We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, with prime location and beauty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, with prime location and beauty!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Our US Airways flight was cancelled, and we were given 2 days of lodging, transportation, and food credits for the Westin. Check in was very slow, but friendly. I was surprised we didn't get a better orientation to hotel. The 2 rooms we recieved were remodeled, and looked very nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the parking area. One of the rooms had an extremely itchy bed. I looked for bed bugs, but didnt see any. We slept in the other room with double beds. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion supplied were exception (White Tea). We were given a $5 credit a day, for reusing our towels. Food was expensive. We passed the $30 breakfast buffet, and went next store at the Whalers for an omlet that was $7. We at the onsite Burger place called the "Relish". Service was so...slow and the online prices were a dollar cheaper than the menu prices. The food was good, an at $17 a burger...it should be. Go to burger place in Whaler for much better prices, entertainment, happy hour, and food. Westin allowed us to use their microwave , located near Starbucks. I really appreciated that! Swimming pool had a 120ft slide, but was not heated as stated. The beautiful grounds had waterfalls, koi, swans, beautiful birds, and flamingos. The shuttle to each of their hotels was nice, as well as to lots of shopping areas. Two bottles of water, wiifi,use of pool and yummy coffee were provided in resort fee. I would have given a 5, but not sure why we hot bites while we laid on one of the beds, and an area of the hotel was vovered with left over food from a banquet for 1/2 near where we went in and out of to get to Whalers. Overall, I loved the location, and the beautiful grounds. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toughone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    1,555
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,591
2,203
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Westin Maui could not be more perfect! Perfect pool for kids and adults right on the best beach in Maui. Within walking distance to shops and yummy restaurants and a close drive to downtown Lahaina. Bkfst buffet was delicious. Will def be returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a great tagline! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to have been your home away from home. We will certainly be here to provide with yet another Westin Maui stay that you will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First time we went we stayed at the Hyatt. This time we stayed at the Westin and can not stay anywhere else. The view is beautiful and the people are so friendly. Additionally, we love the sandy beaches and beautiful water.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieO35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear about your amazing vacation. We hope you left with wonderful memories that will last until the next time you are here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We await your return. A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Located on the best beach in Maui (Ka'anapali) you're walking distance and a short drive from abundant dining, shopping, and activities. The resort designed to be open, lush & tropical, as well as family friendly. The service is friendly and accommodating. The rooms have been updated in the ocean tower which can't be overlooked. They did a great job with the appointments and design. The Westin rewards Platinum guests with little bonuses and expert service throughout the trip, you will feel very taken care of.

Highlights : Swimming with sea turtles at Blackrock, lounging by the beach or pool in a private cabana, relaxing in the newly renovated ocean tower rooms, taking our breakfast every morning at Relish Bistro.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newly renovated Ocean Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodge City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I am a Starwood Platinum so do 25 stays per year at their properties. I also travel enough to accumulate quite a few stays with Hilton, Marriot, independents, etc., so the opinion below isn't completely baseless. In summary this hotel is merely ok and it's hard to justify given the other properties you find in Hawaii and the travel burden associated with getting here. To show some good faith, I'll highlight pros as well as cons.

Pro

1. Pool area - very extensive and beautiful layout
2. Beach access - easy and the hotel is obviously well located
3. Views
4. Geography - it's in Maui, which is a good start
5. Gym - nice fitness center and spa area

Cons

1. Service - hit or miss in terms of whether you get a helpful staff member or a rude and irritable one. Not something you find at true luxury properties. We left our room yesterday at 9 a.m., returned at 2 p.m. and hadn't been serviced. They didn't seem to find this odd.
2. Food - Few options on property. Breakfast is a real joke. It is served in a ballroom which is cavernous and dark. You sit at huge round tables where they will also stick people from outside your party. Feels like a cruise. The breakfast buffet is also not good. Much of the food is cold and of low quality. There is no indoor meal option otherwise. Not great for rainy or windy days. Right now there are 30 mph wind gusts, which makes dining outside at 7 p.m. less than ideal. The restaurant next to the poor is just ok and has a pretty limited menu.
3. Rooms - They're ok. Small cramped bathrooms, the decor looks very institutional and uninteresting. They're functional, but don't expect to be impressed.
4. Pool - I know, I said it was a pro. But the pool temp is too cold. This is a large property, and it's not uncommon to see very few people in the 5 or so pools that they have. I think a large part of it has to do with the fact that the water is frigid. The ocean water is dramatically warmer.
5. Staffing - lots of areas seem understaffed. Front desk check in took a long time. There is always a wait at the Starbucks on property (which is the only plausible breakfast option unless you want to sit in the ballroom and eat cold eggs). It seems like ownership has a decent asset here, but is trying to cut corners to make it work.

As I said, it's Maui, which is great, and it's an ok hotel, but given the travel time, etc., I can't imagine coming back. We still have 5 days here, so things could change, and I will report back if they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Being a Starwood Member guarantees an automatic upgrade if available, which one was when we checked in. We were placed right in front of the waterfall with a peekaboo view of the ocean. The waterfall provided a beautiful backdrop to our view along with the soothing background sound. If you ever tired of the sound, the sliding glass doors immediately cut it off when closed, but we had it open for most of our vacation. The Westin provides 4 different pool areas as well an adult pool where we hung out when we weren't on the beach. Every morning I'd sit on the balcony with a good book and a cup of coffee waiting for the husband to wake up. When he did, we would take a walk along the beach. One morning we saw a huge tortoise who had climbed up the shore to rest for a while. Other times, we walked over to Whaler's Village for a meal or to shop. Our room came with all the basics of hotel living along with a small refrigerator which we made good use of. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to the other Westin properties as well as into downtown Lahaina at regular intervals. Self-parking is included in the $31 daily resort fee should you rent a vehicle. The only thing that could have been a little more consistent was the housekeeping service. There appeared to be minimal cleaning. Not used to that at Starwood properties. Overall, the location, accommodations and general atmosphere of the Westin Spa and Resort is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel continues to be excellent. The room renovations in the main building are complete and are a nice touch. New very heavy carpet in the halls - makes the area quiet. The new glass lanai railings were nice and spotless! I am not sure how much maintenance the hotel will need to keep them this way - but it was beautiful. The walk in shower was a nice upgrade over the older tubs. The bathrooms are still small - but new fixtures were nice.
I booked an ocean view room and was upgraded to the top floor due to my gold SPG status. The view was great for watching whales. On check in after the long flights, we were lucky the parking lot was full and they valeted the car at no charge - still a nice service.
There continues to be inconsiderate guests that take up chairs with their bath towels and never to be seen for hours. We never had a problem getting a chair, but some of the shaded spots were wasted and no one got to use them. The hotel provides towel cards to keep up with the towels you use and make sure you return them. But, at check out no one counted them. There is a $30+tax resort fee charged every day for parking, internet and (2) bottles of water.
The new burger bistro at the hotel sells a $16 hamburger. It was great and the service was awesome. I liked the new place and our waitress from Atlanta was great!
If you are looking for a beach vacation near lots of things to do and shopping/restaurants - you will not be disappointed. Do not come here for a romantic quiet retreat. This is a place with lots of families.

Now the bad news! SPG recently increased the categories on many of the Hawaii properties including this one. The lowest level room price with SPG points was INCREASED 67%!!!!!!!(12,000 now 20,000). This move just extremely lowered the value of SPG points! They did not raise the cash price by 67%. I have sat through the time share program - but, did not buy. I am so thankful for this. How many customers got a 67% raise this year? And the folks that convert their time share into points to stay here just got whacked. This hotel has always been a top draw for SPG points and assume they are trying to reduce this. But all those existing points lost a lot of value for customers looking for Hawaii.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing