We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is a beautiful property and location. The pool and grounds are outstanding. But we can't recommend this hotel and will advise against staying here. We planned our 25th anniversary trip with one week at the Westin thinking it would live up to the Westin brand. Room cleanliness is terrible. Carpets, furniture, bedding is all stained. Furniture is worn out. We complained immediately upon checking in and were offered two rooms with similar conditions. We settled on the third try after a long journey and ready to be done. No follow up form the staff, daily housekeeping is minimal. Must be hard to find good help on Maui! We had a great time in HI despite the Westin letting us down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gccch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your review is valuable to ensure that our guests celebrating a momentous occasion receive the utmost attention and service. Congratulations on your milestone! We hope to have another opportunity to surprise and delight you with our enhancements during your next romantic escape. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,768 - 2,774 of 5,154 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I read all the reviews leading up to our trip. I have stayed at the Ritz in Kapalua and the Grand Wailea and Kea Lani in Wailea. We stayed at The Westin because I had a lot of SPG points and reluctantly based on reviews of other travelers. Is it a five-star hotel? No. Do rooms need updating...yes [and they are doing this now]. Can you live with the current state of the accomodation? Without a doubt. Service was great with the entire staff [valet, front desk, restaurants, house keeping and pool]. You can't beat the location with walks to restaurants off property, hotel shuttle service to other Starwood properties and Lahaina. Beach is outstanding and overall we were very pleased. We traveled without our children but they would have loved this hotel, the pools and waterfalls...and the Westin Kids program looked amazing. Great option. We didn't spend much time in the room but the bed was great and we did stay in one night due to early departure for Haleakala. We rented a movie and had room service and it was great. Likely the same people complaining about how terrible the state of this hotel is are the same travelers who fly to Maui only to sit by the pool for their entire stay....stop eating and drinking, get out of your room and go see the island. But if you are planning on spending every waking moment at the hotel or in your room...maybe invest in something more upscale.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dhaley2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that you had an amazing romantic retreat. For your next escape to Maui, we hope to welcome your children to enjoy our Westin Kids Club®, pools and activities. Malama pono (take care)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Although I vacation in Maui twice a year, this is the first time I've stayed at the Westin Maui sine 2005, opting instead for the Westin Villas. I remember when this hotel was the Maui Surf. When Westin took it over they were limited by the room layout to do what they do best...So the room is what it is, smaller in the living and especially the bathroom areas. I understand they remodeling the rooms starting from top to bottom to give it a new look. Beware when requesting the top floors at the time of this writing as there could be a noise issue.
Now the positives: Great swimming area with an adult pool which has it's own bar. Good restaurants..Ono for small plate and Tropica for evening dining... Grab a table on the grass facing the ocean for an early bird special and sunset. Location, probably in my opinion, one of the best in the Kaanapali Resort area. Located next door to Whalers Village, it's just a short walk to shops and restaurants that populate area...Finally, GREAT STAFF. From Valet to Housekeeping to the front desk, I coudn't have been treated nicer.
I stayed four nights and can truely say I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank penolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review and for selecting The Westin Maui Resort & Spa for your island getaway. We look forward to your next visit to Maui. Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We've been here three times. First time 10 years ago... Awesome. But now it's showing wear and tear and needing updating. Location is great and service is good but generally needs an update everywhere. Rooms, pool, and etc are worn and not being kept up. Starwood...time to spend money on the hotel rather than trying to sell timeshares to anyone that has a pulse. Your lack of attention to the people paying the bills is starting to show.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DNRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team. We hope you will enjoy our enhancements in the future. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My husband and I went to Maui in September and we could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Westin Maui Resort. Our room was on the 7th floor with an ocean view. We had a fabulous view in the morning and at sunset, but I can assure you that there is so much you will want to do that you will spend very little time in your room. The beds are heavenly! This resort is right on the beach with several other resorts/hotels nearby. There are several large pools, including a water slide at the Westin Maui Resort with great areas for families, but also an adult only area. There are waitresses by the pools to serve drinks and meals throughout the afternoon. Whalers Village (full of shops and restaurants) is a short walk away and there are FREE shuttles if you want to travel to Lahaina area shops. Meals can be more expensive; however, portions tend to be larger and many meals can be shared. Restaurants around the Westin all have Happy Hour specials on appetizers and drinks, which is a great way to save some money on food and drinks. There's always live music and a variety of activities available including snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, surfing and paddle boarding. Again, we could not have been happier with our stay at the Westin Resort and are looking forward to going back in a few years. When you plan a trip to Maui, be sure to purchase a travel book to research attractions and restaurant recommendations ahead of time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xLittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The Westin maui is a great place and my family loves it. The rooms are a little dated but they still have the heavenly beds and powerful showers - so no real complaints!! They have a lagoon type area where they have ostriches and other animals inlcuding some lovely talking parrots. The pool area has a waterslide which my kids just loved. Breakfast is expensive but the buffet has a superb selection where you can indulge and basically do your lunch session as well!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BondMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was our first visit to Kaanapali Beach and we chose the Westin Maui Resort because it was the most cost effective resort out of the 4 main large resorts (re: Westin, Marriot, Hyatt, Sheraton,etc;). We were made aware ahead of time about exhorbitant resort pricing and we weren't disappointed. Very pricy meals not only at the hotel but also Whalers Village restaurants and resort locations (Breakfast for 2 about $40.00/daily). Our room was clean (no insects) but with many miles on the carpet. (What do you expect at a beachfront resort with sandy feet coming into every room 24/7?). The $30.00/day resort fee covered our beach towels and 2 bottles of water per day placed in our little refridgerator. With the sliding door closed at night it was quiet. We were hardly in our rooms. Out every morning for long walks and changing into beach and pool attire in the afternoon. Considering the pricy nature of Kaanapali Beach resorts, the Westin was respectable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £249 - £587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing