We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed here for our Anniversary and highly recommend this hotel. It is on the Ka'anapali Beach..,next to great restaurants such as Hula Grill ... Try their fish and chips ...Delicious! You also have the Whalers Village shopping strip next door with a Subway and an ABC store for all your inexpensive groceries and souvenirs. The Westin offers free shuttle service to guests to and from Lahaina and be sure to take advantage of their great breakfast buffet! Also, a few travel tips, the front valet desk outside of the hotel will let you borrow a Road to Hana CD for free ..saves you $20 and you can also get your beach towels from there for your day beach trips! Room housekeeping was great... Always clean... Only once did we encounter some ants in our room ..so make sure you leave your open snacks or fruits in your room refrigerator! Also, there is a computer lab downstairs that's allows you to print your boarding passes for free.It is a very nice hotel ...you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room towards the middle of the floor...ours was 2 rooms away from elevator an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,130
    1,572
    734
    400
    221
See reviews for
1,616
2,213
80
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, right next to whalers village. The staff are LAZY and don't really want to help out which sets up for an awful atmosphere (just what you don't want when you're on holidays). Forget about breakfast. Although the venue is half empty, the staff make you wait so they can seat you which is infuriating when you're in a rush. Additionally, there didn't seem to be enough food for everyone at the hotel with everyone having to awkwardly line up around the buffet and wait their turn.
On another note, for the amount of money you pay to stay at the hotel you would have thought that a chair on the beach would be included. NOPE! You have to pay $49 up for the staff to set you up on the beach. Also, like everyone else said whats the point about having rules on seats around the pool when on every occasion i was there people saved seats and nothing was done about it even when mentioned to staff....ridiculous as seats literally do fill up and there is no where to relax by the pool.
All in all, go to the Sheraton - they have a great snorkelling spot right in front of the hotel and the hotel has a better atmosphere.
Don't waste your money and stay at the Westin, its embarrassing to the Westin brand that they continue to do business without any amendments after all these terrible comments.
Again, not worth the price...go somewhere else - TERRIBLE STAY!

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view on a high level would get a good view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anin773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Anin773,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.Please know that your comments have been forwarded to our team leaders for follow up. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. We must have been one of the lucky one's to get a newly refurbished room, after seeing some of the pictures on here of some very dated rooms. The bathroom looked new, only downside was there was no bath tub, but it had a great shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable i've ever slept in! The hotel cleaning staff did a great job of cleaning our room every day.

The gym facilities are great, lots of machines, and there is a fridge with nice cold towels for after your work out. The pool area was nice, we stuck to the adult pool for most of the time, as we were travelling without kids. I can imagine the pool would be a big hit for those travelling with children as they have a couple of water slides. There is a pond area with coy fish and pink flamingos, the kids in the hotel seemed to enjoy that, especially as you can feed the fish.

Only downside to this resort are the restaurants, the food isn't that great and its so expensive, but there are plenty of restaurants near by and you can always take the free shuttle bus into Lahaina town for more options. The free shuttle bus also stops at a supermarket, so if you are looking to save a little cash and stock up on food and drinks this is great. It runs once and hour.

The location is fantastic, its right on the beach, and they have facilities to hire water sports equipment. I would recommend heading down to the Black Rock at the end of the beach before sunset to see the daily torch ceremony.

This was our second visit to Maui, the first time we stayed in Kapalua and out of the two locations we preferred Ka'anapali, as there was way more things to see and do. We will defiantly be staying here again when we return to Maui!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N_82_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Don't listen to the negative reviews, this is a fantastic resort with a beautiful beach. I read many reviews after booking my trip and was a little leery after reading some. I'm happy to say that my trip at the Westin surpassed my expectations. When we arrived, we were informed there were parking lot upgrades underway, so we were provided valet parking during our stay, which was helpful. Check in process was easy and we again were surprised with a room upgrade for free!

The resort is beautiful. From the grounds, pools, lobby and rooms...you won't be disappointed. There are a lot of restaurant choices along the beach within walking distance. Sugar House was the only one that we didn't enjoy. However, if you want great food/drinks, walk to Paradise Grill up by the highway for 1/2 price dinner/drinks between 4-5 everyday. The food and price was AMAZING.

The one thing I was surprised by, were the amount of young families with kids. However, they didn't bother us at all. If you don't want to be around kids in the pool, there is an adult pool. Not once did I see kids in this pool. Again, another review I read that wasn't true. There are tons of chairs around the pools. We never had a problem finding a chair.

There are many activities to do along the beach. If you want to do parasailing, we recommend West Maui (yellow happy face). Dragon was amazing as he takes photos of you while in the air for a small charge. So well worth it.

I would recommend doing a sunset cruise as well. We went with Queen's Treasure as it's not as busy as the others which was great. Captain Nick, Greg and Linda made it a fantastic time on the water.

All in all, I would totally come back here again! Actually, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor end unit which was fabulous as we could see the pools, ocean and mountain...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has some great offers/perks for opting in for some of their environmentally-friendly practices. We took advantage of this and received SPG points.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carebear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days with my wife and our 2.5yr old. Resort has some fun things for kids - talking mackaw, swans, pink flamingos etc. The pools are impressive but they don't really have a kids pool suitable for a toddler. My son was intimidated but the crashing sound of waterfalls on every pool.

Around the resort was really busy during the day. It was difficult to find a shaded lounger by the pool. The beach next to the hotel was great and it was nice to be next to the Whalers Village shops.

The food at the resort was fairly standard american which means quite unhealthy. Reasonable quality but expensive. Example was our $90 breakfast.

The room was nice but small. I would consider a bigger than standard room if you have a child.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acb98sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to Maui for a wedding, and spent the bulk of our time here. The hotel was very well situated, but in the midst of an upgrade. We were in an upgraded ocean view suite, which was nice but dated (ergo the upgrade). The breakfast was nice. There were multiple pools arranged in an interesting manner, which we used a few times, although often there were pool cleanups going on and like most hotels very few people actually swam in them. The clientele is mostly families, and there were some nice features like flamingoes on the grounds. We also attended the (nice but overpriced) Luau on the grounds. Truthfully for the price I should give it a 3.5 out of 5, but the location caused me to round up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the beach! Good location. Very disappointed 10:30pm on a Saturday night no bars in the hotel were open. When asked staff they were not helpful. We discovered the next day there is a bar in walking distance from the hotel. Boring unless have a car and want to drive at night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,034 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing