We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on "island time"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not on "island time"”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this property and noticed that the staff has definitely stepped up service. Typical service around the islands has a "we'll get to you when we get to you" mentality. Not here. The staff was not on island time. We received excellent service around all areas of the hotel.

The servers working in the adult pool area, as popular as it is, never left us with an empty glass. The were very attentive, frequently asked if you needed anything, and didn't bother us when we dozed off. Perhaps the best service was in valet; these guys were kept busy every morning and evening as the parking lot was double-parked. They were actually running to keep things moving quickly and still kept a positive friendly attitude.

The only confusing aspect was the Green Choice for not having the room cleaned everyday. The card says to place on bed when you want the sheets changed and towels washed, but when you start the Green Choice it apparently goes into a system that only allows this to occur every three days. Make sure to get this clarified at check in! Is it every three days or when you place the card on the bed? I still don't know.

The recent upgrades were nice, as noted by other reviewers.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the mountain. We really enjoyed this early morning view and sun waking us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkikirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    1,554
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,587
2,202
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We started our vacation with two days at the Sheraton on Ka'anapali Beach then 10 days in a condo at Maui Vista in Kihei and the last two days back to Ka'anapali and the Westin. We have stayed here several times over the last 20 years and the first time was the best. The new tower was not yet built so there was a lovely eating area for breakfast and Hula Dancers etc. This has changed and I agree that meal options could be better. On the plus side the pools are still as lovely as our first visit with two water slides for the kids, lovely vegetation, parrots, koi, waterfalls. The water was not too cold for us and they had plenty of lounge chairs which was a change from two years ago when we could never get any. People get up early to try and save them but there are now signs posted that prohibit people from saving them for hours with their towels while they meander to the beach. The lounge chairs do not have cushions on them...you have to pay whereas the Sheraton down the road did have free cushions on every one. We used to be Platinum Starwood members but not for years now so we were pleasantly surprised at our treatment. We used points to stay and we were upgraded to a King size suite with the best view we have ever had at this resort. We had ocean, pool and mountain view from our lanai. Two free bottles of water daily and plenty of tea and coffee in the room plus a small fridge. The hotel is right beside Whaler's Village with great stores, restaurants and free hula shows. Ka'anapali Beach is fabulous and you can watch the Humpback whales from the shore. We are glad we went back.

Room Tip: The old tower has great views of ocean, pool and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyKanata_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is our second visit to the Westin Maui and it really works well for traveling with the kids. The pools are definitely the prettiest on Ka'anapali and the beach right out back is perfect. We loved running on the boardwalk every morning. Our teenage son loved the location because he could wander next door to Whaler's Village. We stayed in a superior ocean view room in the renovated Ocean tower and having coffee on the glassed-in balcony every morning was wonderful. A bonus is that the glass walls shield you from the crazy Maui winds. The rooms are very small…the other tower, which has not been renovated, has much larger rooms. The workout room is great. The restaurants are mediocre at best but we never eat at the hotel. There is a fridge in your room so we bought cereal and yogurt and had breakfast in the room. This is a great way to save some money since breakfast out for the three of us the first morning was $70! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway since it's very busy but don't hesitate to bring your family here.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Our US Airways flight was cancelled, and we were given 2 days of lodging, transportation, and food credits for the Westin. Check in was very slow, but friendly. I was surprised we didn't get a better orientation to hotel. The 2 rooms we recieved were remodeled, and looked very nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the parking area. One of the rooms had an extremely itchy bed. I looked for bed bugs, but didnt see any. We slept in the other room with double beds. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion supplied were exception (White Tea). We were given a $5 credit a day, for reusing our towels. Food was expensive. We passed the $30 breakfast buffet, and went next store at the Whalers for an omlet that was $7. We at the onsite Burger place called the "Relish". Service was so...slow and the online prices were a dollar cheaper than the menu prices. The food was good, an at $17 a burger...it should be. Go to burger place in Whaler for much better prices, entertainment, happy hour, and food. Westin allowed us to use their microwave , located near Starbucks. I really appreciated that! Swimming pool had a 120ft slide, but was not heated as stated. The beautiful grounds had waterfalls, koi, swans, beautiful birds, and flamingos. The shuttle to each of their hotels was nice, as well as to lots of shopping areas. Two bottles of water, wiifi,use of pool and yummy coffee were provided in resort fee. I would have given a 5, but not sure why we hot bites while we laid on one of the beds, and an area of the hotel was vovered with left over food from a banquet for 1/2 near where we went in and out of to get to Whalers. Overall, I loved the location, and the beautiful grounds. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toughone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Westin Maui could not be more perfect! Perfect pool for kids and adults right on the best beach in Maui. Within walking distance to shops and yummy restaurants and a close drive to downtown Lahaina. Bkfst buffet was delicious. Will def be returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a great tagline! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to have been your home away from home. We will certainly be here to provide with yet another Westin Maui stay that you will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First time we went we stayed at the Hyatt. This time we stayed at the Westin and can not stay anywhere else. The view is beautiful and the people are so friendly. Additionally, we love the sandy beaches and beautiful water.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieO35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear about your amazing vacation. We hope you left with wonderful memories that will last until the next time you are here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We await your return. A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Located on the best beach in Maui (Ka'anapali) you're walking distance and a short drive from abundant dining, shopping, and activities. The resort designed to be open, lush & tropical, as well as family friendly. The service is friendly and accommodating. The rooms have been updated in the ocean tower which can't be overlooked. They did a great job with the appointments and design. The Westin rewards Platinum guests with little bonuses and expert service throughout the trip, you will feel very taken care of.

Highlights : Swimming with sea turtles at Blackrock, lounging by the beach or pool in a private cabana, relaxing in the newly renovated ocean tower rooms, taking our breakfast every morning at Relish Bistro.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newly renovated Ocean Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing