We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience of Hawaii... Was fine after we moved rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First experience of Hawaii... Was fine after we moved rooms”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked this hotel by name using one of the price line services and specifying ocean view. When we arrived, we were impressed by the entrace and extravagant layout of the pools etc in the courtyard.

We arrived at 6pm and although there were only 1 or 2 people ahead of us had a rather long wait to check in. We had good rapport with staff when checking in but we were told our room wasn't ready, but not to worry we'd been upgraded to a nicer room.

I was dismayed to find our 'upgrade' was on the 2nd floor (the lowest floor) right above the delivery area, in a rather blah room in the BeachTower facing away from the resort (it was the designated handicapped room) right next to the Elevator with a partial view of the ocean and a lot of view of the neighborhing Whaler's Village mall roof. Though the beds are great in all rooms, I didn't sleep so well as the loading bay and various noises from the nearby businesses continued for much of the night and resumed in the early AM. I was also vaguely aware that one shouldn't sleep with only a screen door when one is on the ground floor of a hotel. The next AM we approached front desk staff and asked to be moved and were graciously moved to the sort of room I had expected - ocean view, no concern of safety while sleeping with only a screen door -- and elevator/loading bay noise. After that the remaining 3 nights were wonderful and we really enjoyed the location on Ka'anapali Beach. One has to ask though, do they try to give other people the bait and switch also? If we had reserved via the usual blind-bidding part of price line I could see them justifying sticking us in an awful place, but not when booking their hotel and paying specifically for a nice room. My wife wouldn't have wanted to 'make trouble' by requesting a move, had I not suggested it, but I suggest you nicely defend the definition of the room you've reserved if you have indeed specified a nice room.

Room Tip: See my review; best to get a room in Beach tower facing the pool or high above the loading dock; alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonWogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity to emphasize that guest satisfaction is of importance to us and that it was not our intent to disappoint you and your wife on your holiday. We are glad that our associates were able to arrange accommodations to your satisfaction and make your stay a special one. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,072
    1,528
    714
    391
    215
See reviews for
1,544
2,165
78
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This Hotel needs an upgrade now. Rooms are very dated. Price of the rooms are current but the Hotel is not. Front Desk staff also need to watch how customer service is at Valet/Concierge. They are amazingly friendly and prompt to all your needs. Front Desk staff were very matter of fact, get you in and thats all. Eating at the Hotel was also very expensive, especially when you have so many choices close. I have stayed at many Westins and this is the worst I have seen.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the front above entrance. You will hear noise all night. But an upgrade to beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDWest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We are truly sorry to learn that your experiences were less than satisfactory. Your feedback on the services will definitely be shared with the respective teams for further improvement. Hope you are ready to be surprised and delighted with our enhancements on your next visit. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I first stayed at this hotel when it was the Maui Surf and the Westin has updated and renovated this into a first class destination. Although we only had a mountain view room, it was clean and comfortable with a lanai that you could sit on. The pools and relaxation areas are abundant although the beach area is not the best for swimming. Service and comfort were great and I'll be back for more!

Room Tip: If you don't "need" an ocean view, all the rooms are great, the mountain view rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It must be exciting to personally experience the transformations, from the original Maui Surf Hotel to a distinctive Westin-branded resort. We look forward to introducing you to many more intuitive services on your future visits. Do not wait too long to return….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We are Starwood Preferred Gold members so we got an awesome ocean and pool view room on the 9th floor of the Beach Tower. The Ocean Tower is under renovation (top 3 floors are closed). Do NOT get a room in the Ocean Tower!! It is horrible, very old, and people in that building were very upset! Once they finish renovations, I think it will be great.

The property is showing its age, upon arrival there is nothing "inviting" about the property. Quite frankly, all of Maui looks hard hit by the recession. Once past the front doors though, it is quite nice.

Kids will LOVE the awesome pool. The Westin is a great place for kids. It is a busy and active property, if you are looking for a quite, serene place, this aint it! This is almost like a theme park setting.

Biggest Plus - LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Snorkeling, sailing, whale watching tours, Whaler's Village all right there! Gemini tours (whale watching and snorkel tours) leaves from the beach at the Westin. Old Lahaina Town is minutes away and a shuttle can take you there (we had a car).

Biggest Negative - Needs renovations NOW. This property is really starting to show its age. I won't harp on this too long since they are starting on it now. They should have started it years ago! We never heard any construction noise.

The Premium Deluxe Ocean View rooms (Beach Tower) are very good. Once the Ocean tower is renovated, those ocean view rooms will be worth a look! Careful with the Beach tower ocean view facing Whaler's Village, expect to hear delivery trucks all the time. The balconies are directly over the service entrance to Whaler's Village. Caution on a "mountain view" room. Unless you are on an upper floor, you will be staring right into the parking lot! Try to get a room above the 6th floor.

We rented a cabana at the pool and it truly made the stay luxurious. There is ONLY pool side drink/food service at the adult pool and if you rent a cabana. Otherwise, you are on your own.

Service was great. Word gets around the hotel staff on who is tipping and who is not. Tips here (and elsewhere on Maui) are not rewarding good service - it is to make sure you keep getting ANY service. If you don't tip - don't expect ANY service. This is true for ALL the resorts though - it is the culture on the island. We tend to tip generously and staff were falling over themselves to assist us.

We really liked Ono restaurant and thought room service was super attentive. The luau show was great but the luau food was really lacking. Adult drinks were included in the price of the show.

If you are looking for luxurious and serene surroundings, and you don't have kids....pick the Four Seasons (alot more expensive) and a postage stamp size pool. Or possibly the Grand Wailea. But I can't stand Wailea (I don't golf) and it is so remote. I would die of boredome. So, if you want lots of activities at your doorstep, stay in the Lahaina area.

Room Tip: Stay out of Ocean Tower until renovations are done. Those rooms are terrible. If you book a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We appreciate the time you had taken to outline your discerning comments and will take them into consideration as we continue efforts to create a memorable experience for visitors to Maui and Hawaii. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

There is a bit of paradise on earth!!! I truly enjoyed this hotel and their amenities, everything is within reach, great restaurants, shops and the most amazing each! You can spot the whales while you sit on the beach and enjoy the sun!! It is pricy but then if you want the something worthwhile then you pay, payyyyyy! Having activities within reach is awesome. The Westin Maui, s a great property. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Just be lucky enough to have a great employ at check in! Although all rooms are great! You must requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazedhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great well maintained property just out of town and away from the real congestion of old Lahiana. Great beach,shopping and food too!!!! The views are fantastic. They provide top notch service. It is a beautiful place. It is one of the best places on Maui to stay.

Room Tip: You would never have to leave the resort if you did not want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmas_man64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a good stay here. The room was comfortable and the price was right. This was part of a package that included airfare and car, and the Westin was substantially less than the other options. Pools were nice. The hotel is undergoing some renovation so parking was extremely tight, and they offered complimentary valet for times when the lot was full. View was good on the ocean side. Room decor was a little dated but the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher ocean view rooms will give you a great view and keep you above the pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwestishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
23.1 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing