We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming in comparison to other Maui resorts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Underwhelming in comparison to other Maui resorts.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip to Maui, and we had previously stayed at the Royal Lahaina and Makena Beach and Golf resort (both better overall experiences). There is really nothing wrong with the Westin, it has the nicest grounds and pool of anywhere we stayed previously. The staff was friendly as well. It is just overpriced and the rooms are older and not as nice as the other resorts. You are really paying for location (proximity to black rock and Whaler's Village) and nice grounds. Plus, the valet outright tricked us into paying the first day valet (stating that they 'take care if bags and parking' as we pulled in as if we had no choice-$18), and of all places we have stayed, they really couldn't have cared less that it was an anniversary trip. We don't expect to be pampered, but we had the lowest parking-lot view room, almost didn't get the king bed that we requested months in advance, and felt nickel-and-dimed to death with resort fees. The other resorts actually felt more like 4-star resorts in the way they treated us (like they were glad we were there) and how nice the rooms were, and were hundreds less per night.
Also, yes, there are construction noises throughout the day- if you planned to sleep in at any point.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurlow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments. We'd first like to thank you for recognizing our friendly staff. Secondly, we'd like to apologize for your experience with our valet team. Our Front Office Manager has already addressed the team. We greatly appreciate you choosing us as your home away and wish you a very Happy Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,130
    1,568
    734
    399
    221
See reviews for
1,613
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Apologies in advance for the lengthiness!

It is day 2 of our stay here at the Westin Maui and I can say quite certainly that we are underwhelmed. I will start by saying that I got a bad vibe the moment we checked in. My husband and I are both SPG Gold members and we were offered a choice between 2 rooms upon check-in, both on the second floor of the Ocean Tower (not too desirable). We initially went with the "partial ocean view" room that is supposedly an extra 40 dollars per night over the mountain view room we had reserved. One of the perks of our Gold SPG status is that we get these minor upgrades with no additional charge. That said, we realized the error of our ways immediately upon entering this "upgraded" room. They must have been mistaken because our "partial ocean view" in reality, meant ZERO ocean view with an actual view of a loud, misting waterfall in the pool. You could tell immediately that the condition of the room is affected by the water outside -- water stains on the wallpaper, rust on the track of the sliding glass door, rust on the shower curtain rod and an overwhelming smell of dampness and overall dirtiness. We promptly went back to the front desk to complain and ask for another room as this one was not acceptable. We were told that the only 2 rooms available in the hotel (hard to believe) were the damp dirty room we just came from or our original room across the hall. We chose the other room (for really, we had no choice) and it is just "okay". We are on a very low floor (the lowest) and literally have the parking lot right outside our balcony. We are disappointed because we are loyal Starwood customers and the excellent treatment and customer service we've received over the years at Starwood properties have kept us coming back but in this instance, we feel that our SPG Gold status meant nothing.

Here are the pros and cons of the property thus far...
PROS:
- Beautiful and expansive outdoor space
- Adults only pool! -- love children, but so nice to have at least one area of the hotel where they aren't screaming and running all over the place
- Situated on a very nice, central stretch of Kaanapalli Beach
- Close to Whaler's Village -- great for shopping/dining outside the confines of the hotel property

CONS:
- Rooms are VERY "worn" and in need of updating - definitely quite shabby when compared with other Westin properties we've stayed at
- The rooms are RIDICULOUSLY overpriced for what you get! I'm sorry, but if I am spending 300+ dollars per night for a hotel room, the least you can do is make sure it's clean!
- No real "upgrade" for SPG gold members and no real attempt by employees to try to appease our unhappiness.
- Not nearly enough umbrellas by any of the 5 pools -- again, for 300+ dollars per night, I expect more.
- The resort is so crowded, it kind of feels like a zoo

I knew going into this trip that there would be ongoing renovations to the hotel during our time there and overall, the construction has been pretty unobtrusive. We only noticed the noise today when we came back to the room to nap after a sunrise Haleakala bike trip. I am curious to see the fruits of these renovations though because currently, I see no evidence of the supposed improvements being made.

Overall, nice for families or others who enjoy a more "bustling" type of holiday but wouldn't recommend for like-minded couples who prefer a more laid back vacation with at least a few areas where one can find some peace and quiet away from the company of strangers. We won't be returning to this property or this part of Maui any time soon. In fact, if we had to do it over again, after a LOVELY time in Kauai, we'd probably skip Maui all together and go to the Big Island instead.

Lesson learned!

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the construction when booking! Preferably in the Beach Tower which I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justwed917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When we checked in we were given a room on the 5th floor, having paid for ocean view, we quickly returned to the front desk after seeing this room. It was a corner room, and overlooked a roof top, they did relocate us to a better room with a fantastic view of the ocean. Rooms are dated, could use some new carpeting and furniture, and bathroom was small. The grounds are just beautiful, lots of beautiful birds and fish to enjoy. The buffet breakfast was very pricey,and they started shutting it down before we were done eating. The location is great, enjoyed touring the area by car. We booked a reservation through the hotel to eat next door at LuLu's, and highly recommend this restaurant! The sea food is fantastic, and the service was outstanding. Was not happy with paying a "resort fee" at the Westin, would like to see that changed!

Room Tip: Request an Ocean View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I am here running a program for a large group on the island. I give 2.5 out of 5 for groups. Very small group enterace. The loading zone is technically on the street, not in a parking area. The layout of the property is not apealing personally for vacationing. The lobby is tight and enclosed, no veiw of the beautiful beach and island you can see from the hotel beach.

Rooms are a nice change of pace from the Typical set up. Have a fridge and nice robe always is a plus. There is a card in room you can put on your door to get 5$ anywhere in hotel if you dont have your room turned.

CSM Amy Chippendale is great. the hotel staff move a bit slow, but she is personally doing her best.

Nice the hotel has an adult pool. Nice to be close to Whalers Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Aloha Kimberly M.,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We have enjoyed working with your group and look forward to collaborating again on future venues. On behalf of our staff, we'd like to send a BIG MAHALO for choosing us as your "Home Away From Home."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We started coming to the Westin Maui in 1992 when we stayed for 8 days on our honeymoon. Since then, we have returned time and time again, always enjoying a good experience. Rooms are heavenly (literally, with their heavenly bed and heavenly showers). We have never had a garden view room, we recommend that you get an ocean view premium room if possible. We've stayed in both towers, the ones facing the ocean have better ocean views. The pool is nice and there is a water slide for the kids (and the adults) to enjoy.

Even though we have ventured out and stayed on other sides of the island since then, we always find ourselves coming back to Ka'aanapali Beach and the Westin Maui. We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary there and came back for our 20th to visit, even though we stayed at the Grand Wailea for our actual stay because of a corporate sponsored event. We came back to the Westin to take pictures and compare them to our honeymoon 20 years ago. :) It is our favorite place to stay because it has such a nice beach and close proximity to Whalers Village as well as good snorkeling at Black Rock for our children. There are wonderful restaurants in Whaler's village for dinners, good shopping and my favorite Honalulu Cookie store (http://www.honolulucookie.com).

The Westin has always been one of our favorite properties and we have never received anything but stellar service each time we have stayed at the property.

Room Tip: Splurge for Ocean View Premium Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
What an incredible story! Thank you for sharing. While we know that many of our guests call Westin Maui home, it is heart warming to actually read it and feel the connection come through in your words. We are privileged that you are part of our Westin Maui Ohana and we look forward to hearing about many more experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed at the Westin Maui many times and have always loved it! When we were there last December we had the privilege of meeting a bellman name Ronzi. Not only was he extremely friendly and helpful but we found out one of his passions is playing the ukelele. Both my kids took several lessons from him during his days off and learned so much. If you or your kids have ever wanted to try this fun instrument, I would highly recommend getting in touch with him. One more thing, the location of the Westin is perfect because you can easily walk to shops and restaurants...plus Lahaina is only a few minutes away by car.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

So I read all of the scathing reviews before our trip and was a little nervous, but I'm glad I didn't pay too much attention to them.

Pros:
-location, location, location....it's great! Fantastic part of the beach and so convenient next to Whaler's Village.
-nicely maintained common areas and pools.
-I was given a room in the Ocean building with the renovations. It was fine! Sure the room was dated, but it was clean, everything worked, housekeeping was attentive, and the renovations were not intrusive. How much time are you spending in your room anyways?

Con's:
-I must say I did find the front desk staff a little indifferent and not particularly happy or helpful.
-the pools get VERY busy and LOT's of kids, but then the adult pool was great and the cabana's were even better...so not really a con

Overall, we would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing