, hacked away at the computer, said there were two rooms adjoining overlooking Whalers Village and when I asked if those rooms were as noisy and uncomfortable as the rooms I was in, she wouldn't answer me. As it took me about 2 hours to unpack everyone and find rooms for 6 peoples clothes and luggage that were traveling for 2 weeks, I was not interested in wasting any more of my vacation on goose chases.
The breakfast buffet was disgusting...the crazy birds were in the food and it was cold and not yummy anyway.
This hotel is crap. I will NEVER stay at another Westin. Ever.
You want a good Maui Experience? Pay a bit extra for the Four Seasons or the Grand Wailea in Wailea where the weather is better (no wind) and the people are nicer and the food is far superior.

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel would be better...any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. As the comfort and satisfaction of each and every guest is of the highest importance to us, we are disappointed to read your comments and we apologize for these inconveniences. Your discerning feedback is much appreciated and we would like to assure you that we will make every effort to make you feel confident in us again. Warmest aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon. We were disappointed when we arrived to find out our ocean front room was not available and we were being downgraded to a pool and partial ocean view. At first we were really upset but the manager worked with us to compensate us. The room we ended up in was not bad and we still had a view of the ocean. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. The beach area was beautiful as well and offered some great spots for snorkeling. It was a very kid/family friendly place which sometimes annoyed us while trying to relax on our honeymoon. There is an adult pool area that offers some peace and quiet. Location was great, staff was friendly and accommadting. We would choose to go back here again, maybe not for a romantic get away but rather with future family. Overall happy with our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I was going to stay at the Sheritan as it was the venue for the event I was attending but thank goodness I didn't! as I was able to see both hotels and believe me the Westin is more beautiful and lively. The staff especially Grace on the front desk was very obliging and went out of her way to make sure my room was the one I wanted, she was very efficient and friendly which made my stay at the Westin a very comfortable.
The artwork is outstanding compared to the Sheritan and the energy was uplifting, I found that the Sheritan seemed quite snobby compared to the Westins friendly staff. Altogether a wonderful experience - thank you Westin keep up the good work.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the waterfalls and sea it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamRobinson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We just traveled to Maui for 10 days less than a week ago, spending a few days at another resort and the rest at the Westin Maui on Kaanapali. Comparing the other resort to this one and to the Westin's own brand standard, the Westin Maui fell short in almost every way. We are platinum members of the rewards program and feel as if we wasted our very hard earned points and precious vacation time at this hotel.

Our disappointment started at check in. Unfortunately, all the reviews that complain about wait times for check in are completely accurate. It took more than 30 minutes for us to check in. During a very busy time, there were only two agents working the front desk. There is no priority checkin for platinum members. We initially booked a room and a suite upgrade months before. We were told 1 day before checkin, after it was too late to book elsewhere, that we would not be getting a suite. After checking directly with the hotels website, suites were available at the hotel. However, the very harried agent at checkin was unable to give us the suite we had booked. She did give us a slightly lager room instead. This room, however, overlooked Whaler's Village, which was quite noisy at times. The rooms at the Westin, even the mid grade rooms, are significantly smaller than at some other resorts on the same beach.

Our shock and disappointment continued when we discovered the ridiculous and low class hogging of the pool chairs, which the staff does absolutely nothing to prevent, despite the posted signs that say if chairs are left unattended, they will be cleared for other guests. Service by staff at the pool is sporadic at best. Drinks and food at this resort are very slightly less expensive than others, however, the quality is significantly lower, as well.

Despite being on a Preferred Guest floor, we could tell no difference from any other floor. There is no club, no cocktail hour, no light breakfast. We were given 2 bottled waters per day in the room for our platinum status, when the maid remembered to leave them. We compared this to other resorts where the preferred floors include club access and premier amenities.

We dined at both the restaurants on site. The pool bar and grill restaurant had basic sandwiches, salads and main dishes. The nicer restaurant on site, despite having an amazing location facing the beach, had some of the worst food I've had on Hawaii. We could not even finish the appetizer, as it was absolutely terrible. When questioned by the waitress, we were told by her, "Why didn't you tell me you didn't like that?" as if we knew it was going to be awful and it was our responsibility to prevent it from being served. The main dish, which was a fresh fish, was just ok. It was fresh, but there was zero complexity and very under seasoned. It was the last time we ate at the resort.

The concierge was little more than a salesperson for the timeshare villas. We were stopped by her for our free gift of a Westin bag and a box of chocolates. She asked us how our stay was, and we honestly and politely said that we felt the resort was not what we expected in a not so good way. She said "Oh" and then asked us if we'd be interested in a time share. There was absolutely no concern or interest in any of the issues at the property, which I think the staff is probably well aware of. We spoke to her for a few minutes, and then she asked us again to go on the timeshare presentation. We again told her that we were not impressed with the resort and therefore would not be interested in purchasing there, and again, zero interest was displayed in making anything better or right.

Two incidents really sealed the deal for our poor review of this resort. One, a friend was hurt on property, due to the poor design of a part of the resort. While the management did pay for her doctor visit, they never apologized or checked on her after the fact. Thankfully, she was ok. Second, our child was hurt on the coral while renting a board from the surf school on the Westin property. The staff at Westin refused to send a wheelchair, a medic or any help at all because our child was on the beach and therefore "off property." They refused to help us in any way, shape or form even though we were currently engaged in an activity booked on site (surf lesson). We were left to completely fend for ourselves and again, no one ever made any effort to determine if he was ok after the fact.

In summation, there is a general aura of bitterness and lack of caring by the staff at this resort. Our experience at the other resort we stayed at in Maui was night and day compared to this one, so we know how good it can be. It definitely does not live up to the Westin "brand," and we very definitely can NOT recommend it to anyone, despite it's excellent location on Ka'anapali beach.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't book the basic rooms. Book at least the mid grade. But honestly, book e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarefootTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience us on Tripadvisor. We regret that you found your stay with us less than memorable. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have shared. As your valuable feedback is very important to us, rest assured that necessary measures have been taken. We would certainly like to connect with you to learn more. Do visit our website for our contact information and we look forward to hearing from you by email or phone. Again, please accept our sincere apologies as we hope to welcome you back and provide you with a true Westin experience. Warmest aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spent 5 days at this hotel in February 2012 and although we loved the outside grounds the standard room we got was very small. We hoped that at least the balcony would have a regular size but it was also extremely small. If you like to spend most of the day outside and just come to your room to sleep you should be fine. Be beware though that the size of the regular rooms is extremely small. You even have the sink (that is usually in the bathroom) in your room. We didn't pay for our stay (used points) but the rates were very high in February and we would be very disappointed if we had to pay the full price for our room.

We found the restaurant Tropica very good with wonderful fixed price menus. The food was outstanding for the price.

Westin was very busy in February. Dealing with large volumes of guests, the staff didn't have too much time or patience for questions about the resort or the island.

We would not stay at Westin Maui Resort again! We would rather choose Sheraton or Westin Villas or a condo while in Maui next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Mahalo for your review and compliments of Tropica Restaurant & Bar. As we strive to provide the ultimate island getaway, your valuable feedback has been shared with our leadership team. We appreciate your constructive comments and look forward to delighting you with our transformations during your next island getaway. Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,875 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing