We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort-as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have been going to this resort since 1992, when it was an independent chain owned by the United Airlines. We absolutely loved it, the level of luxury,quiet, the picturesque landscaping, beautiful beach with easy access, five pools with a separate children's pool,fine restaurants.We have been going there every year in Jan/Feb. We have also stayed at the Hyatt, Sheraton-they are not my cups of tea. Sheraton does not measure up to the levels of luxury as the Westin or Hyatt.
I am now planning for my next trip which will be Jan/Feb. of 2014.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room in he Beach Tower, they are a bit larger-400 sq.ft. v 340 at the Ocean Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alumnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,880 - 2,886 of 5,280 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel rooms are dated and not as clean as one would expect for the price. The staff seem unenthusiastic. Overall, this ia a 3.5 star hotel at 4.5 star prices- not a great value.

They appear to be redoing the hotel one or two floors at a time- I woud wait to stay here until the remodel is done. Maybe by then the management will have improved the service also.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobo3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I felt compelled to write this after reading some bad reviews. I'm sitting on the balcony of on ocean view suite overlooking the gorgeous pool/ gardens in front of me the fantastic maui mountains on my left and the ocean with a view of Lanai on my right. Hundreds of birds chirping at dawn were a welcome sound for a northern visitor - pretty magical from where I'm sitting.

The rooms are quite spacious and well set up but maybe more typical of a mainland hotel than a fancy resort. Great bed, fridge and ok nternet. There is a very good conference centre here as well.

Although there is a 30 dollar a day resort fee the gardens, gorgeous pools, water slide, beautiful beach ( with decent snorkelling and the sound of humpbacks under water right in front of the hotel) make this an ideal location for a family looking to relax and have fun and well worth it.

There isn't much parking but the valet will park for free if you can't find a spot. Great breakfast buffet overlooking the pool and beautiful koi pond with water lilies and pet flamingoes.

I'd certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_London_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I went to Maui for our first vacation without the kids. It has been 15 years since adding children to our life and we took a trip to Hawaii. What a great choice. We stayed at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa. The location of the resort is perfect. Right next door to the Whaler's Village and on Ka'anapali Beach, which is so beautiful. We stayed at this resort because we were scheduled to see Dr. Wayne Dyer at this resort. It was a great place to stay and everything was close and convenient. The beach and pool area was quite nice. The resort was not too busy this time of year, and that made it very pleasant indeed. I don't think I would come here with the kids because the room wasn't big enough, but it was perfect for a couple. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the resort and would recommend it as well. All of the employees were pleasant and helpful. We really liked our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swilson628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your generous compliments which are truly heart-warming and certainly inspire our associates. The resort is most ideal for a couple’s romantic retreat but if you plan on bringing family along the next time around, we do offer spacious suites and adjoining rooms as well as fun activities that would keep everyone happy. Until your next Maui trip, stay well and warmest aloha from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

we had been to maui before first time staing there................. swimming pool area fantastic for children.................. you can also go out to all the shops soooooooooooo near........... so many restaurants..................... bedroom very nice staff very polite................ so much to see there........ short distance to play golf........... not cheap...............you will not get bored there////////// kids can also have lessons surfing which my son did and my daughter did her scuba diving couse there \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\4 days and a qualified Padi member enjoy

Room Tip: higher floors not so much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally17june1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were first shown to room #757 which had an ocean view as we requested. However, our friends were staying in a room on the same floor which had a bar and seemed more open. In addition, there was construction going on below our room. We requested a room change and were given #725 which was next to an elevator where we could hear people conversing as they were coming and going. The first evening we reported an odd sound coming from the vent next to the bed that sounded like a vacuum cleaner running. Service could not explain it. We had to wear ear plugs every night to sleep through it.

The desk was slow, without apology. There is a $31.50 per day resort fee, which should be included in the cost of the room. I HATE resort fees!

Positives? The tours depart from the beach so there is no need to drive. Black Rock snorkeling is just a short walk away. The pools and landscape are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Mahalo for sharing your experiences. While we are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s close proximity to the beach and a myriad of activities available nearby and within the resort, it is regrettable that your stay was not more restful as it should be. We appreciate the opportunity to create a renewing experience on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at the Westin Maui when we traveled to Hawaii in July 2004. It was the greatest vacation we ever took. Not only is Hawaii an exceptional destination, the Westin was magnificent. Gorgeous is all I can say. The amenities are immaculate and luxurious. The Heavenly Beds still have me wanting for a Heavenly Bed at home. The most comfortable sleep ever. The resort is located directly on a quiet beach. The pool is beautiful, clean, and so interesting. I will definitely go back. I'm longing for it as I write this.

Room Tip: Enjoy. It will be over in the blink of an eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £278 - £588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing