We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa and had a great time! We traveled with our three girls that range in age from 10 to 15. The location of the Westin was perfect for our family. There is snorkeling right down the beach by the Sheraton, shopping next door at the Whaler's Village, and the fabulous pool. Something for everybody. It was nice having everything within walking distance...since it seemed that some in our group would want to switch activites sooner than others. The pool at the Westin is great! The slide is nice and you can buy inflatable rafts and tubes for just $3 - $4. We were warned that the pool chairs get reserved early in the day, but that wasn't a problem for us. (You do have to reserve them early...by 9am, they were all reserved with towels) But to avoid this problem, we went to the beach or shopping the first half of the day, and headed to the pool around 3pm. (It seemed that the people who had been there since the morning, tended to leave at this time) We never had a problem finding a place to lounge in the later afternoon. Also, if you don't like the crowds snorkeling by the Sheraton , you can catch the shuttle to the Westin Villas where the snorkeling is just as good, without all the people. Oh, one note of caution...there are metal plates (drains) at the bottom of the pool that my daughter accidentally pushed off from, and cut her foot badly! Warn your kids to watch out for them.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaileGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,107)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,280 - 4,286 of 5,107 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2008

Although I like this hotel (it has a lot of things going for it: great beach and location, good staff, excellent pools, tasty restaurants and comfortable and well-appointed rooms), I think it's over-priced and would recommend looking for other options in Maui.

By other options, I would suggest still staying the Kaanapali area where the Westin Resort is located. Herein lies one of the resorts best attributes: it's location. Kaanapali Beach is stunning, the resort is a short 5-minute drive from Lahaina, it's adjacent to the Whalers Shopping Centre and it's a 5-minute walk to the Black Rock snorkeling site (if you're a snorkeler, make sure you head north to Honolua Bay).

Some negatives I must point out though: the 7th floor corridor smells like old stinky shoes (I'm not exaggerating), there are a lot of kids at the resort, there's an inescapable $20/day resort charge per room (to cover things like: parking, in-room internet, bottled water etc.) and my golf/mountain-view room(which also includes a view of the parking lot) had some hair left in the shower.

And I just have to mention a couple of things outside of the hotel: I recommend not going to the Royal Lahaina Luau - it's is an awful piece of entertainment and the food is very sub-par. But I do recommend eating at the Fish Co. on Front St. in Lahaina - I had the sea scallops and they were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobalEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

After reading many TripAdvisor reviews and speaking with friends who own a time share unit in Maui, we decided on the Westin hotel for our summer vacation from Kansas City. We felt that Kaanapali would be the best location in Maui for the kids and I think they were right.

The hotel grounds and lobby are beautiful and well-tended although they could use more trash cans around the pool areas. The pools were clean and warm with a water slide and waterfalls that the kids really enjoyed. The beach is directly next to the pool area and was great for swimming and playing. The surf was very low in front of the Westin but was better for bodysurfing down near the Marriott Ocean Club. Good service around the pools and they do make an attempt to prevent people from reserving all the lounge chairs first thing in the morning by flagging those chairs left unattended for more than 30 minutes. Still, it was very crowded when we were there and hard to find chairs near any shade throughout the day.

The hotel room was pretty small but was clean and well maintained. Tight quarters with 2 double beds for 2 adults and our 13 and 11 yr old. Our "partial ocean view" room had a great view of the pools and beach though the patio was too hot in the afternoon to sit outside during cocktail hour.

We did not eat many meals at the Westin since the prices seemed very high (even for Hawaii) and we had a few dinners at the next-door shopping area of Whaler's Village as well as in the town of Lahaina. The upstairs/fine dining parts of Leilani's and the Hula Grill both impressed us with great fish dishes and were much better than the beachside/bar food parts of each restaurant. There is also a food court (think delisandwiches and Panda Express) which were convenient for cheaper meals for the kids who are not fish fans.

I really think you must rent a car to appreciate all of Maui and also to get to Lahaina for dinner/strolling/shopping. It's only about a 10 minute car ride. There is also a Safeway supermarket on the way which came in handy for breakfast and lunch items for the hotel room instead of spending $100 for the breakfast buffet every morning.

We stayed for 9 nights and stayed busy the whole time. We drove to the Haaleakala crater for sunrise one morning, took a Molokini snorkel trip aboard the Maui Magic (great crew, BBQ lunch and snorkeling), parasailed with UFO tours (sign up on the beach in front of the Westin) and golfed in Kaanapali (across the street from the hotel) and on the nearby island of Lanai at the Manele Bay course(accessed by 45 minute ferry ride).

Dining in Lahaina was great at Kimo's and the Mai Tai Lounge (try to sit upstairs at one of their lounge tables at sunset).Also recommend Mama's Fishhouse on the north side of the island for dinner as well as the Paia fish market which we visited on our last day since it was closer to the airport. Tried Maui Tacos once but we were not impressed.

We purchased snorkel gear and boogie boards at home and brought them with us to avoid high rental costs. I'm told you can also buy these at the Costco near the airport but we were not members.

The only complaints about the trip are the crazy jet lag returning to the midwest (5 hr time difference), the high cost of everything in Hawaii and the too-close-for-comfort feeling of living with 4 people in 1 hotel room for 9 days. Fortunately we were so impressed with the Westin and Maui that we purchased a week in their villa property just north of the hotel so we'll have plenty of room for the next time we say Aloha, Maui.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kctravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in early May. The hotel was wonderful. We booked hour hotel though hotwire so we got a great deal. When we arrived we paid and upgraded our room to an ocean view and it was well worth it. We had a spectacular view of the ocean and the pools. We had the pools almost all to ourselves. The bathroom was a little small, but that was the only problem with the room. The only downside to the hotel is the parking. They have parking included in the resort fee, but the parking lot was full most of the time when we would return from dinner. The valet would park your car free of charge, but then I would feel obligated to tip. The staff was very friendly. Overall it was an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The positives: Wonderful grounds, pool and beach. Nice location next to Whaler's Village for shops and restaurants. BUT: This Westin has serious customer service delivery issues. Our AC didn't work and we reported it at 4 p.m. after check in. After calling back again, the engineers finally showed up at 11 p.m. after we went to bed. They had to get into the ceiling and replace the condenser. We also requested a rollaway at checkin that took 8 hours to be delivered. The rooms are VERY small - no closet (armoire only) and very few dresser drawers. Both rooms need a "deep clean" - especially the drapes which are a light color and have been stained and appear filthy. We traveled with 2 teenagers and after one night ended up getting a second room. We also had an issue at the restaurant. They had signs advertising a special July 4th meal. When we ordered it, we were told it ended 2 hours before - they had just neglected to take down the advertising. While there are some positives here, you can do far better at the Marriott or Hyatt. Westin needs to do a serious quality control review at this property to protect their brand's reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MillCreekTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My husband and I (ages 29/33, respectively) spent a week at the Westin Resort in mid-June 2008. Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing vacation in the tropics of Maui. Here are some items we noted:

Renting a car is a must! First, shuttles/taxis costs between $50-80 each way from the airport. We rented a car for $130 for the whole week! There is “free” self-parking at the resort, so you might as well take them up on it. I say “free” because it is included in the mandatory $20-per-day fee. There are exorbitant prices within and around the resort. I expected some inflation, but it was over $7 for two small cups of seltzer water (no alcohol) at the bar. So using the car to venture out to the local Safeway and less expensive restaurants was a real plus. And while you’re at it, check out the other beaches and attractions that Maui has to offer!

The lagoon-style pools were awesome! We really liked all the waterfalls and the waterslide was fun. The beach and pools were pretty crowded, but there is good snorkeling at the Westin north of the Black Rock. You can park for free in their lot—but don’t forget to bring your towel (they won’t give you one unless you’re staying at that particular Westin)!

I was disappointed in the food overall—I thought there would be more authentic Hawaiian food, but most of the places were geared toward the haulis—lots of steakhouses, diners, and fast food. Boo! But I did have the best mahi mahi tuna steak of my life at the Hula restaurant in Whaler’s Village (which you can walk to easily from the Westin Resort). Order it very rare!

Rooms are smallish with no whirlpool tub—but the beds really are “Heavenly.” Given the price to stay at this resort, you’d think the rooms would be a little fancier with a better bathroom. Ours was small and the furniture was awkwardly arranged—as if it had been upgraded without thinking through that a small table shouldn’t go directly in front of the desk/TV.

No microwave in the room. Given that buying food outside of the resort is a must, it would’ve been nice to be able to heat something up in the room. But we did have a small fridge and coffee maker (although we had to buy our own coffee grounds because the "Kona coffee" provided was undrinkable).

No DVD player in the room. A minor compliant, but given that there wasn’t much on the 30 channels they offered, it was a little annoying.

Contrary to what I’d heard, we were not given a lei at any time during our stay (even though we saw them hung by the door to great visitors). It shouldn’t be a big deal, but I was a little disappointed.

The spa was a big highlight for us. In addition to the massages being fabulous, the spa facility was a blessing. If you book an appointment, you have access to the spa lounge which includes comfy seats overlooking the pool/ocean. You also can help yourself to several different kinds of teas, nuts, dried fruit, and biscotti. There is also a small whirlpool tub, sauna, and steam room in both the men’s and women’s locker areas. We stayed in the lounge for several hours relaxing and reading in the indoor shade—better than hanging out by the pool!

Overall it was a great trip—I just think it was more expensive than it was worth.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AlikaTanakaYarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We are enjoying our stay at the Westin. The hotel rooms are well appointed and the grounds of the resort are also wonderfully laid out. Ka'anapali Beach is a wonderful beach to go on a half an hour walk on in the morning and their is surfing/snorkeling/diving off the beach depending on the water conditions. The pools here are also attractive however were packed while we were there. The resort food is excellent although pricey (particularly for breakfast) and the gym is also state of the art. For a first trip to Maui, we are happy to be staying here especially relative to other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brcor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £242 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing