We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Westin - here are the pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Overall a nice hotel -- beautiful beach in front, rooms were nice. We booked "partial ocean view" rooms and were more than satisfied with the view (behind the pool, but could see much of the ocean). Liked the fact that the hotel is in walking distance from Whaler's Village - lots of restaurants there, including a food court in the back. We cut costs by eating dinner there a couple of times - the little Mexican place has great fish tacos! Also, loved The Fish Co. in Lahaina - great food and views (to cut costs eat lunch there instead of dinner!)
The cons of the Westin: unless you are one of these grabby people who "reserve" pool chairs all day for the 2 hours they will use them, forget about getting a seat by the pool. Having nowhere to sit gets old after a week, and reduces your enjoment of the property - management should do something about this (since usually, over half the chairs are "reserved" but empty).
The resort is full of kids - this was fine with us, but I would not recommend this hotel for couples or honeymooners. Would not recommend the Westin luau. The food was good but the ambiance was terrible, and it was very expensive. Overall, a good experience, but next time I would probably look for a hotel that's a bit quiter and more relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lmg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,369 - 4,375 of 5,203 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2008

My family (wife and 2 boys 7 and 9 yrs old) and we spent 10 days at the Westin Maui in July.

I am a SPG Platinum member and was contacted in advance of our stay by the Concierge to discuss any needs I had in advance of arriving at the hotel.

Upon arrival our room was ready and we were upgraded to an Ocean View room. Check-in was speedy and we were at the pool in no-time. My only real complaint about this hotel is that the rooms are a little small when you have 4 people in them (2 double beds). Other than that the rooms had been upgraded with newer bath amenities and flat screen TV's.

During our stay we really enjoyed the pools and waterslides. The ocean was also great and we spent some time body surfing in there.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The waterfall in the lobby area is quite impressive and makes a stunning impact when you arrive at the hotel.

We ate at Ono's and the Tropica restaurants. While the costs are a little high they are in-line with other Westin's and as expected the food is well done.

We also did the Thursday night Luau and really enjoyed the food and the performance.

We also used the Shuttle service frequently to go into Lahaina for dinner and found it very reliable and punctual.

Throughout my stay I received excellent customer service and would definitely consider a return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SuperDave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My husband and I took our two boys (ages 8 & 6) for our first really big family trip. Unfortunately, our plane was delayed for 3 hours at LAX so we didn't arrive until close to midnight at the Westin.
Our check in was unremarkable, and I really didn't think that the gal was all that friendly. But we liked that our connecting rooms were up high on the 10th floor. Our view was parking lot/mountains, but I had paid for the cheapest rooms. It was quiet if nothing else.

I expected a really small room after reading the reviews, but it was a pretty typical hotel room. Granted, you are paying a lot of money for this small room, but hey..this is Maui and hotel rooms just don't come cheaply. The bed was honestly the best feature of the room! It was sooooo comfortable. They aren't kidding when they call it "heavenly". I think my husband and I had the best hotel sleep of our lives. I want an identical mattress for home! The flat panel TV was great, and the television choices adequate. We did not order any movies as they were close to $15.00.

The breakfast buffet was close to $100.00 for the four of us and really not worth it. The view at the Tropica restaurant was gorgeous, but I'd suggest going to Safeway for morning essentials and save your $100.00 for a nice dinner instead. We never ate any other meals here as they are so many other great places to try. We did enjoy quite a few Mai Tai's and Tropical Monkey drinks by the pool however. Beware though..the alcohol content in the drinks seems pretty minimal for what you pay.

Okay...the pools. They are terrific and were a big reason for why we chose the Westin. Its nice and cold and the slide was great for the kids. Yes, there were plenty of kids playing in the pool, but since we weren't on our honeymoon, this was fine with us. You can purchase rafts and tubes for about $3.00 and they provided the kids with hours of fun in the water. We were also given a few more by people who were flying home. You can apparently rent basketballs and volleyballs for the water, but I really didn't like avoiding hard basketballs flying by my head in the water. They sell a lot of different snacks by the water, but they are super pricey as well. Popcorn will cost you $5.00 and an ice cream bar will set you back about $5.00 as well. Of course my kids wanted them daily. There were many chairs, and I honestly didnt have a problem finding several in a row. If you want prime seating, they are likely gone by early morning. It seems some people hung out at the pool every day..ALL day in the same spots. We didn't come to Maui to sit by the pool all day, so just having a chair when we wanted one was fine.

The Westin is a very short walk from Whaler's Village, and I was happy to find a McDonalds for the kids. It was our cheapest lunch of the week! Whaler's village has a lot of shops to get your T shirts and souvenirs as well as a Border's book store and a Free Whaling Museum that we enjoyed. Its also home to Hula Grill and Leilani's on the Beach. I would suggest you walk when you can or take the Westin's free shuttle as parking is limited, and you will have to tip when you get your car back from the "free" valet.

My husband and I enjoyed a lot of great food while in Maui, and if you're looking for some good food (but not cheap), we had some success and can offer some recommendations. We ate at Hula Grill (both the formal restaurant and the barefoot bar) twice. The kids meal at the Barefoot bar is much more kid friendly, but the offerings for the adults is not nearly as good. We enjoyed our last meal at the more formal restaurant and the food choices were much better! The kids weren't thrilled with their choices (ribs, ono, sashimi, salad, steak..get the idea??), but they ended up liking it anyway. We also enjoyed Leilani's and my husband LOVED the fish tacos. We wish we had had time on our last day to go back for more. If you have time, Roy's in Kahana (a few miles away by car) was my absolute favorite. There is no view to speak of (the only meal we ate with no view), but the food is to die for. If you love chocolate, order the souffle for dessert. It takes 30 minutes to make, so plan to order it with your dinner, and it was honestly heaven on Earth. It was expensive, but everything in Maui is, and I really thought we got our best meal and service here.

As far as excursions, we enjoyed a Sunset cruise on the Gemini which picks up right in front of the Westin. Great, friendly cruise and pretty good appetizers. They also have an open bar with all the Mai Tai's you can drink (Much tastier than the Westins!) We took in a Luau at the Hyatt and it was so so. The food was icky, and the kids were bored. The last act of the night was the only one worth watching as it involved fire. On our last day, we went snorkeling on the Four Winds. We wanted to go on Trilogy, but it fills up quickly. The Four Winds offers a much larger boat, but we enjoyed this as well. The food was good, and the crew helpful and fun. We did have to drive 30 minutes to get the harbor, but it was worth it.

The Westin is a gorgeous hotel, and we had a super time. Would I go back? I might. It's certainly got a great location and the grounds and pool are up there with the best. This is certainly a great place for kids and my kids are already asking to go back next Summer.

Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcvalle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

First, the good news. The Beach Tower was recently remodeled that we stayed in, and it was nicely appointed. A few cheap corners cut, like the toilet seat looked like it was from 1975, and the room was remodeled in 2008.

The hotel has a nice pool, that is a bit crowded like all of the hotels in the area.

The real problem is the management. Turn down service didnt even happen the first 2 nights of our 4 night stay in an oceanfront suite. when we complained, they made promises that didnt pan out. They seem to want to make the attempt at superior customer service, but just dont execute like the 4 seasons or a Fairmont property (like the Kea Lani we stayed at just prior). No less than 4 different members of managment made customer service promises about turn down service, wristbands for the pool the night prior , etc, that never happened. Really embarrassing in my opinion. This place just doesnt match up to the competition. If you want a quality experience, pay a litle bit more and stay at the Fairmont or Four Seasons, or other.

Good luck

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BBTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

I just returned from the Westin Maui using the 6 day/5 night package for $749. Rental Car voucher was included for $185 and I received a $100 resort credit upon check-in. If I wanted to participate in the Westin Vacation Villa Ownership presentation (which was 2 hours in length and they weren't that pushy), I would receive an additional $100 resort credit. So that would be $200 of resort credit and if I wanted to use that towards a room upgrade, the credit would be doubled to $400.

When I checked in, they offered me a room overlooking the parking lot and the golf course on the 3rd floor in the Ocean Tower (which wasn't a bad view). I asked the front desk agent to upgrade to an ocean view room and I was given three options :
1) I could use my Starwood points toward an ocean view room, but that would have been 5,500 points per night (27,500 total)
2) Pay $450 ($90/night + occupancy tax) cash for the upgrade or
3) Use the resort credit toward the room upgrade. To maximize my use of the resort credit, the agent told me to take the vacation villa presentation and then I would have $400 of resort credit to use for the room upgrade.

By upgrading the room would cost $450 total ($90/night), but since I would have $400 of resort credit, it would only cost me an extra $50 and the corresponding occupancy tax ($10.27/night). So at the end of the day, I'm only out $101.35 for the partial ocean view upgrade and $100 for the resort fee.

The front desk agent was even nice enough to give me the keys in advance to inspect the rooms to make sure that room met my expectation for the price paid.

I opted for the resort credit usage and what that got me was Room 284 in the Beach Tower. This room is located about 3 rooms from the end of the tower closest toward the beach. It offered a slim view of the mountains, a view of the lower pool and a partial ocean view. The only bad part was that since the room was located on the 2nd floor (and this floor was designated as a Starwood Preferred Guest floor), my balcony looked out over the mezzanine rooftop which contained trash that guests from higher floors had obviously dropped onto it.

A lot of people have complained about the size of the rooms. If you want a bigger room, you should opt for a room in the Beach Tower. Those rooms have about 250 more square feet in them than in the Ocean Tower. They have a full walk-in closet and the balconies are larger (the Ocean Tower rooms only have an armoire/no closet). The bathrooms are also significantly larger in the Beach Tower rooms. The only drawback in the Beach Tower rooms is that you don't have the bar sink that you'll find in the Ocean Tower rooms. You basically have a table stand with the coffee pot and cups on it.

Aside from the rooms, the hotel is in great shape for being almost 25 years old. The staff did a great job overall and yes, there were issues with people reserving pool chairs as early as 6am. However, I did notice pool attendants walking around noting which chairs had been vacant for longer than 30-45 minutes. If you get to the pool around 8am, you should not have a problem securing your favorite spot. And the staff did a great job of policing the kids from the adult pool.

The restaurant food was okay at the Ono Bar and Grill and the Westin's Tropica Restaurant food was highly over-priced ! Just walk down 30 steps from the Tropica and you've got Leilani's, Hula Grill and the Rusty Harpoon which had excellent food at reasonable prices.

One more thing about this property. Several years ago, the concierge made it a point to inform the guests that there is a professional photographer on staff (by the American Express Tour desk) who will take photos of you and your family for free. This service still exists, but they don't mention it to you, so make sure you ask the front desk about this service. You have to make a reservation in advance, but they take you to the most picturesque spots at the resort and the results are great !

Overall, I had a great time at the Westin Maui and definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank qbchiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We really enjoyed the six days spent at the Westin Maui. Everything operated properly, including the fantastic slide, and it was a perfect site to relax or be active. The staff were pleasant and attentive. The room was very comfortable. The restaurants in the resort or next door ( particularly Leilani's) offer very good fare, and if you plan it right you can move from Happy Hour to Happy Hour from about 3 PM until 10. We always dropped out after the second Mai Tai, but some people showed amazing stamina. Don't miss snorkeling at Black Rock, just a short walk up the beach. We were fortunate to find the water crystal clear and full of turtles.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Robert006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa and had a great time! We traveled with our three girls that range in age from 10 to 15. The location of the Westin was perfect for our family. There is snorkeling right down the beach by the Sheraton, shopping next door at the Whaler's Village, and the fabulous pool. Something for everybody. It was nice having everything within walking distance...since it seemed that some in our group would want to switch activites sooner than others. The pool at the Westin is great! The slide is nice and you can buy inflatable rafts and tubes for just $3 - $4. We were warned that the pool chairs get reserved early in the day, but that wasn't a problem for us. (You do have to reserve them early...by 9am, they were all reserved with towels) But to avoid this problem, we went to the beach or shopping the first half of the day, and headed to the pool around 3pm. (It seemed that the people who had been there since the morning, tended to leave at this time) We never had a problem finding a place to lounge in the later afternoon. Also, if you don't like the crowds snorkeling by the Sheraton , you can catch the shuttle to the Westin Villas where the snorkeling is just as good, without all the people. Oh, one note of caution...there are metal plates (drains) at the bottom of the pool that my daughter accidentally pushed off from, and cut her foot badly! Warn your kids to watch out for them.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaileGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,209 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £263 - £644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing