We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Staff and facilities were excellent. Additionally, check-in staff went "above and beyond" to make my stay a memorable experience.

One of the most beautiful places on earth - can get a bit "kid-friendly" so make sure you bring yours!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allcet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,379 - 4,385 of 5,159 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2008

We were a little hesitant about staying here after reading many of the reviews posted on this site. We generally love staying at Starwood properties, and we were not disappointed in the least. Actually, we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel, and especially our room. We booked an ocean view room, and stayed on the 8th floor and did enjoy a beautiful view.

As mentioned on previous posts, the rooms are not large, but certainly not tiny. The bathrooms are small, but there is a good size vanity outside the bathroom with plenty of space for storing toiletries. Additionally, there is plenty of cupboard (with a safe & refrigerator) and counter space perfect for snacks, etc.

The climate control worked very well for us, not at all intrusive or loud. We hoped to hear the ocean when opening the sliding glass doors, but the hotel fountains were quite loud (but not too offensive) and drowned out any ocean noise. The lobby really is very unique with lots of aquatic life.

Of course, the beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping was efficient, as was bell service, front desk and restaurant service. Restaurants onsite were priced as we expected for a Westin in Hawaii - about $75 for a family of four (kids ages 4 & 6) for a basic dinner without adult beverages. The Ono Restaurant had pizza on the menu, which the kids enjoyed. Our best value was stopping at Safeway on the way from the airport and picking up breakfast, snacks and drinks.

The pool area could get quite loud with lots of children around, but we never had any problem finding chairs (not always shade, though). There is an adult pool here, which was a more relaxing alternative. The ocean directly in front of the Westin, while we were there, was beautiful but a bit rough for smaller kids. But plenty of calmer areas well within walking distance.

Overall, this was a great hotel for our family and we would definitely go back. However, if we wanted a quieter getaway, we would also consider the Sheraton which is beautiful about 1/2 a mile away and much more quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cewltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Excellent stay at the Westin maui - that's twice in five years!!!. We have two kids and they really love the pools at the Westin. We also stayed one night at the Hyatt - my kids liked the Westin pools and activities better, though I think adults might like the Hyatt better (quieter and nicer rooms). The Westin was the only resort that had a kids program for Easter - it was great fun - thousands of eggs to hunt for!!!! Rooms are small, but nicely done. The staff was overall really great. The recreation manager at the Westin went very far out of his way to ensure that my kids were having fun - he was really nice and clearly loved his job - this was the level of service we found overall while there. I highly recommend the Westin Maui for families with kids. Do be warned that finding chairs by the pool is a total nightmare - way too many people there on spring break!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newportmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We just got back from the Westin Maui and we had a wonderful vacation. Back in December we heard that we could get a deal at the Westin Maui and ended up booking the room for 5 nights (April 16-21) at $139 a night on Hotwire which was pretty much a steal. We figured we'd get a room above a dumpster but really didn't care but we ended up with a garden view double on the 2nd floor that even had a small sightline to the ocean. Nothing too spectacular but a pleasant surprise. The second floor worked pretty well for us since we didn't need to use the elevator to walk back and forth from our room to the pool, the ocean, or whaler's village.

As people had mentioned the rooms are on the smaller side but there was plenty of room for my wife and I. The room had a flat panel LCD tv, a small refrigerator, a safe, and an armoire. The beds were very comfortable and the double shower heads were great. In fact, my wife wants to order one now. My wife also liked the lighting in the vanity area.

There was an additional $20/day resort fee which covered 2 bottles of water per day, self parking, and high speed internet (which we didn't use because the whole point of our trip was to get away from everything). The parking lot was crowded the first day and we were lucky to get a spot but for the rest of the trip we didn't have any problem parking. Others have spoken about the parking lot getting too full to the point they had to valet cars but luckily we might have been there during a slower week. One word of advice is to get a smaller rental car since most of the spots are compact spots. We had a Chevy HHR which at first I was somewhat upset at since it was less than what I should have gotten from Avis but when I had no problem fitting it into any spot it turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

The absolute BEST part about the Westin Maui is the location. Well maybe a tie between the location and the 5 pools because both were great. We absolutely loved Kaanapali Beach. The weather was perfect every day of our trip and the views were spectacular. We liked the beachfront walkway and took many walks up and down the beach up to Black Rock and down towards the southern end. Being right next to Whaler's Village was also a big plus because we ate there often. A hidden gem was the pizza at Nikki's Pizzaria but we also enjoyed the Rusty Harpoon and the Hula Grill, and I liked the fish tacos at Leilani's. We were also a quick 5 minute drive to Lahaina which was another option for a lot of restaurants (Yes to Ruth's Chris and Kimo's, Maybe to Bubba Gump, and a definite No to Cheeseburger in Paradise) and some nice history of an old whaling town. We went to both Kapalua (windy) and Wailea (very nice but much warmer without as many soft breezes as in Kaanapali) and were very happy with our choice of this part of the island. It was more crowded than both but the crowds were very manageable. We never had reservations and waited around 15-30 minutes for a table which wasn't too bad considering both times it was around sunset and we didn't mind waiting at all.

I can't write any more without mentioning how great the pools were. There was 1 adult pool and a total of 5 very fun pools. There were waterfalls, a couple waterslides, a volleyball net, a basketball hoop, and a covered grotto with waterfalls and a cool-water jacuzzi hidden inside. We're big pool fans and after the Grand Hyatt in Kauai last year we thought we'd never find a pool area that can compare but this place came pretty darn close. What we did like better about the Westin Maui than the Grand Hyatt in Kauai was the fact that from the Westin's pool we were only about a hundred feet from a very swimmable and enjoyable beach/ocean area, which we didn't have last year in Kauai. I went out and bodysurfed and even got my wife out there before a minor wipeout scared her away. She wasn't hurt just got a lot of sand in her bathing suit! The pool area and the proximity to the beach are probably the main reason we'll come back to the Westin before any of the other hotels on Kaanapali. It had the best of both worlds with the great pool and beach.

We saw a few of the other hotels on Kaanapali Beach and we were very happy with our choice. The Sheraton was also very nice but I'd watch out for the Hyatt since when we walked by there was loud jackhammering right next to the pool area. Wherever you choose you can't go wrong but we are 100% sold on the Westin Maui.

The only minor negative was that they seem to focus a lot of energy on selling the Westin Kaanapali Villas vacation ownership packages but we steered clear of them and even got a free box of chocolates by taking the gift notice that they slid under the door to the concierge.

We had a great experience and think it was a wonderful hotel and that Maui is an amazing island. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Our family of four arrived at the Westin after a three night stay at the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beachwalk on Oahu. Our experience at the Westin was not as good as at Embassy Suites.

The parking lot was full so the valet said there would be free valet service for the night...we were billed.

We reserved a Garden View room...much cheaper than an ocean view and I love gardens so it was what we wanted. Upon check in we were "Upgraded" to a room on the 11th floor (top floor). The room overlooked the parking lot...not my idea of an upgrade. (After our kids go to bed we like to sit on the lanai, relax and enjoy our surroundings)

We were told our luggage would be brought to our room. It arrived 45 minutes later. We had a lanai with a table but no chairs (all the others had chairs). When the bellhop brought our luggage we requested two chairs and were assured it would be taken care of. The chairs never arrived.

We decided we really wanted a garden view room so we checked the availability and were able to move the next day. The view was much better (you could actually see the ocean too).

The hotel grounds were nice...waterfalls, flamingos, parrots. The pools were nice also. There seemed to be enough chairs at the pools...we were always able to find some when we were there.

The location was great...right on the beach. The Whalers VIllage was a block away...little shops with a food court for quick meals.

The rooms were very small and seemed well worn. They could have used a good cleaning. I guess they are doing a room remodel...ours must not have been done yet.

Overall Maui is a beautiful place but we would stay elsewhere if we were to return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobnCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We stayed at the Westin April 10th-14th, 2008. My wife and I used our Starwood points for an Ocean View room in the Ocean Tower (specifically #813)

We loved the hotel. We were a bit worried that it was going to be a little too loud for us after reading all of the reviews, but I don't think either one of us every complained about it. The rooms were great for two people. I had read that they were on the small side, but didn't feel that was an issue at all. An additional sink, and an HD signal on the plasma would have been nice, but I'm not going to complain about that. It was clean and comfortable and that's all that mattered.

The pool is awesome but be sure to get down there early, very early. We saw people putting their towels out as early as 7am. It didn't look like the Westin really monitored this either. We sat next to some chairs that were prime real estate and the people didn't show up until 2 in the afternoon. I didn't see any kids in the adult pool but you could hear them from there. It was much calmer up at that pool though.

You are literally right next door to Whaler's Village and nice stroll down to Black Rock.

I don't necessarily think I would be singing the same praises if we had a lower floor room on the opposite side of the hall. They had a nice view of the parking lot. Definitely ask for a free upgrade when you arrive. It never hurts to ask.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ckesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I booked this hotel through a pkg deal for 5 nights and added a 6th night on separately. The rooms are decent, clean, but not large. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The poolside restaurant was pretty decent, but not cheap. Don't eat at their beachside restaurant. We paid $$$$ for not very good food. Finding poolside seating was a struggle so we chose to pay the extra $55 for an all day cabana for 2. It was awesome! A staff member came by every hour with cold water, gave us fresh pineapples in the morning and afternoon. We had shade and did not have to get up early and pretend to setup something before 8am in the morning and worry that someone would take it anyway. We even ended up buying a timeshare we had no intention on buying before we got there so we will see this place again and again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travellingfamilySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £251 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing